We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing retreat at the Sunnybank's Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Light-filled room, Queen-sized bed, Fireplace                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth Pretty spa bathroom with antique clawfoot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Light-filled room, Queen-sized bed, Fireplace                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Pretty spa bathroom with antique clawfoot tub
Welcome plate and complimentary wine                          Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Enjoy your wine near the pool                                                   Photo: Warren Salmon
Enjoy coffee on your private porch
Life is just a bowl of Breakfast Berries!                          Photo: Warren Salmon
Breakfast in your room                                                  Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Historic Main House, built 1810-1842
The Cottage adjacent to the Main House
Enjoy a picnic lunch poolside
The Pool House in April
Lunch under the wisteria
View from the hillside
One of two bridges connecting the property's 22 acres
Room for bocce and croquet!
Or play frisbee with Joe!                                                       Photo: Warren Salmon
Your hosts, Anne, Jim and Joe                                         Photo: Warren Salmon
Bedtime treats!                                                         Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Homemade Blondies                                                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Charlottesville, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mlhillian
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing retreat at the Sunnybank's Cottage”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great little cottage in the country with a pool, gracious host, and fantastic location to see the area. We traveled to Wintergreen, Blue Ridge, and Crozet.
Anne made the variety of food offered based on our needs/wants and continuously offered "Sweet Dreams" morsels at the end of the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
We so enjoyed meeting you both, Mike, and look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kgg720
Clarksburg, Maryland
1 review
“Absolutely perfect for a weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Living in the DC/VA metro area, we wanted a quiet destination to escape to and decompress for an evening over Memorial Day weekend. The Cottage at Sunnybank was the perfect place. After a full day in Charlottesville, we were welcomed to the property by Anne and her friendly dog, Joe. Anne gave a tour of the property and provided us with everything and anything we could have needed for the evening. We were then left to explore at will and relax. Prior to our arrival, Anne had asked us to complete a food/snack preference sheet and the cottage was supplied with all of our choices. Also, to our surprise, Anne brought us a homemade bedtime treat which was absolutely delicious. The property itself is beautiful with a pool, creek, grassy area for games, bench swing and little patio that we utilized to eat breakfast and star gaze at night. Anne was extremely friendly and welcoming. All the little personal touches throughout our stay made the experience special and gave us the feel of being "at home". Our time spent at Sunnybank was exactly what we needed and we look forward to staying again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Delighted you both left feeling refreshed--we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get-away to the Virginia Wine Country”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The Cottage at Sunnybank served as the perfect spot for visiting the wine country west of Charlottesville. From the specialized arrival treats to our breakfast choices, our hosts were terrific. They even met us with umbrellas when we arrived! We took our breakfast on the porch and enjoyed the mountain view. The refrigerator was a little small and we got lost one time driving back, but that did not detract from a great visit. We would certainly go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our gracious host
Liked least: It was a little remote
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
We enjoyed meeting you both, and hope you'll be back for more wine and hiking!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review--it was a real treat to have you here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mcpriceNe...
New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What an awesome place. Lovely, secluded grounds, beautiful pool, terrific innkeepers, lots to do within a short drive - just a wonderful experience.
Anne has truly thought of every detail to make your stay memorable. Carefully selected amenities, helpful restaurant reviews, current literature on the area and an insider's view of all Charlottesville has to offer.

Anne and Jim could not have been any more gracious, helpful or accommodating. Cottage was spotless. Sitting out on the back patio was so relaxing. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2013
You two are always welcome--Joe was disconsolate when you left. Had to bribe him to cheer up with liver treats!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing