We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 016)
Filter reviews
3 016 results
Traveller rating
1 410
1 082
310
126
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 410
1 082
310
126
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all inclusive package swizzle inn all inclusive plan close to the airport the bus hibiscus room crystal caves surf and turf minutes from the airport swim up bar feed the fish blue hole guest services the palm court ocean front small beach hibiscus restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 3 016 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We last stayed at Grotto Bay in 1996, and returned this summer with two young teens. It was even nicer than we remembered, and a terrific value when compared with other Bermuda hotels. We did not choose the all-inclusive option since we didn't want to be tied to one place for our meals, and when we added it all up later we did spend a little less by going to a variety of places to eat - but the main point was variety since we were staying for a full week and just didn't want to eat at the same place every day. We did try both restaurants in the hotel as well as the poolside cafe, and we have nothing but good things to say about them all. The Hibiscus was just over $200 for dinner for four, including drinks, and that's not bad at all for a nice, dress-up restaurant. The Palm ran us more like $140 for four including drinks. Very nice, good menus, excellent service, good value. The pool and the beach are lovely, and were not crowded any time we went. Nice to have the pool available 24 hours a day (but I wish towels were available for longer hours - the towel shack seemed to close very early each day, so late afternoon and evening swims had no towel availability - we had brought our own beach towels and ended up using those at the pool most times).

We emailed ahead that we'd be arriving early and wondered if we could use the pool while we waited for our room to be available, and got a gracious reply that of course we could. Instead, our room was ready for us at noon - it was like getting an extra day of vacation!

Just as we were 20 years ago, we were impressed by the overall courtesy of everyone we encountered, not only at the hotel but on buses, in shops, on the street. It's amazing to see young people give up their seats to older folks on a bus - when was the last time anyone in New York did that???? Fellow passengers were helpful to us, letting us know when our stop was coming, striking up conversations, saying hello and goodbye - lovely manners and friendliness that we just don't encounter enough these days.

The resort had enough to keep the teens engaged during our time on property - we rented kayaks and paddle boards and snorkel gear, and they swam out to the float to play and snorkeled in the little cove off to the side of the main beach. We didn't do any of the evening entertainment - frankly, by the time night fell everyone was exhausted from full days!

Lovely vacation, lovely resort, lovely country. A few more pool towels and it would have been perfection itself! (And yes, I know, not all visitors are as polite as Bermudians are and would walk off with unattended towels... I understand the issue, and I know it's a minor point, but it was kind of a nuisance and there really has to be a solution.)

Thanks to all for a lovely, memorable vacation!

Room Tip: We were in 700 building, great views, but a hike down to pool/beach. Anyone with mobility issues should request a lower building.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roseann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3413jpm, Public Relations Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hello Roseann H,

Thank you for such a great review. It is so good to hear you've returned after some years. Were glad you've enjoyed our restaurants on property. Our staff works very hard to ensure both great food and great service.

It is no surprise to me to hear such positive comments about fellow Bermudians on the public transportation. We like to say its the "Bermudian way", its in our blood. Its very pleasing to hear this reflected in your visit with us.

Were so happy your family has had such an enjoyable stay with us, and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

Ashley Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Very simply, Grotto Bay is the most beautiful resort on Bermuda. Breath-taking view, lovely service, spacious grounds, affordable. Grotto Bay offers every amenity one could want, including a couple of caves in which you can either jump into a swimming area for a refreshing splash or have a massage! When I close my eyes, I am at Grotto Bay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank kalycoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3413jpm, Public Relations Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hello Odyssey4039,

Thank you for such an amazing review! Your positive feedback is so rewarding. We can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

Ashley Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

What stands out most about this hotel is the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful, resolving any issues (like moving our room due to neighbors from hell) quickly and easily. The all inclusive meal plan is the way to go given the distance from Hamilton. The food was mostly good all around, with lunch the weak spot, but special orders were no problem. The resort is conveniently located 5 minutes from the airport, and despite being able to see the airport, you generally don't hear it, so plane noise was not an issue. An enormous new terminal is going up, however, which could degrade the view from the hotel quite a bit, depending on how the building is clad.

The biggest drawback of the resort is the size of the beach, which is tiny. Because of this your experience will very much depend on your fellow guests. We unfortunately overlapped with a group of 10 all day drinkers and their 11 teenage kids for 3 days, which was a bummer as their presence was overwhelming. Once they left the place changed dramatically for the better. There were TONS of small children here during our stay, and if that's going to bother you, look elsewhere. Other highlights - renting a motorboat at the water sports center was quick and easy, providing good access to some incredible beaches, and the included bus passes made getting into Hamilton and the South Shore beaches a breeze (just make sure you understand which bus lines take the shortest route before you go)

In sum, there is a lot of good here, and unfortunately the things that I would change are not so easy to do given the physical location of the property.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3413jpm, Public Relations Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Good Day Micheal C,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. Please accept our apologies for your experience with having to move rooms. Were glad we were able to provide that for you. Were glad to hear you enjoyed your experience renting a boat from our Blue Hole Water Sports and well done manoeuvring around the island via bus. We hope to have you return in the near future.

Regards,

Ashley Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We stayed at The Grotto Bay Resort on our honeymoon in 1973 which was the year the resort opened. We only stayed for one night last week so I will only address those things we had experience with. I requested an ocean view room on the top floor with a king bed and that is what we got. If you have a specific request I would suggest taking the time to call the resort and talking directly with a representative. There is obviously no guarantee but it never hurts to ask.

First impressions: The grounds and entrance are beautiful. The bellman greeted us and was very friendly and helpful We left out luggage with him as our room was not ready(we got there at 11:30 and check-in is not into 3PM

Check in: The front desk personnel were so gracious, polite and helpful. We got all the paper work done and she explained the hotel, services etc. and gave us a map of the hotel and services, meal times etc. Check in was fast and efficient.

The lodge and lobby: Beautiful high ceilings, original woodwork and floors, lots of wood and very understated elegance.

Pool and beaches: We decided to walk around the grounds and then stay at the pool while waiting for our room. The pool deck was pretty crowded and we were not able to get 2 chairs with an umbrella for shade. We pulled 2 chairs into a shaded area and got towels from the towel shack. The attendant did ask for our room number and I just gave him our name. The pool itself is a good size and was not crowded. There were kids in the pool but they were well behaved. We did not eat or get a drink at the pool bar but it looked nice, lots of tables in the shade. The beach is narrow and not very big but very clean, soft sand and beautiful blue water. There is a floating play area for kids off shore and also a sunken ship??where you can snorkel.

. The view is over the bay and the airport is to the right. We did not hear any planes. There is a smaller beach called Honeymoon Beach to the left which was a nice calm, peaceful place to swim in and do some snorkeling. This is where they feed the fish in the morning. There is a gazebo and a small Jacuzzi.

Check in: At 3PM we went back to get our room key and went to our room. The bellman delivered our luggage promptly

Room: The room is not huge but was a good size for 2 people. The decor was very pleasant and looked as if it was recently renovated and was very clean. There is a small refrigerator and 2 chairs by the sliders. There is a desk with a chair and plenty of drawers for storage. TV reception was good. Wi-Fi was spotty. The bathroom is small with a pedestal sink, toilet, and shower,/tub combination. The water was HOT and the pressure was good. There is almost no place to put your stuff in the bathroom. There is a small, narrow glass shelf over the toilet and that is it. Would have been a problem if we were there for more than one day. The closet is small. The air conditioner unit is in a closet next to the clothes closet and was loud but worked well. The bed was on the soft side but was comfortable with nice bed linens and great pillows. There is a small balcony with 2 chairs and a round table. The view was beautiful! We were very pleased with our room. FYI. There is an ice machine and soda vending machine available.

We walked to the original Swizzle Inn for dinner.and then Bailys for ice cream. A safe, short walk from the hotel. There is a bus stop at the entrance to the hotel-very convenient.

We had reservations for a champagne sunset cruise with Ana Luna Adventures at 7pm. They leave from the Grotto Bays dock so it is very convenient. I highly recommend doing this. You can read my review on trip advisor.

Breakfast was in the Hibiscus Restaurant and cost approximately $52 with tip for the 2 of us.It is a buffet and was very good with plenty of options. The chef makes great omellets! The waiters were very friendly and efficient. You can ask for a "to go" cup of tea or coffee.

Check out: Again very efficient. We called to have our luggage picked up and it took about 10 minutes or so. Talk to the bellman as early as possible to arrange for a taxi to the airport.

Final impressions: We were very happy with our stay. I have read some terrible reviews of this lovely resort and I wonder if they stayed at the same resort that I stayed at. Take those bad reviews with a grain of salt!!

Room Tip: Top floor for better view. Room 531 in Warwick Lodge beautiful view.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Brucie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3413jpm, Guest Relations Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Brucie45,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest and positive feedback. Were so happy you were able to experience such a good time with us in just one short night. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy a longer stay with us.

Regards,

Ashley Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We arrived at 12:30pm, but there was a mix-up between hotel and Cheap Caribbean and although we booked all inclusive and it was printed on the booking info, we had to call Cheap Caribbean and we spent 30+ minutes on the phone and then with reception to sort it out and confirm that it was all inclusive. The reception staff were friendly and handled it calmly. At 3pm we were given our room key, we walked to the room but it was not ready. In the interim we saw 20+ people arriving and being checked-in and being given room keys. We were told to wait as they could not get hold of housekeeping. There was no effort made to give us another room and we were told to wait until everybody else was checked-in. We booked a sea view room. My first time in Bermuda. We were so excited to come here. The staff at lunch were superb.

Room Tip: Sea view good
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madame_ZeldaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3413jpm, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Madame_ZeldaW,

Thank you for sharing your unfortunate delays during check in due to reservation issues, please accept my apologies.

Regards,

JP Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews