We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge North(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
54
120
78
38
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
120
78
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanwould stay here againfront desk staffdecent hotelone night staymovie theateruvaihguniversityinnsconcertfihospitalconvenience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

No complaints here, decent hotel close to campus. Some decent food in the area and the staff was extremely nice. Though I forget the maintenance man's name, he was extremely helpful as we crossed paths a couple of times.

A bit of a long way to check in, but nothing to get upset about. Would stay here again when visiting UVA.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank db2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share these comments. We are glad you value the helpfulness of a staff and our proximity to UVA, great restaurants, and shopping. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

This is an older unit that they are remodeling. Everything but the tub was complete in our room and it had mold in the tub. Great location, great staff, didn't try restaurant or pool. Good location. Used rewards points.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share this constructive feedback. We will be completing the last of our guest room redecoration beginning in 4th Quarter this year, to include the few bathrooms that have not been already been done. We appreciate your patience with our updates. Additionally, our Housekeeping team has addressed the mildew found in your tub are Housekeeping Manager has been advised that our cleaning effort needs to be more attentive to that.
We hope you will return to experience the hotel once we have completed the updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Had 4 rooms for the night. Bunch of us went down to the pool & exercise room. No towels down there (floor below lobby) so ask the front desk if some could be brought down. Waited 30 minutes but nothing. Soaking wet I went to phone in workout room and asked again with 15 + people in the pool now. With a surly response "I'll see if we have any!". Waited more. Another couple with their kid went upstairs to the front desk and asked again. Waited more. Finally a guy brought down 12 small hand towels total. Everyone grabbed 3 so stock gone immediately. I walked by front desk lady (dripping) and she was hunched over the desk complaining about her job to another employee. In the service industry, customer service should be job #1! At least be apologetic if their was a problem.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Hinesleatherface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback. We are very sorry for your experience. I have spoken to our Housekeeping Manager and we will ensure the pool towels are better stocked. We hope you will return to give us another chance to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel close to UVA, numerous restaurants and shopping. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant on site is ok. Building needs remodeled, experience some minor maintenance problems. Would give 5 stars after the Building is remodeled.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

As a british visitor I didn't expect too much from a Holiday Inn but I was wrong! What sets this hotel in Charlottesville apart is the superb staff on the front desk who put a lot of effort into making your stay as comfortable as possible. A big thank you to Helen and Marrell for finding us a quiet and spacious room,with comfy beds and bedding, facing shady woodland at the back.
We will definitely consider staying at as Holiday inn on our next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet as they face shady woodland. Perfect in hot weather.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hexhamlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews