We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
239
75
25
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
75
25
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews book store local artists illy coffee aesop products room was spacious bar and restaurant walk in shower great bookstore contemporary hotel great happy hour breakfast sandwich place to stay in town i highly recommend this hotel small town train tracks people watching
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018

We arrived late and were thrilled that the bar was still serving some limited food items, but mostly after a long drive it is all about the cocktails. Dog friendly as we had Birdie the yellow lab with us. She was able to sit in the lobby while we drank and ate. The rooms were very nice as were the bathrooms. Worth the money. Only drawback is that the trains go rolling by and well....they are loud.

Room Tip: Try and avoid a train track view room.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michael A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Loved the hotel. I t was not my first time in Marfa but the first time at the Saint George. I love the contemporary interior, the very spacious deluxe room. We had a room on the streetside but it was very quiet. And...the croissants are the best in Texas!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank magdak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

So glad we got to stay here!! The level of customer service is phenomenal(read below)! We originally planned to stay here but the rooms were completely sold out. We stayed a few days in another location and were thrilled when Lissa mentioned they had a cancellation for Sunday night.
RESTAURANT: If you want to sit and eat, make reservations. We showed up for dinner but the restaurant was busy so we sat at the bar to avoid wait time. Our bartender, Ben, was very warm, personable, and knowledgeable of both the food and drink menu. You must try his take on the old fashioned (made with Earl Gray Tea); it was one of the BEST drinks I’ve ever had. We ordered the ribeye and the filet mignon and both cuts were cooked to perfection. Everything that we ordered from the menu over the course of a few days was appetizing and delectable.
ROOM: Our room was situated at the end of the hall and was very quiet. The decor has a modern flair with very clean lines. Our room faced the railroad tracks, however, my husband and I slept the entire night without interruption(courtesy earplugs are provided for light sleepers). The bed was HEAVEN! SO SO COMFORTABLE! The bathroom is fully stocked with Aesop shower essentials. The rugs on either side of the bed have a very luxurious feel. Absolutely loved our room.
POOL:The pool bar (21 and up) is located directly across the street; complementary towel service is provided. There is a long pergola that runs parallel with the pool that provided shaded lounging options. The seats were very comfortable and the water was so cool and refreshing.
CUSTOMER SERVICE: I cannot express how friendly and thorough the staff is. Everyone I encountered had a pleasant demeanor and was incredibly friendly. Lissa went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and was incredibly accommodating. We had a friend that came in unexpectedly and was unable to secure a room. Lissa came through for us again, notifying us when a room became available. And she was EVERYWHERE. I saw her helping at the bar, at reception, at the pool area. Her level of commitment was superb. THANK YOU Lissa, Ben, Adriana and staff for making our stay so memorable!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Sophisticated in so many ways. The attention to detail and quality (from security to room design, down to the bath towels and robes) is first class! This privately owned hotel is a respite from the many "late 1800 period hotels" that dot this remote mountainous part of Texas. Recommended if you want a great experience in the high desert and have the means to pay for this level of lodging.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bennett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We spent two nights at the St George. From the moment you enter you could think you are at a small boutique style hotel in NY. Personnel is friendy, decor is minimalist, room was spacious, restaurant offers a limited but good selection of food and drinks, remaxed atmosphere. Check out the happy hour - food and drinks! Location is perfect in the center of Marfa, could park the car right in front of the hotel. Not cheap, but definitely worth the price.

Room Tip: 210 is at the back, not really a nice view from here - a room at the front of the building should be better I guess
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelman-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews