We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$85
View deal
eDreamsUS$85
TripadvisorUS$85
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$85
Trip.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
481
78
34
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
481
78
34
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole wildlife lovers watch tower spotted deer night safari wild animals water hole bison tiger sighting pug marks twin cottage thirunelli temple electric fence wonderful wildlife the cottages sun deck big cats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile

This was my first visit to my Jungle Retetrat in 2021. You've read it right 'My Jungle retreat'. A few things never change over time not just wine but also Jungle Retreat. It's quaint yet there's something new every single time I am here. Just got back yesterday, but seems like light years have passed. The food is probably just about that level before you start chewing up your fingers rather than licking it.

With regards to Anil Uncle and Anju Aunty they're the best hosts one can every dream about. Passionate about the Wild and always game for a story irrespective of it being a Common Tiger butterfly or a Royal Bengal Tiger itself.

This is a perfect place for a wild hide and seek with wildlife. Don't be disappointed it's not necessary that only if you see the Tiger it has seen you. It was well aware of your presence before your mind could trace it presence in your vicinity.

Chuck your phones, laptops and televisions aside and get used to chirps, calls and the a variety of endemic and non endemic flora and fauna around you. I can assure you once thing that the breeze here is much more cooling than a 1 Ton Air Conditioner.

Wholly worth the money and Jungle Retetrat wayanad is indeed a healthy addiction.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 29singhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

During diwali we planned our 15th visit to our second home Jungle Retreat Wayanad. As usual we reached at 1 and stayed in JC3 which gives a spectacular view of the farm and the forest. After a delicious lunch we were up in the watch tower overlooking the waterhole. I really love spending time in the watch tower as I can hear so many different sounds of nature. This time we were gifted by close-mouthed call of tiger multiple times. During evening drive we saw a huge elephant cropping the grass. This summed up our Day 1. The next day after breakfast we went to trek with Anil uncle. Every time you trek with him, you learn something new. Its an unforgettable experience! We crossed several watering holes, streams present around the farm. Finally we reached a water body behind the abandoned house. There we saw pugmarks of the female tigress. Uncle told that she must have laid down in the water. The massive size of the paw was very evident. All of a sudden, a growl came from behind us that reverberated across the forest. My heart skipped a beat. We all huddled in a group and then we heard another growl. In no time we retreated our steps back to our cottage. We had refreshing lime juice. After dinner Anil uncle came and said that he could smell elephants nearby. We then went with Uncle to the watch tower from where we saw the elephants. I hit the sack later in the night very happy and satisfied. Next morning from our sundeck we could see the same herd happily grazing. We then went for bird watching with Manu uncle and saw many different kinds of birds that were brilliant to see and photograph.
Then the time came to return back. With a heavy heart we bid goodbye to Anil uncle, Manu uncle, Kumar uncle, T.Anil uncle and left. We can’t wait to return back ASAP.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurko-Tuneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020 via mobile

Visited the property after reading lots of positive reviews on trip advisor , on recent Wayanad tour. Went there after spending 3 nights at vythiri village resort. While traveling to the destination, sighted elephant on thirunelly road. On arrival Manu and Kumar came to receive and welcomed us. We were family of 3 , my wife, daughter and me. As per request we were given last jungle cottage from where view of jungle from sit out is fabulous.Manu told us recent sightings . Had a good Kerala style lunch. In afternoon there were monkey and barking dear call just in front on road side part of jungle moving towards left, but no sightings. In night a heard of elephants came to the waterhole and enjoying whole night. Manu took us for night drive where also we sighted elephants. In night at 4 am I woke up with a tiger roar. Even other guests heard it. Came out but it was very dark. Went to morning jlr safari at nagarhole which was not so productive. Had booked 3 jlr safaris but did only 2 as it is not well organised as in other tiger reserves or kabini. Drivers just roam here and there with out waiting at probable places.Elephants can be sighted on Mysore Road also. It’s better to avoid nanachi gate safaris.It was better to stay in jungle retreat for true jungle feel. One of the evening Anil went to lock upper rooms and heard groul hence he came to take all the guests and manu was in front. Just behind the last cottage as he flashed light there was huge tigress sitting just outside electric fence which had gap big enough for the majestic animal to charge. Manu didn’t took risk and ask everyone to move down. It was a thrilling experience which we will not get in safari or any jungle resort.
There are 2 watch towers. One is just overlooking the water hole and new one is in jungle where chances of sightings are more. We sighted elephant from new watch tower. Went for a jungle walk with Manu where we saw fresh pug marks of tiger and as on elephant was standing ahead had to turn back.Did 3 night drive but sighted only elephants.Overall a true adventurous experience. Food was fabulous made by a young cook. All Manu, Anil, Kumar were hospitable right from first to last day. Stayed for 3 nights and 4 days. Even while booking Anju madam took care about booking & by asking about food preferences on the day of arrival.
Thirunelli temple is just 4-5 kms. My daughter sharvari didn’t wanted to come back while checking out.
Will surely return back to this unique property amidst jungle.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vinayak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2020

This was our 14th visit to our most beloved second home and it was one of a kind for sure. First of all, it was such a big relief to see the lush greens of the forest than the dull colours of the city after the pandemic and boring lockdown. Proper precautions like temperature check, using mask are being followed at the Retreat, so we felt absolutely safe there.
After lunch when we were relaxing on our sun deck of JC3 we saw the deer run fast. We became alert and rushed to the watch tower. The other guests present there had seen the tiger. We missed the opportunity of seeing her. Next day while having breakfast we heard monkey’s giving alarm calls and we ran to the watch tower. We all stayed quiet and could listen to the alarm calls of barking deer and sambar deer. Suddenly, Manu uncle exclaimed "TIGER!!" and we saw him in front of the abandoned cottage. We were elated!! Our trek was eventful as we heard the tiger growl, a blood curdling roar and the elephants trumpeting!
We enjoyed the evening drives, saw several gaurs, elephants, mouse deer, black naped hare. We were amazed as ever by the knowledge shared by Anil uncle. Manu uncle is like our elder brother, always there for you. We have enjoyed all the tasty meals by Kumar uncle.
Anju aunty’s heartful welcome in our second home always makes us want to go back ASAP.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tuneer-aurko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jungle Retreat, General Manager at Jungle Retreat Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Dear Tuneer and Aurko,
It is always amazing to have you all stay with us and you are right, you are not guests anymore, you are part of the family! Seeing the Tiger from the room, that is such a special occurrence and I am so happy you got that experience. Hoping to see you all soon! Regards Anil 9742565333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2020

My friend and I at stayed at Jungle Retreat recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Despite the challenge that the Covid was, the retreat handled it really well. Sanitizers placed, temperature checked on arrival and staff with masks on 24*7, taking every precaution with highest of safety and hygiene practises including maintaining social distancing put our concerns at rest.

Great food, excellent service and awesome sightings of deer, Bisons, wild dogs, peacocks and scores of birds right from the luxury of our room
.
Ambience : You feel like you have stepped in a well maintained tropical forest the moment you step into the resort.

Room : Extremely clean with soothing furnishing that blend well with the outside nature

Food: Would recommend the local fish curry - was lip smacking. Appam with Kadale curry is a must try not forgetting the chicken biryani – One of its kind.

Bonfire by a running water body combined with the local succulent chutney prepared in a jiffy right in front of us and stories of the wild to carry back home is an experience by itself.

Service : The warmest staff ensured absolutely excellent service - a big shout out to Anju, Anil, Kumar, Manu, Reena and the chef!. (sorry – can't remember his name)

We went for a night drive with Anil ad Manu and was astonished to site a tigress and her cubs relaxing on the road …. and few kilometres away got to see the famous elephants ‘Broken Tail and his assistant” . What more can one ask??

All this in the most affordable price offered by Jungle Retreat!!

Although we stayed for one night only, the experience was just AWESOME and I promised myself a longer stay when I visit them next

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singhgams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jungle Retreat, General Manager at Jungle Retreat Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Dear guest, thank you so much for your kind words about our retreat, delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Seeing Snow-white and her cub close by - well, what more can you ask for! Hoping to see you all soon! Regards Anil 9742565333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews