We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS PROPERTY IN IDYLLIC RURAL LOCATION”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Venards Lodge

Fully equipped modern kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully equipped modern kitchen
The Linwood Room, double with ensuite shower room Venards Lodge, as seen from the driveway across the entrance lawn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Fully equipped modern kitchen
The Linwood Room, double with ensuite shower room
Venards Lodge, as seen from the driveway across the entrance lawn
The ensuite bathroom to the Gorley Room
The Gorley Room has a super king bed and ensuite bathroom with shower too
The bright sunny Sitting Room
Welcome Hamper and homemade cake for our guests
Awarded the coveted '5 Star Gold' rating from  Visit England
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
North Gorley, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alaskan_r...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“FABULOUS PROPERTY IN IDYLLIC RURAL LOCATION”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family booked this delightful property as a complete surprise for me for a landmark birthday. The accommodation is truly wonderful, with plenty of room to relax, cook and eat together, and with three spacious luxury bedrooms and a smaller fourth with bunk beds.

The owner's attention to detail is evident throughout, in the quality of furniture, decoration and fittings. The AGA in the kitchen is a great feature, and much of the furniture is made of natural wood, which is in keeping with the property's New Forest setting. Towels and bedlinen are luxurious, and every conceivable amenity is provided including a delicious welcome basket of local produce and a scrumptious homemade cake.

We were thrilled to be able to stay here, and sad to leave - but we shall be back! To sum up, this was a magical stay, and excellent value for such high quality accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property's unique combination of wonderful setting and quality accommodation.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
And we are lucky to have such lovely guests who appreciate all that Venards Lodge offers. Really hope we can welcome you all back again. Thank you for taking the time to do a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn H
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New Forest Luxury”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A half term break found us at Venards Lodge, and we loved what we found. Beautiful House, comfortable and well equipped it was a pleasure to stay.

New Forest Ponies on the doorstep literally and close enough to local amenities and attractions, it suited us perfectly. We were a party of 2 families and our kids were so sad to leave.

One area of improvement I would make (to the owners) would be we were short of information on how to "operate the house". A user manual including things like heating instructions, oven instructions, tv and satellite information, and also local tourist info would make this our perfect new forest retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
So glad that Venards Lodge did not disappoint and that you all enjoyed your stay. I am sorry it wasn't me here to welcome you as I would have not only shown you how everything works but would have shown you the folder which contains all the instructions. But I appreciate the comment as I will have to ensure if I can't be here to welcome guests personally that whoever takes my place explains all. Thanks so much for taking the time to do the review, I really do appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojoupton...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect escape away”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Having read the previous reviews we were all very excited about our annual family weekend away in the New Forest (6 couples and a baby). This is the 4th time we have been and everyone in the party agreed this was by far the best, most luxurious place we have stayed. Not only is Venards Lodge perfectly located with country pubs and a farm shop on your doorstep, not to mention the beautiful walks right outside the front door, it has been very tastefully decorated to rival boutique hotels. Nadine the owner welcomes you with a beautiful hamper packed with goodies along with the most delicious homemade cake, if you want a stress free weekend in beautiful surroundings and a fabulous home from home then book now as you definitely won't be disappointed. We just need to book a date for next year now!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
Thank you so much, glad you enjoyed your stay and really hope we can welcome you here again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTR276
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I can only endorse what others have written. Venard's Lodge is first class; extremely comfortable, extraordinarily well-equipped, located in beautiful surroundings, and ideal for we four couples to get together to celebrate the life of Robert Burns.
Nadine, the owner, is so welcoming and generous, and bakes a mean cake too.
I couldn't recommend Venard's Lodge more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderfully comfortable king-size bed in our en-suite
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
So glad you all had such a lovely weekend, snow here today!! Many thanks for taking the time to do the review, really is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hhannah11...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend away”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

For the third year in a row I've gone away in the New Year with my family. We've just spent a lovely weekend in Venards Lodge. An outstanding converted barn with log fire, aga, comfy beds and cosy living rooms. Location spot on for walks in the New Forest, a short drive to the beach, local towns, excellent restaurant and a pub within walking distance.
We visited early January but Venards Lodge would be a great place to stay all year round with so much to do in the surrounding area.
Just watch out for the New Forest horses who will take any opportunity to get in the garden as we found out!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Haha, the ponies certainly will take their chances of breaking and entering the garden!! Thanks so much for doing the review, really appreciate it .... and of course you would be welcomed back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing