We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

From reading other reviews, I think I was staying in one of the rooms that hadn't been re furnished yet. It wasn't great, to be honest. It was pretty run down, and bathroom a bit grotty. The taps were too far set back from sink, and water leaked everywhere. There was also a stagnant smell in there. Large room, but just old. Wifi very fast.

On the other hand, the staff here are amazing, really genuinely friendly. Good breakfast. Very centrally located, within minutes drive of a few shopping malls.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ostan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. We are looking forward to resume our guest room redecoration during this winter and will conclude during the 1st Qtr of next year. In the interim, I have shared your feedback with our Chief Engineer and Housekeeping Manager to ensure all of our rooms, including those which have not been renovated yet, are guest ready. I am glad that you appreciated the service if our team and your breakfast.
We hope you will return to experience our improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

My wife and I were at the hotel on Thursday 10/5 ($128.00) and Friday 10/6 ( $268.00)
Plus taxes ( about 10%). The place and the staff were fine but the over 100% increase in price, for nothing extra was unconscionable.
Not looking to Holiday Inn in the future

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank epplehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay with us. Our prices do vary from weekday to weekend, particularly on UVA home football weekends. We do our best to deliver a great stay experience and will review our offerings during these weekends to ensure a better value proposition.
We hope you will return to give us another chance to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

On our way to southwest VA from Lancaster, PA. Got to Harrisonburg VA and nothing available there to Christiansburg available. VA Tech and JMU both had home games. Only had a couple of rooms left starting at $250.00. Went to my points with IHG and got a king nonsmoking for 10,000 points and $70.00, the best bargain. Pulled in at 11:30 pm. Actually greeted from desk as walking in. Quick check in and nice conversation with gentleman who checked us in. Room was clean, spacious and recently refurbished. (This was a Ramada Inn when I was at UVA in the early 70's). Bathroom was very nice and contemporary with a tiled shower. Unexpectedly nice stay for a good price at the last minute.

Room Tip: At the IHG site, you can choose what you want as far as room accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V1149HKrobertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks for the great feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Charlottesville- Univ Area. We are glad you appreciated the hospitality of our staff and the recent upgrades to our guest rooms. We hope you will return to visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night. Lobby was very inviting when we arrived. Our room was very nice and seemed like it was recently renovated. However, the bedding sagged and the bathroom sink faucet was backwards. Hot water came out on the cold side and vice versa. I loved the bathroom mirror. The light came from behind the mirror. It would be great if they renovated the hallway. It was dark and plain. Overall, a good experience. Very pleasant staff.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ekehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay with us. As you observed, we are well through our renovation. We will be completing the last of our guest room redecoration later this year and will also redo the guest corridors. Additionally, we are replacing mattress sets as necessary. We are glad you appreciate the improvements we've made thus far. And we hope you will return to see our final product!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here just for one night. Staff was great and very friendly. Otherwise it's a good, clean hotel. No significant issues. Pretty standard. We did not eat the food because it didn't seem worth it. ($7+ For continental breakfast- toast and fruit)

Stayed: September 2017
Thank chachamatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share positive comments regarding your stay. We are glad you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. We hope that you will return soon to experience our new breakfast menu with lower pricing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
408 reviews
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
148 reviews
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
526 reviews
1.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
370 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
1 042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St N, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: R1 380 - R2 999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing