We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful place”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Casa Artista

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wimberley, Texas

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mhayley
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Used to be a Great Property”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Artista for 4 days in August of this year. It was an anniversary getaway. We had previously stayed at Casa 5 years ago and really enjoyed ourselves. Unfortunately, this time we did not. For the amount of money you pay to stay there (325 a night plus all the "fees") I expect better. Casa has a new owner since we were there last and it shows. The water in the kitchen is almost unusable due to the strong sulfur smell. Since there is no dishwasher you are forced to breathe it in while you do the dishes. All the beautiful artwork that made this place so special is gone too. I'm not sure if the condition is because of the new owner or because of Hill Country Premier's management.

Casa has a mouse problem. Left a dish out overnight on the stove with some crumbs in it. The next morning the crumbs were gone and there were mouse droppings in the dish. I went to get some napkins and the basket they were in had mouse droppings in it. Plates that were sitting out, supposedly cleaned had mouse droppings as well. All over the house, there were mouse droppings.

There are no wine glasses, just a couple plastic ones. Pots/pans are very limited and in poor condition. There was one dish towel to use and no oven mitts to use at all.

The pool was so dirty we didn't get in it. We have a pool at our house and know what the water is supposed to look like. The pool water was so cloudy you couldn't see through it and there was algae growing on the sides. There were missing tiles in the pool and my husband almost fell in because the first stone step is no longer attached to the pool.

It made us sad to see this once beautiful property so neglected. When we turned in the keys the woman at the desk asked us how it was....I said how disappointed I was and started talking about the condition of the pool....she tried to blame it on the weather. Didn't ask us for further details. Really disappointing. I made sure to take pictures of everything if anyone from Hill Country reads these reviews.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Peaceful place”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Spent three nights at this lovely and peaceful home. Views were beautiful. It was very cold the first night (19 degrees) and the house was warm and cozy. It is located about half way between Wimberley and Blanco. Very quiet neighborhood. Saw lots of deer and some turkeys. The hot tub was very nice but not outside bedroom as stated in description. It has been moved to other side of screen porch/utility room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
Thank you Tammy! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back and see us soon! Thank you for pointing out the oversight in our description. We have contacted our web development team to make the correction for future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kourtney...
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at Casa Artista was too gorgeous to describe...but I will try!

We stayed for 3 nights and were amazed with the beauty from the moment we stepped onto the property. The entire property has outstanding views of the hill country. It was very secluded and private - the perfect romantic get away. The majority of our time was spent outside. The sunsets at night were incredible! It was still so hot in Texas in October that we were able to use the pool which was refreshing. We also enjoyed the hot tub where you can see the sunset through the trees.

The interior is abundant with art, sculptures and uplifting phrases. The wood detailing all throughout the house gives a very custom and warm feel. The king size bed was so comfortable!

The kitchen is pretty well stocked but there is no dish washer. So if you are a city girl like me, I would encourage you to pick up some paper plates and plastic cutlery to make it a little easier on yourself. We grilled steaks on the propane grill and they cooked to perfection.

We can't say enough wonderful things about this property. Worth every penny. We will definitely book another stay at Casa Artista!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views of the hill country and the incredible sunsets!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H
College Station, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Money not so well spent.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely beautiful and peaceful location, but some issues have left me feeling disappointed that I spent this much money for a just gorgeous view. The views are exceptional, the pool is relaxing, and it is a great place to enjoy some peace and quiet. So, what could be negative? Well, the bed that is described as "plush" could more accurately be described as "worn", with a deep groove on each side where you will inevitably land. The doors were difficult to lock, and in fact, we were not able to lock the front door from the outside with the key. so we had to leave it open when we left to go exploring in town. Of course, we didn't come to watch TV and only turned it on one night, but we could never get it to change from a fuzzy black and white picture. All in all, a beautiful location, but for the price, it should also be impeccably maintained. I have reported all of these concerns to the property management company, and have held off writing this review in hopes that there would be a resolution. So far, nothing. I have stayed other less expensive places in Wimberley that are equally beautiful and peaceful, with much better customer service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private pool
Liked least: Price!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing