We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 426)
Filter reviews
1 427 results
Traveller rating
1 157
226
33
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1 157
226
33
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop observation deck the indoor outdoor pool pony pen hot tub bike rental parking lot right next door yogurt family owned first floor rooms are clean chain hotel national park front desk staff nice breakfast each morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1 427 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Best island expertise. Super friendly and helpful staff, lovely rooms, great morning food in spite of covid precautions, fabulous pool and grill area. Highly recommend for any family or couple. Right next to a bike rental place, within walking distance to several little food trucks and shopping. Gorgeous location. Loved every minute!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karenbO9241UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Wilder, General Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2021

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

The Refuge is the best! They go above and beyond to make the guests feel welcome. The housekeeping and frontdesk staff there are so friendly. Plus now even going beyond to still provide a breakfast, they are amazing!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 860amandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Wilder, General Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2021

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your recent fishing vacation and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021

Always friendly, always clean. The pool is open year round! They deliver any thing you need to your room. Very close to everything, you can rent bikes next door and there are ponies that you can feed.

Room tip: When we stayed with the grand kids it was nice to have a room on the ground floor in the back so we could easily access the pool.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Wilder, General Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2021

Thank you for the 5-star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

At the Refuge Inn only a Mcdonalds lies between you, the National Wildlife Preserve, and the beach. Comfortable motel rooms with excellent bed and bedding. The Deluxe King had comfortable reading chairs and good lighting. Be aware that half the rooms face the parking lot, so ask for the "piney side" if you care. Back half off the piney side is the quietest. The delivered continental breakfast and in-room coffee were a low point. The second day breakfast included a rotten apple. After that we skipped it and got excellent coffee and croissants at Amarin Coffee, just before the causeway on Maddox. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank wws68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Wilder, General Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2021

Thank you so much for the 4-star review!! We are so sorry about the apple-- we pack up about 300 breakfasts every morning and a bad apple must have gotten past us. Hopefully we'll be back to regular breakfast and coffee service soon, but if that ever happens again just ring the front desk and we'll bring you a replacement. We totally agree about Amarin-- they are WONDERFUL and we love to recommend them. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

We LOVED our weekend stay at the Refuge Inn. We had a King Premium room. The furnishings were lovely and the room was comfortable, clean and roomy. The amenities provided were nice and we appreciated the adaptations they made to maintain safety during Covid. For example, instead of offering a continental breakfast bar they are temporarily offering brown bag breakfasts delivered to your room. The front desk staff was SO nice and helpful with any questions we had about the inn or the area. The location is excellent - it's right at the entrance to Assateague Island. There is a bike rental business right next door. We woke up, rented bikes, and spent one morning biking all over Assateague, seeing wild ponies, the light house and the beach. This area of the Island was nice and quiet, but we could still walk to several restaurants and stores or we could drive to the historic downtown in 5 minutes. And the ponies on property were so much fun to pet and visit with. We can't WAIT to come back and stay again.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NavyWife77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Wilder, General Manager at Refuge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2021

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We can't wait to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews