We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, cozy stay in Stowe!”

Review of Falcon's Nest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Stowe, Vermont

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rackierac...
Homer, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Below Par”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We recently stayed at Falcon’s Nest between Christmas and New Year’s and found it to be only mediocre. There were several instances when Falcon’s nest didn’t meet our expectations or value for the cost. We all know that excitement we feel when opening the door of the house that you will spending the next 5 days of vacation in, nothing like walking in an getting the slight odor of manure in the entryway. With excitement still running through your veins it is something that can be overlooked. We also found that there were a couple of foul smells in the house. Perhaps a cat and dog stayed in the house previously. Needless to say the cleanliness wasn’t up to par (in comparative to other houses that we have rented). Not only was there dried food and spills in the kitchen, the common bathroom needed at a minimum a wipe down. I would not consider myself a nose but there were more smells throughout the house such as, a cat box and wet dog. In most cases all could be cleaned with a deep house cleaning. If you are looking to do this yourself it should be noted there was no vacuum to found. This was identified because the carpet in the living room needed to be vacuumed from the moment we arrived.

The Falcon’s nest sleeps 6 people, but the living room only seats 5 people. Also it should be noted in order to use the dining room table the living room furniture needed to be rearranged. The bedrooms had more than enough storage and were very comfortable beds. The entryway is large and was able to store all skiing equipment for 6 individuals with room to spare.

It should be noted the two TV’s were a bit on the dated side (CRT based); they are not compatible with HDMI. So hooking up a modern day game console can be a challenge if you are traveling with teenagers.

The kitchen and house was missing many standard items, for example: there weren’t any storage containers, saran wrap, foil, or plastic baggies, and no cookie sheets. The kitchen had many random and useless items in the cupboards.

Lastly, the downstairs’ apartment tenant was relatively quiet, but we could hear him very well in the back left bedroom. We did not find this to be that much of an issue. Overall the house needs a deep cleaning, stocking of common kitchen goods (with renters replacing if needed), access to a vacuum, shovel for snow, and ice melt.

Don’t get us wrong Falcon’s nest was conveniently located on the bus route and the hot tub was a great retreat after a long day of skiing. We would recommend the house with reservations and it should be note that we rented this house on the most expensive week of the year. (For the cost our expectations should have been meet.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and Hot Tub
Liked least: Cleanliness, odors, slow wifi, no dining space.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Lovely, cozy stay in Stowe!”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My friends and I recently stayed at the Falcon's Nest near Stowe Mountain for a weekend of skiing. The property was in great condition, clean and very cozy! Perfect spot for a group of friends looking to do some great skiing and catch up.

Thanks for the wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quan180
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, with no housekeeping for a 9 day stay.”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

House has a full time Tennant downstairs you can hear from the Master bedroom, which I presume means they can hear you.

Waterstains in the ceiling, major settling cracks in the walls. The house is located off a main road and right next door to a good sized motel.

Try a two bedroom at the Top Notch Inn up the road. Looked like a better value if you can live with two bedrooms.

P.S. There is no Fooseball table in the basement. Pictures are misleading.

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry about your disappointment with your stay and would like to respond to your concerns. We do provide housekeeping at an additional cost and would have been happy to schedule time during your stay to replace linens or clean the household. In general, nightly rates in Stowe are at a premium during the New Years holiday. With further research and comparisons, I'm sure you would find properties like topnotch at least double the rate. Falcon's Nest is a well maintained 3 bedroom property, with a convenient location to the mountain road and access to the ski mountain shuttle. Yes it does have an attached apartment, which is no different then a condo experience. The tenant is very quiet and this is the first we've heard about any noise. In summary, we are sorry you were not satisfied. We are happy to speak to you directly if you have any further concerns. Sincerely, SCH Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
alisono19...
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“four season luxury”
Reviewed 7 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at this luxurious home, the first was in winter. Both times we enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and conveniences. Had to look at the mattress tag this time to find out who makes the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The place is big enough for several couples or a family to share, well-equipped, spotless, about a half-mile from the bike/rec path that goes into town, and spending time in the hot tub after a hard hike is heavenly.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: open floor plan
Liked least: hated to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing