We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint, cozy, inviting venue!”
Front of castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of castle
Hot Tub Silo Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Front of castle
Hot Tub
Silo Room
side of castle
front of castle
Lavender room
Courtyard
Gate
Courtyard
turret room
Dining Room set for dinner
Peacock in the mist
Creekside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Marble Falls, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, cozy, inviting venue!”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I booked this venue for an adult tea party/birthday party, and it was fantastic! We didn't stay in any of the rooms, but they looked so comfortable and relaxing. Laura is a very gracious and accommodating host. The parking was a bit confusing and inconvenient in the rain, but Laura and her lovely son provided shuttling of the guests to and from the venue.
Laura definitely makes you feel at home here. The peacocks roaming the grounds are an extra touch that just make this classic venue a little whimsical. I will definitely consider this venue again in the future!

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina B
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm & Welcoming! ”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My friend and I had a meditation retreat we were attending a couple miles from the castle, so I asked Laura if we could rent just one room from her for 6 nights. Best idea ever! It was closer than the run-of-the-mill motels & hotels 20 minutes away in lovely Marble Falls, plus had waaay more character and privacy and benefits! We arrived at the castle and were greeted by warm Laura and her SWEET lil dog, Pepper, as well as cold glasses of white wine, delicious cheeses, crackers, and sweet strawberries and grapes! Already way better than a typical hotel. We were given a tour of their magical lil property- full of white peacocks, colorful peacocks, chickens, goats, baby peacocks, baby chicks, an outdoor hot tub, and a beautiful creek which she set up a hammock by for us. She's also a caterer, so I got to sample tiny chocolate cupcakes, cheddar & chive biscuits, and delicious omelettes. Again, way more than a hotel for a similar cost per night! We also were close enough to Marble Falls that we drove in a few days for any groceries we wanted, and accommodating Laura let us keep our stuff in a fridge and use her kitchen as we needed. A full kitchen was so comfortable. The room & bathroom were richly decorated, clean, and had an armoire full of extra pillows & blankets. Plus Laura and her husband were charming to talk with, and let me help transport a brand new hatchling from the incubator to it's new home outside. Staying there was such a perfect compliment to a restorative meditation retreat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie J
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Beautiful property, incredible family weekend!”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I attended a family reunion at Smythwick Castle & Lodge the weekend of April 10. WOW, was I impressed! The accommodations were beautiful and the bed was super comfortable. The castle is amazing and the grounds were overflowing with wildflowers. There are plenty of peacocks, chickens and goats around the property and it's so fun to watch them. The whole family took a walk around the property and down the creek to a waterfall and the pond. Everywhere you look, it's just beautiful! We sat around a fire one night and roasted marshmallows and reminisced...the perfect setting for more family memories! Laura did an outstanding job with the food...it couldn't have been better! I highly recommend this property for a wedding or any family event or special occasion. We look forward to going back soon!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds, the animals, the food, the comfortable bed, the memory making...everything!!!
Liked least: What's not to like?!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott C
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, Easy Feeling!”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

You can't go wrong with this charming old-world castle in the Hill Country just west of Austin! Anything from sitting around the fire pit to just watching the peacocks "strut their stuff" gives you that chance to relax, recharge and refocus on what is truly important. Hosts Jim and Laura make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible, with clean, comfortable rooms decorated to make you feel like a medieval lord in his/her castle. The food was awesome, the evenings relaxing, the decorations are amazing!

I travel quite frequently and this location is one I will return to often!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The disconnect from the outside world, yet when I needed to, I could easily access their network to complete any business dealings necessary.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$695
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing