We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations Bring This Property Up to Par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Holiday Inns can be hit or miss in terms of quality and need of updating. A recent renovation has made the Holiday Inn University Area a solid, average facility that is a good option when the price is right.

The rooms are large and bright, with big windows. New carpet, wallpaper, and some new furnishings have resulted in a fresh, contemporary look. It does seems that corners were cut here and there... buckling wallpaper, caked on paint in places, but overall the rooms are comfortable and make a positive impression. Though the bathrooms are quite small by today's standards, they are nicely updated.

The location is good, about 10 minutes from campus and in the middle of excellent and expanding shopping and restaurant options.

Rates for the Holiday Inn University Area are on the low end of the relatively expensive Charlotteville market. The hotel frequently appears on Priceline and Hotwire, so definitely check for deals before paying the rack rate. Is this Holiday Inn one of the best hotels in the area? No. There many hotels that are newer with better amenities and nicer rooms. However, if you can snag a good deal, it is a satisfactory hotel experience that won't disappoint you.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors facing the road are bright without much road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share such constructive feedback. While we have made many improvements already, we do have some small updates still to be made in our guest rooms. We are glad you appreciate the fresh, more contemporary look and invite you back to see the final results of property makeover, later this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

No complaints here, decent hotel close to campus. Some decent food in the area and the staff was extremely nice. Though I forget the maintenance man's name, he was extremely helpful as we crossed paths a couple of times.

A bit of a long way to check in, but nothing to get upset about. Would stay here again when visiting UVA.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank db2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share these comments. We are glad you value the helpfulness of a staff and our proximity to UVA, great restaurants, and shopping. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

This is an older unit that they are remodeling. Everything but the tub was complete in our room and it had mold in the tub. Great location, great staff, didn't try restaurant or pool. Good location. Used rewards points.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share this constructive feedback. We will be completing the last of our guest room redecoration beginning in 4th Quarter this year, to include the few bathrooms that have not been already been done. We appreciate your patience with our updates. Additionally, our Housekeeping team has addressed the mildew found in your tub are Housekeeping Manager has been advised that our cleaning effort needs to be more attentive to that.
We hope you will return to experience the hotel once we have completed the updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Had 4 rooms for the night. Bunch of us went down to the pool & exercise room. No towels down there (floor below lobby) so ask the front desk if some could be brought down. Waited 30 minutes but nothing. Soaking wet I went to phone in workout room and asked again with 15 + people in the pool now. With a surly response "I'll see if we have any!". Waited more. Another couple with their kid went upstairs to the front desk and asked again. Waited more. Finally a guy brought down 12 small hand towels total. Everyone grabbed 3 so stock gone immediately. I walked by front desk lady (dripping) and she was hunched over the desk complaining about her job to another employee. In the service industry, customer service should be job #1! At least be apologetic if their was a problem.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Hinesleatherface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback. We are very sorry for your experience. I have spoken to our Housekeeping Manager and we will ensure the pool towels are better stocked. We hope you will return to give us another chance to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel close to UVA, numerous restaurants and shopping. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant on site is ok. Building needs remodeled, experience some minor maintenance problems. Would give 5 stars after the Building is remodeled.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
5,9 km away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
412 reviews
0,1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
159 reviews
0,4 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5,7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
265 reviews
0,4 km away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
1 062 reviews
1,6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St N, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: R1 138 - R2 801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing