We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting with wonderful accommodating...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Swallow's Nest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perhaps there is a pot of gold after all...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Perhaps there is a pot of gold after all...
The pond to the north of The Swallow's Nest
Birds taken by the fabulous Birder and Photographer Sue Wetmore
Bobolink in grasslands. We farm to promote their breeding habitat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brandon, Vermont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
drimes
Danville, Illinois
2 reviews
“Beautiful setting with wonderful accommodating hosts”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Swallows Nest for 10 days during the peak time of fall foliage in Vermont. We have never stayed any one place that long on a vacation. We loved the peaceful setting and being able to explore the many quintessential New England villages all within an hour drive or so from Brandon. Whether you want to hike the mountain trails, visit historic sites, explore the mountain roads for fall colors, shop at unique shops, the Swallows Nest is the perfect launching ground for your exploring. And I can't even begin to describe the vibrant colors and a lot of them were on the farm. Lyn invited me to explore their property and I did on several walks. I think I took a few dozen photos just of the spectacular tree colors and views on their property. As for place to visit in Central Vermont I highly recommend visiting the Calvin Cooledge birthplace at Plymouth Notch, Shelburne Museum, the Vermont Country Store at Weston or Rockingham, Manchester for shopping (and seeing a beautiful town), and Sugar Shack in Arlington for the Norman Rockwell Museum. There we actually got to meet and talk with one of the local residents who modeled for a famous Norman Rockwell Saturday Evening Post cover. That was cool! And speaking of cool... the coolest thing we got to do was take a hot air balloon ride on a cloudless, crisp fall morning. I highly recommend the Balloons Over New England out of Quechee. The crew made us feel at ease and gave us a great flight. All in all it was the trip of a lifetime, thanks in no small part to the beautiful peaceful setting of the Swallows Nest and the hospitality of Lyn and Jim. I highly recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
It was a pleasure to have you. We enjoy watching our guests enjoy the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaxFamily...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spot, immaculately clean, cozy and close to town!”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Booked The Swallow's Nest last minute when we decided to cheer on our daughter at a college swim meet at Middlebury College. This is so much better than any hotel! It was an absolutely freezing weekend, especially for a Florida couple(!!), but we were always so grateful to come back to the very warm and cozy Swallow's Nest. The owners are very warm and welcoming, but never obtrusive.We have stayed in many wonderful holiday rental properties around the world, and this was definitely one that ranks up there with the most clean in which we've stayed. Easy access to the cute town of Brandon, and about a 25-30 minute drive to Middlebury College for any visiting parents. Many of the hotels we considered look a lot older in person than online, so we were happy we chose The Swallow's Nest. Thank you!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We work hard to please our guests. Thank you for staying with us. Please come again. 2016 is our year to figure out how to find out about us more easily.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBASH
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“WOW...”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This property has the WOW factor, we stopped off here on our tour of New England and what a joy to have the luxury and the facilities that are so lacking in the road side motels or hotels. Swallows Nest was the best place that we stayed in on our trip, our only regret was that we didn't had the time to stay longer. The sky at night is Amazing! The outlook in daylight is outstanding. If tranquillity, beauty and serenity is what you are looking for you will find it at Swallows Nest. Lyn the owner was a gem, friendly and knowledgeable with advice of places to visit etc. All in all we would without doubt recommend this property as an excellent place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquillity and quality of dwelling
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00831Stro...
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Beautiful serenity”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautiful clean cabin, great veiws and well maintained property. Plenty to do within 30 minutes of the cabin

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h
Terrace Park, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Escape”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was exactly what we were looking for, and Lyn could not have been a nicer, more interesting host. The symphony the wildlife puts on at night beats out the hum of a typical hotel chain's a/c unit by a longshot. The house is clean, bright, and newly redone, but with a lot of history. My teenagers readily exchanged electronics for sitting on the picnic table and watching the sunset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$250
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing