We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Totally Chilled”
other travellers have booked this property
Les Petite Bressettes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Les Petite Bressettes
Heated Pool set within 4 acres of gardens and grounds Inglenook Fireplace for cosy Autumn and Winter Breaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Les Petite Bressettes
Heated Pool set within 4 acres of gardens and grounds
Inglenook Fireplace for cosy Autumn and Winter Breaks
Comfortable Lounge / Dining Room
Loads of Books, Videos and Games
Front Double Bedroom
Rear Double Bedroom
3rd Double Bedrrom
Set within lovely Gardens and Grounds
Gite set in lovely gardens and grounds of almost 4 acres
View of the pool from the garden
Our lovely local town
If you are lucky see our red squirrels and deer grazing on our lawn
View of the gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Le Bugue, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
English first
Geoff P
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs Jackie”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

In answer to your tirade of our review.
Ive never in all my life been accused of not admitting to anything, 1 glass was broken by the pool and was promptly reported to yourselves, as was breaking off two branches off one plant. Accidents do happen and apologies were given to your husband. And may I ask just what and how much damage was caused by our dog (a chihuahua) who was walked on a lead at all times and all deposits picked up
Criticisism is a way to improve your business, not to insult. We gave a fair review, as did another guest who arrived after us, whom you also attacked verbally. Why don't you take the reviews as they are meant and work on the findings, we made a contract with you on monies paid, your business did not warrant the amount because of cleanliness. We have not asked for a refund, nor do we expect one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Well another horrible review from the same person / her partner with a "different" name
The guest you refer to stayed before you did and you read their very biased and unfriendly review before writing yours. I fact at no time did I "verbally abuse" them as you say - how you would "know" this I have no idea as I have never ever "verbally abused anyone in my life!
I replied to your nasty direct e-mail to us. and nice to see that you have written yet another Tripadvisor review under a different "name" to vent
Firstly as I said in my reply to your e-mail your cavalier attitude to breaking glasses in our swimming pool, which you did not tell us about - I just happen to see it and sent my husband out to clean it all up and later vacuum the pool to ensure there was no glass left in the water to cut people, and again not as you keep saying two branches broken off by your partner, whose name I see this review is in, running over our lovely rhododendron with his motor home, but rather over half of the bush being broken off and because he ran over the middle the rest has died - a plant we had looked after and cared for 8 years and flowered beautifully this year.- it was only mentioned as I said in my reply to you, to my husband because he was walking down the drive and would have seen the damage - not an apology just "Oh sorry I drove over your bush!" That lack of concern and care over someone else's property is unbelievable, and we have never had anything like it with any guests that have ever stayed with us over the last 8 years! This is the only time we have ever wished we charged a damage deposit as others do, so that we could at least have replaced the items damaged.

Your dog was not on the lead all the time as you state but ran around the garden a lot, and by the way was left in the gite every time you went out for the day anywhere. As I have already replied to your direct e-mail it was not the poo we had problems with because all good dog owners pick up after their dogs, but the places it dug in our flower beds, but as you were hardly watchful I suppose even if you had seen that you would not have cared.
We never mind people letting us know about anything that we could improve on - after all our main aim is to ensure people have a great time whilst staying here- as all but two of our guests in 8 years have.
But to spend your time here looking for things to criticise as you must have done ( smoke alarm disconnected) and the fact that at no time did you speak to us about any issues whilst here make us sure that your opinions are not only not justified but therefore can be ignored - as you ignore the common courtesy of taking care of others property.
I personally feel that to use Tripadvisor reviews in the way you have - writing another nasty one in a different name when you couldn't bully us in a direct e-mail is not the purpose of reviews and expect that people will see through your ploy and balance your vitriol against reviews given by most of our guests over the years which are a true reflection on what we offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here for a birthday week. The Gite is in a brilliant location for Sarlat, La Roque Gageac, Beynac etc. The hosts were friendly and there were 3 bottles of wine, cheese and butter in the fridge which was welcome. Although it is a spacious Gite and can sleep up to 9 but I would think it would be a tad cramped. There is only 1 wardrobe for 3 bedrooms and yes there are drawers. The size of the fridge in the kitchen is just not big enough for anymore than 2 people, really needs 2 fridges or a larger one. The smoke alarm battery had been disconnected. The bedding and towels were clean but the whole place needs a good clean and a freshen up..we had to clean the fridge before using it. It really needs a good hoovering/shampooing throughout, lots of cobwebs around legs of drawers and tables. The bathroom also has damp in a corner which really needs to be kept on top of, even though the Gite is 250 years old. The windows need cleaning and the entrance door to Gite is covered in fingerprints..with a little bit of TLC it could be stunning...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Well what a shame you mentioned nothing to us about your disappointment whilst you were here.
We have had 15 people staying in the gite - the original renters (8 in total) and friends of theirs that stayed for 3 days. They never had any problem with regards to it being cramped at all - nor has anyone else. who have stayed here.

If you had mentioned about your issue with the size of the fridge apparently being too small we would have solved the problem for you and provided a second table top fridge - but it is certainly more than adequate for our usual groups of guests, after all there were only 4 of you. The fridge - like all of the rest of the gite was thoroughly cleaned before all the food we offer in our welcome pack was put into it - the butter, 3 types of cheeses, milk, and eggs which go with the bread, sugar, coffee, tea and 3 bottles of wine that we always give guests to get them off to a good start,

We explained that when cooking it was advisable to disconnect the smoke alarm as it is just above the stairs from the kitchen, the only place that it can be safely fitted, but to re connect it at all other times - if you chose not to do this that is not our responsibility

The gite is cleaned and hoovered throughout before every guests arrival - including dusting everything.

So glad that despite your apparent disappointment you all enjoyed the swimming pool as you spent so much time in there - I assume that met your expectations?

Whilst we do not charge a damage deposit as guests usually let us know about any damage they may have caused, this was one occasion that we wished we had, as you make no mention of the glasses you broke whilst in the swimming pool, which my husband had to clear up to ensure your and future guests safety. Nor of the damage done to our garden by your dog and your friend who drove his motor home over our shrubs in a garden we take tremendous pride in, smashing them to pieces.
We were very disappointed that guests of ours, many of whom become friends during their stay, should take so little care of our property
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Totally Chilled”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My wife and myself visited Les Petite Bressettes for a get away from it all break in the beautiful Dordognue this beautifull gite sits in the peacefull countryside and you really feel you can chill out and relax.
The accomodation is equipped with everything you could possibly wish for even included a great welcome pack including wine which we really enjoyed.
The accomodation comes equipped with a warm swiming pool which we were able to use a lot.
The owners Malcolm and Elizabeth were the best hosts really friendly and nothing was to much trouble and had a fantastic knowledge of the area and its attractions.
I would recommend anybody to visit this beautiful Gite it can be as relaxing or as busy as you wish as its in the centre of many attraction and activities especially as we found canoeing.
We will look back on a fantastic break in a great area of France.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are so glad that you had a good time.
We always do our best to try ensure all our guests have a great time in this wonderful region of France
When we renovated the gite 8 years ago we tried to modernise whilst keeping much of it character and charm, and think we have been successful in that, as our guests seems to love it.
It was lovely to see you both and again we are happy that you had a good time here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here.”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
person found this review helpful

We had high hopes for this stay as we were following the Tour de France and the location was perfect. Elizabeth and Malcolm, the owners, are pleasant and helpful with places to visit in the local area, however their gite is anything but pleasant to stay in. It has clearly been neglected for sometime. The property smelt and felt damp - this could be seen in the ground floor bathroom and the property not properly cleaned. We had to hoover the carpet, clean the bathroom and mop all the floors on arrival. When we switched on the heated towel rail in the bathroom it tripped the electrics briefly so we did not attempt it again. Most of the fixtures and fittings are old and most worrying of all we would question safety if you want to use the freestanding gas cooker. The cooker is operated via a gas bottle, which is stored in an unvented cupboard under the sink in the kitchen. We dare not use the cooker as there was a strong smell of gas and despite mentioning this to the owner who briefly looked at the appliance it made no noticeable difference. We therefore did not risk cooking anything for the duration of our stay. The microwave looked fine but we did not use it. The old tv broke after one day and could not be fixed until four days later as their engineer was on holiday. The beds were clean and comfortable to sleep in but there only one small cupboard to hang clothes and one small bedroom mirror between all three bedrooms. There were, however, some drawers in each to lay things in flat. We left a day early as this was our earliest opportunity to sort out alternative accommodation. Pool looked cloudy throughout our stay so we did not use it and we were not offered the use of a hot tub. Disappointed that 'tripadvisor' list such a place as this.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
We allowed you to book our gite for only 5 nights - we insist on full weeks only in high season - as you were following the Tour de France - leaving us with two days empty.
Our gite is a 250 year old stone built house, which was fully renovated 8 years ago.
I can only assume that you have never stayed in a stone house as the smell you refer to as " damp" is the natural smell of houses of this construction. Perhaps choosing new houses to stay in would suit you better?
All the equipment in the gite is less than 5 years old, and is in good
working order.
The gite is hoovered through out and the bathrooms, kitchen and equipment are washed and cleaned before every guests arrival, so how exactly you could feel you needed to do this we don't understand, and although you say you had to hoover there was never any sound of you doing this at any time during your stay - we always love it when our guests help out and we hear the hoover going.
Perhaps allowing you to take your own bikes into the gite did not help the cleanliness issue.

You say that when you switched on the heated towel rail in the bathroom all the electric went off - this would have been impossible as it would have only tripped its own individual circuit breaker - what actually happened was that there was a brief power outage by EDF- nothing to do with any equipment or electrics either in the gite or the main house. But you never mentioned this to us or we could have explained what had actually happened.

When you mentioned to my husband that you thought you could smell gas he immediately came in, and although he could detect no small of gas he retighten all the fittings, which were actually new this year.
The cooker is set up in the standard way for France, in fact our own cooker is set up in exactly the same way, with the gas bottle being in a cupboard by the side. ventilation of any kind is not required.
You left the TV on whilst you went outside to eat - this fried the FreeSat box, which cost us over 200€ to replace. Perhaps it would have been fairer to say that it stopped working when you were using it?
Because our engineer was in the UK getting new supplies when we called him and he would not be back till Wednesday we offered for you to come and watch TV any time you wanted in our house, even offering to leave the doors open for you when we went out. You chose not to do this.
We often have 9 guests staying in our gite and none of them have ever found that the wardrobe and various chest of drawers have been too inadequate for all their clothes, so we find it hard to understand how with only two of you staying this was causing you a problem?
We were totally surprised when you just handed us the key without a word a day early, we wondered if perhaps you had booked 5 nights by mistake and were off to follow the Tour, especially as at no time did you mention to us any problems you felt you might have.

The pool was clear and sparkling blue whilst you were here, so again we do not understand this " cloudiness" All our guests spend many hours having fun in the pool, you chose not to.
You mention not being offered the hot tub, did you ask? no.
We are currently, as you will have seen, laying a path between the gite and the hot tub to make it easier and more comfortable for guests to use it, if only you had mentioned it - but like with everything else you hardly communicated with us at all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Book this Place!”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've just wrapped our fourth visit to Les Bressettes and there is a reason we keep coming back time and again. The gite is perfect, beautifully maintained and very comfortable, the gardens and pool sublime and the hosts go out of their way to make your stay great. This time we arrived in mid morning and even though we were early for the afternoon check in, it was no problem at all. They had everything ready. It was lovely to see that since our last visit they had added more chairs and umbrellas and more comfortable cushions to the pool side seating. I think the only thing that could make it even better is if they could find a way to install or have access to a full size fridge. Particularly in the summer, when you go through a lot of drinks, it would be so nice to have more space so that there was enough room to keep drinks including water bottles cold. But we adore the place and of course, this will not be our last visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The Gite, the pool, the gardens, the hosts.
Liked least: It would be nice if they would invest in high speed internet for the gite. It would make it so much easier to plan excursions and so forth. There is wifi but basically you can only get it outside the gite in the garden.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you Dana - and it was lovely to see you all again.
I will look again at trying to fit in more than a usual sized fridge in there - we got one with the biggest icebox that still fitted but I appreciate that with the very hot weather we have been having more ice would have been nice (we will always make you some you know?)
We cannot wait to see you all again and your two weeks went way too quickly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing