We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of VILLA BAHAMAS

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Raymond B
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just stayed in this Villa with my Family and partners and grand kids, We had a fantastic stay.
Gary and his staff were great, very helpful and nothing was to much bother. Villa is in a great location and everyone had a great time and could not complain about anything, Cannot wait to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: eveything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for a group of 8”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can't really fault this place at all. Upon arrival Gary greeted us to show us around. We were there earlier than the check in time, but the children were allowed to play in and around the pool while the villa was being cleaned for us.
Gary took us to the local supermarket to do a shop for the first week, which was great. He also offered to take us again the following week, but by that time we had found our way around and a taxi didn't cost much to get to the supermarkets in nearby San Fernando.

The villa itself is very clean and spacious. We travelled with 4 adults and 4 children and found it just perfect. The kitchen is well equipped which made cooking a lot easier. (You can sometimes go to places that ae self catering and find that the equipment is just way below standard)

The upstairs "al fresco dining area" is lovely to sunbathe, but I wouldn't recommend eating up there, simply because of the spiral staircase you need to climb to get up there. You need both hands to hold on to the banister rather than taking food up there!

The terrace by the pool is perfect for eating, We didn't use the BBQ but again, all utensils to be able to cook, were there.

The communal lagoon pool is so peaceful! I expected it to be a lot busier than it was, but it was amazing how quiet and serene it was. We made good use of the lagoon as well as our own private pool.

We tried walking to the beach one day, but ended up being directed to the dunes which was not handy as we had a family member who is in a wheelchair, so after this we paid a few euros for a cab to take us to Mas Palomas beach which is lovely.

We were advised that we could order a taxi from the nearby Parque Cristobal hotel. While it was fine at first, we eventually got told by someone at reception that this was not their practice and they would not be letting us order from there again. This may not happen all the time, but we decided to either call for a taxi, or just by walking to the main road, you will find that hailing a taxi is very easy and simple. This is in no way any bad reflection on the villa, but just a point I thought worth noting.

I would most definitely come back here again. Janet and Gary were most helpful and only an email or a phone call away if any problems arose, or if we had any questions.

A big thank you to the team for all of their work into making Holycan a lovely place to stay. I want a month next time!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private pool, peaceful lagoon
Liked least: Worms in the shower (hardly anyone;s fault but the worms!!!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellently looked after”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with a group of friends in July, we loved the villa and the location. The owner made sure that we were looked after perfectly even allowing us to store out bags when we arrived before we could check in and left after we had to check out. The villa had everything that we needed close by. We also felt extremely safe in the villa and I would thoroughly recommend a trip here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny B
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Villa and Service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this villa for a group of thirteen 18 year olds for a ‘post-exam’ holiday. We were all apprehensive about booking our first holiday, however from start to finish the communication we received from Janet and Gary was first class, they answered all of our questions quickly and put our minds at rest. Upon arrival our transfer, organised by the owners, picked the group up on time and took us to the villa where Gary was waiting. He showed me around the villa, provided us with a local map and circled some areas where he thought we would like to go, also answering questions about transport, the beach (about a 20-30 minute walk, or a €3 taxi ride) and supermarkets. The next day Gary took four of us to their local, cheap supermarket and we stocked up on food, greatly appreciated! There are some smaller shops not too far away as well.
We spent a good three weeks deciding on place and accommodation and we jointly decided this villa was our best find. We were not wrong; it was spacious enough for 13 people, despite 8 being advertised, with 3 bedrooms and a sofa bed, 3 bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen. I think I can speak for the whole group when I say by far the best feature was the heated pool. Deeper and warmer than we thought, perfect after a late night. The roof terrace was also a great space for sunbathing. The communal ‘Lagoon’ pool was great too, although not heated it was better for ball games; there was also a salt water pool. The location was great too, a few minutes walk to the Yumbo Centre where there are plenty of bars. The Kasbah wasn't far either, here there are some brilliant clubs like Pacha and MTV. One word of warning, be wary of Reps on the street trying to get people into their clubs. The deals aren't always great, especially the MTV boat party and this ‘ticket’ that would get you on a bar crawl every other day, avoid! Despite this, Beer was really cheap, a pint was €2.50, Corona €2, and spirit-type drinks are about €5-8; we found many great bars with great atmospheres in both centres so don't be put off.
Along with the two centres, we'd recommend a trip to Puerto Rico and Puerto Mogan. We caught the bus (about €4.50 return to Puerto Rico) and then a boat to Mogan (€6 ish from PR) where we found some great beaches and restaurants. Locally, there was a restaurant called The Red Cow and a bar called Shenanigans both owned by this lovely English lady, where we went for breakfasts, meals and the occasional drink in the evenings, highly recommend. In addition there was a bar on the ‘Holycan’ complex less than a minute walk away. It is owned by this guy who got very familiar with our group as we went there every day; free WIFI, awesome German beer and a Rum & Coke speciality.
Finally, we would wholeheartedly recommend the villa and Gran Canaria to families, couples and groups of people. Gary and Janet were brilliant, helpful and cooperative. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself and a large group of friends stayed at this villa for 1 week in July and had the most incredible time! Booking was so straight forward thanks to Janet, as was the transfer both to and from the airport with the help of Gary, who was extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome from start to finish.

We got far more from the villa than we expected for the price that we paid. The location was great (very close to shops, bus station and the Yumbo Centre), which also meant that taxis to places such as the beach and the Kazbah were very cheap - although, it wasn't a long walk to either. The villa also draws great benefits from the Lagoon pool, which although is shared with other surrounding villas was a very quiet and relaxing place to go.

The villa itself was very spacious, with a lovely pool and sun terrace that we all massively enjoyed! It has absolutely everything you could possibly need and we were very comfortable for the time we were there. Not only this, but as a group of young people we also felt safe, which was very important to us. We split the reasonable fee for air-con between us which I would recommend. There is the option for wi-fi, however there is also a bar directly opposite the villa that provides this service for free.

100% would not hesitate to recommend this - if we ever return to Gran Canaria, I'm sure we'll be in touch! Many thanks to both Janet and Gary.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing