We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Lunch”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ardleigh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Crown in Colchester is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A good lunch in this popular pub/restaurant. Is always busy and staff are friendly & welcoming. Food was good. Well presented & served in good time. We had the lamb duo, hunters chicken, wagyu burger & rib eye steak with beef dripping gravy. All very enjoyable.

Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tony,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our beautiful pub. We are delighted to hear that you find our staff to be friendly and welcoming and that your exerpience was very enjoyable.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kind regards
The Crown at Ardleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sunday lunch for the family. 2 of us had the beef duo (roast & short rib), the other 2 had the trio (beef, turkey & pork). They came with all the trimmings you'd expect and the portions were incredibly filling.

It's best to book as the restaurant was very busy.

Service not great as they forgot to bring one on the meats for the trio and sruggled to tell which one was missing!

I'd go again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Phil,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your Sunday lunch visit to us. I am glad that you found the portions to be generous but I am very sorry to hear that you found the service to be anything less than great. Thank you for highlighting a couple of issues here; I assure you we will make sure that these are addressed through ongoing staff training.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kind regards
The Crown at Ardleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly front of house staff, poor service from the kitchen. The food was not good and what was edible was overpriced. If you can't cope on a busy Easter Sunday afternoon you should not have so many covers. Will not be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RacingToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at the Crown at Ardleigh. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us and that you are put off from returning. I believe that you did speak with the duty manager during your visit, but if you would like to speak with us in any further detail, then please don't hesitate to contact us on 01206 231946 and please ask to speak with either Natalie or Sam.

Kind regards
The Crown at Ardleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Long wait, cold food, soggy undercooked pancake Yorkshire pudding , veg swimming in warm water . For the price was terrible service not good either waited ages for drinks then turned up wrong , I would steer clear of this place. Avoid like the plague

Thank Clive-Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Clive and Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us on Easter Sunday at the Crown at Ardleigh. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us and that you are put off from returning. I believe that you did speak with the duty manager during your visit, but if you would like to speak with us in any further detail, then please don't hesitate to contact us on 01206 231946 and please ask to speak with either Natalie or Sam.

Kind regards
The Crown at Ardleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I come here quite a lot and have to say that the food seems to improved dramatically over the last month. A new Head Chef? The food has always been good here, but I'm this place has definitely stepped up a notch with its food - keep it coming!!! It's just a shame that the waiters / waitresses seem to let themselves down time from time, but in general it's great!!!

Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ted B, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Crown, Ardleigh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing