We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place to make long lasting memories!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Chinati Hot Springs Cabin at sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chinati Hot Springs Cabin at sunset
Exterior Downstairs Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Chinati Hot Springs Cabin at sunset
Exterior
Downstairs Living Room
Upstairs Bedroom
Balcony View
Kitchen facing entry
Exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Marfa, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vladimir1...
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place to make long lasting memories!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I spent 4 days and 3 nights over new years. The location is breathtaking and the evenings views of the milky way are phenomenal. Don't expect a luxurious cabin getaway, but as you can see from previous reviews, it's an excellent place to shut down and get away from city life. Be sure to bring a bath robe for the outdoor shower, but it has plenty of hot water if you like hot showers. Bring fire wood if you are coming during the winter season, as you'll easily go through a bundle a day. I brought the fire logs you can buy from costco or any wal-mart along with some racks of wood for cooking. There are space heaters in the home which sufficiently warm the cabin, but the wood burning stove is great to make it nice and cozy! There are some cool nearby getaways (Ruidoso and Candelaria). We never went to the hot springs, but it is nearby. I would advise taking the pinto valley canyon route but be sure to have a high clearance vehicle with good tires and a spare. We traveled the route 4 times, and only saw 2 others along the way. Be sure to look out for the signs that guide you to the Chinati Hot Springs...they are well marked and don't be deceived by your GPS directions. Thank you again Charlie for making our stay wonderful!! btw....we got engaged on NYE at the cabin!! so your place will definitely have a place in our hearts!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Congratulations on your engagement!!! You guys make a great couple and I am so happy for you both, come again someday and toast another New Year, thanks for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah M
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Desert Dwelling”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you like desert solitude with 360 views, Charlie's cabin fits the bill. You are really out there-- without a view of a neighboring house anywhere! all of the essentials are in the cabin -- super comfortable with an eclectic DVD selection. There is an outdoor shower that works great, but we happened to be there on christmas when a freak storm came thru and the pipes on the shower froze. The freak snow storm also closed the road between Marfa and Presidio on the day we were leaving. We called Charlie and he was very nice, letting us stay in the cabin one more night for a deal and gave us a hefty supply of firewood. Could not recommend this place more if you are looking for a great getaway unplugged from the distractions of our modern world. We also saw fox and coyotes and Chinati Hot Springs let us use their trails to hike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful escape in West Texas”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cabin for 4.5 days and loved every minute of it. The views were amazing, the hammocks were delightful, and the drive coming up was perfect.
I highly recommend taking Pinto Canyon up if you drive a Jeep or a truck -- Make sure you've mapped out your route to and from the cabin before you head that way.

We can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, porch, outdoor shower, grill
Liked least: N/A, loved it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquility, solitude, beautiful views, & close to hot springs”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The drive on Hwy. 2810 and on the unpaved roads was amazing and adventurous. The drive was a step back in time and a true get-a-way. I have a Subaru and had no problems on the back roads driving varying speeds of 30mph to 15mph on washed out areas. You don't need four-wheel drive, but may have to drive a little slower in a "normal" car. Don't be in a rush to make this incredible drive.
The cabin is a cabin, it is rustic, and the kitchen has everything you need to cook and BBQ outside. I could not get the oven to work. The water supply is rainwater and the pressure is adequate to wash dishes and shower. Don't expect the water pressure of a municipal system. Even though my wife was not excited about the outdoor hot shower, she did it because it was hot outside and even said she would go back to this cabin and put up with the outdoor shower. I loved the shower and didn't mind being outside because you are on the other side of nowhere. The deck has unbelievable panoramic views and gentle cross winds. We sat on the deck and listened to the drum rolls of distant thunderstorms. We had a storm that rolled over giving us brief small hail. Incredible! The power did go out for a couple of hours due to a distant storm. We used the land line to call Charlie for reassurance, so he called the power company for us. The power outage was a gift because we enjoyed the perfect quiet you don't get in many other places. This was definitely a Guys getaway before becoming a rental, but my wife love it.
Finally, even though Chinati Hot Springs is very close to the cabin you would not know it because of its location in a small canyon. This place is off the beat and path and plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and tranquility
Liked least: Probably not best for small children
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Thanks, glad you enjoyed the stay! Sorry about the oven not working, I'll get a new control knob for it. I'm working on increasing the water pressure so hope to improve it soon. Very grateful for your description of the road condition and how to manage it, Pinto Canyon Road is considered one of the most beautiful drives in Texas; thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best skies ever!”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My dear friend Jo and I wanted a few days of solitude and we received it. Yes, the road is very rocky. And it is so worth it! The views are magnificent. Every day we were gifted with brilliant big skies of changing cloud formations and colors -- and the light cast onto the mountains -- all spectacular! The cabin is perfect -- private, quiet, safe. Loved the morning alarm clock of bird vespers! There was a nest on the upstairs deck with an attentive mom. Loved the tree branch beside the deck that brought different bird songs. Enjoyed the outside shower. It was a perfect holiday for us. Hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The skies, the solitude
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thanks for staying, glad you enjoy the desert environment as much as I do, hope you come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing