We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Escorial”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of San Lorenzo

Monastery of San Lorenzo de el Escorial, 5 mins walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Monastery of San Lorenzo de el Escorial, 5 mins walk away
Lounge area Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Monastery of San Lorenzo de el Escorial, 5 mins walk away
Lounge area
Dining area
View from the front terrace
Front terrace with access to lounge and bedroom 1
Our son enjoying the paddling pool and outdoor dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1: double bed
Bedroom 2: 2 singles or a king size bed
Bedroom 3: single bed with spare mattress underneath
Kitchen
Plenty of books and dvds to borrow
Bath/shower
Corridor
View from the back terrace
Parking in front of the building and shared garden
Mountain walks 5 minutes walk away
Monastery gardens
Lake on the outskirts of San Lorenzo de el Escorial
San Lorenzo de el Escorial in Autumn
View of San Lorenzo de el Escorial from Monte Abantos
The Monastery
Woodland walks 5 minutes walk away
Valle de los Caídos on the outskirts of San Lorenzo de el Escorial
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
San Lorenzo de El Escorial

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gavinblax
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Escorial”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I'm British and prior to visiting here thought it would be the Windsor of Spain. Royalty wise it is, and proximity to the Capital. The analogy breaks down though Escorial is more homely and relaxed whilst it has a tourist element it doesn't dominate unlike Windsor.

The flat is in my estimation in quite a classy area tree filled area in walking distance of the monastery. I was going to say easy walking, but the slope the whole town is on means that in truth there is no easy walking anywhere in Escorial. That adds to the character of the place.

The flat is on the top floor of the block so more climbing it has a view which is good, but if it was a storey higher would be spectacular. Flat is continental in sense of large lounge diner small kitchen. My party was five person family and I would say a good size flat overall.

I went in July Very hot! No AC so the full Spanish experience. Glad I'd booked here rather than anywhere lower such as Madrid.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrabbit...
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment for children and great location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is very nice and comfortable and particularly nice for young children because there are many toys and dvds and tv channels and even a stroller. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, the bathroom small but functional, laundry machine worked well, great views, excellent location, owner is very helpful and communicative and friendly. The only complaints were that there were some initial issues with the internet, which is particularly important to me as I work online and need a fast and reliable connection, but we eventually figured it out, and its up a hill and up 3 flights of stairs, which isn't bad except when arriving and bringing a family plus their bags up the stairs or coming home from a grocery story, but its otherwise great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and size and furnishings and view and great for children (toys/tv)
Liked least: internet connection and bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martha b
1 review
“well equiped apartment”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

we had a very pleasant stay of nine days in this apartment. It is well equiped and has a cosy atmosphere. It is ideal for visiting old towns like Avila and Segovia, and hiking in the nearby mountains. We had a pleasant e-mail contact with the owner who is kind and helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkinnyVag...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Peaceful stay in a country setting”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Spent couple days in this apartment during our Madrid visit in Dec, and it was very comfortable for our family. Madrid is about an hour drive away, and we did that every day. We would have enjoyed more had it not been cold and rainy, but we still managed to walk around town which was decorated with Christmas lights. Did have to drive around a bit to find the spot the first time. Unit has everything you could possibly need, so could work out for longer stays as well. Wifi is extra, but available.

Elizabet is very friendly and helped us out with directions and tips. Thank you so much for a comfortable and quiet place to stay so close to Madrid.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Comfort
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing