We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Spacious Penthouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool in the garden with winter cover. The pool, 9 metres X 5m is 2.5m deep at one end. Outside Terrace of the Penthouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Pool in the garden with winter cover. The pool, 9 metres X 5m is 2.5m deep at one end.
Outside Terrace of the Penthouse
Roof solarium
Looking south-west at midday
Roof solarium looking south-east.
Steps to the Penthouse from  Ground Level.
Spiral to Roof Terrrace.
Penthouse terrace
Penthouse terrace
Kitchen and dining area
Fissler Kitchen Set
Entrance door, kitchen and dining area.
Sitting area as seen from the emperor-size bed.
Sitting Area
View of the station from window.
Local bar set on the water's edge
Local restaurant
Local beach
Urbanisation private leisurepark- tennis courts with pool beyond
Cafeteria along the beach promenade.
From roof looking east at twilight.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lccc14656
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My wife and I stayed at Jane and Andre's penthouse for nine night's in mid October 2017. Communication beforehand was excellent and once we arrived Jane was on hand to take us to the local (very well stocked) mercadona which was a great help.

The penthouse is in a very quiet area though the train station is only five minutes walk away, it is much easier going down to the station than coming up! The kitchen and living area is spacious but if you are blessed with good weather the best part is the roof top terrace which offer's marvelous views as well as being a suntrap. Fortunately for us other than a thunderstorm one early morning we enjoyed lovely sunshine every day so we could take full advantage of the terrace which made for a very relaxing holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
What a pleasure to have you to stay ! The turn of the season was indeed spectacular, the garden looks much better for the rain , and I'm so glad you brought it with you. All is well here and next year hopefully even better. NB. Two good stays with a fun time : Xmas with lights and fairs in Malaga and Easter/ Holy Week fabulous processions - late night trains running. Seasons Greetings to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harr1son
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't book this rental.”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Such a shame, you are promised so much when the actuality is it delivers so little.

You are within walking distance of the train station. It took me 5 - 7 minutes to walk down to the station and about 10 minutes to walk back up the hill.

Whilst the studio is clean and well equipped in terms of pots and pans it does not have the facilities advertised.

The meet and greet may work provided your flight is not delayed. My flight was delayed by 40 minutes and I felt abandoned as there was nobody there at the train station, the telephone number (landline) was unobtainable, despite myself and 3 other people on the train using their phone, and there was no mobile number as an alternative given. Fortunately the local hotel (Vista Del Rey) were more than helpful. The hotel also tried to phone the number provided but there was no answer. They eventually telephoned a taxi who delivered me to the correct address at a cost of 8 euros. The owners didn't respond to the 1st or 2nd time I used the bell to signify I had arrived - however I persisted!

The pool, is not available according to the owners due to a storm which occurred on or soon after 10th October. So disappointed and I wouldn't have booked if I'd known that there was no pool as it is important to me. Perhaps 20 days is not long enough to have the pool repaired or functional due to an "electrical fault".

The wifi does work although I wonder how long this will last. Needless to say I expect it to fail before I leave.
There is a good television signal for Spanish programmes but there isn't even a single English news programme - despite one reviewer saying there are multiple English programmes!!!!! I don't know if the reviewer lied or there is the same problem as with the landline and pool which will take considerable time to fix.

Would I book again. NO, NEVER. Try elsewhere
There are so many other places which deliver what is promised in terms of facilities as opposed to this place.

I feel sorry for the owners who appear to be finding it difficult to cope - but it's not my problem their business has problems and they have health issues to cope with.

My suggestion to ANYONE who has booked is to negotiate a new price for the rental. Bearing in mind that there is no pool available and only Spanish TV is available in a quite isolated spot if you don't have a rental car.

People who have a booking should note that there is no A/C and that you will be charged for any electricity used at a rate of 3 units of electricity for 1 euro.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2017
Since the early booking in Jan. 2017 and the long silence from the prospective guests, there were serious health issues for Jane to sort out and some repairs in the main house which in Spain are somewhat difficult to get done efficiently .However the system of charging for
electricity with a meter was made quite clear, and that it would be added to the modest rental of £8.73 pp. p.night at the end of the stay. As for AC., radiators and a ventilating fan were provided instead. There was indeed some confusion at the point of arrival because of the guests' very late arrival and the collapse of the landline telephone due to a storm surge, in spite of which Jane spent over an hour waiting with the car at the station but was obliged to return empty to attend to her suffering husband, whose groans later drowned the sound of the doorbell. She had assumed the guests were not arriving at all after being told they were "already on the Coast " and not landing at the airport on a delayed flight as she was later led to believe. Natural or techno disasters strike any time, (often in threes) and the pool and English TV. were examples of this after a busy summer. To calm the situation, Jane willingly offered a refund of the rental which, however, was quickly refused.
Even knowing the Costa as well as they do, we hope these guests will find another rental in future at equal value and wish them good luck..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAH700
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely peaceful location with own pool”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 11 nights in May, location is secluded and has brilliant views, particularly from the sun terrace. As stated in the description, it's up a steep hill and has a number of steps but these are well maintained and lit. It's really close to the train station which links to Malaga, Benalmadena and Fuengirola every 20 mins so great for exploring.
Accommodation has everything you need - washer, hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and plenty of crockery and cutlery, bed was really comfortable. Jane kindly took us shopping on arrival even though Andre was incapacitated, very much appreciated as ,eant no carrying heavy shopping uphill.
The gardens and pool are lovely.
The local area is pretty quiet with a couple of bars and restaurants at the bottom of the hill (taxi service is very handy!) but we found everyone very friendly and nice laid back vibe.
Highly recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Dear Guests,
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your kind consideration was much appreciated . Although this summer there were no clouds, it was evident that the metaphorical ones had had a sliver lining which you brought with you. I am so glad to have been able to contribute also to your well-being.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nallyhols
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“an excellent find real value for money”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

what a lovely situation sea and sierras in a full 360 degree panorama
the sun terraces allow wonderful dawns and sunsets to be enjoyed in
both peace and quiet. having spent a week visiting amongst others the
Buddist Temple ,a folly in praise of columbus, Benalmadena puerto and
village with its free entry museum, we can say there is plenty to do as
well as just relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sun terraces
Liked least: all very good for price paid so nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing