We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$252
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/27
Reserve now, pay at stay
JW Marriott
US$253
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/26
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$253
US$200
View deal
SAVE US$53
Free cancellation until 21/06/25
Hotels.comUS$201
Expedia.comUS$201
FindHotelUS$200
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 256)
Filter reviews
1 256 results
Traveller rating
942
200
62
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
942
200
62
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steel beams houston downtown the concierge lounge room service beautiful hotel luxury hotel valet parking business trip enjoyed my stay convention center tesla griffin tub gym platinum properties staycation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1 256 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2021

Between MULTIPLE flights getting cancelled and barely being able to find food for two days in a row due to the ice storm / freeze. HOWEVER, for two days in a row we have found comfort, kindness, and humbleness at a restaurant called Main Kitchen inside the JW in downtown Houston This establishment has been one of the only places open to the public for two days now, and the employees here have continuously surprised us with their dedication and smiling faces! Some of these kind souls have not even left the hotel since Sunday night and been working on zero sleep! One server in particular, Stephen, has remembered me by first name after seeing tons of people in and out all day (might be a bad thing!), and has never stopped being beyond kind and sweet to us Kindnes truly goes a long way during difficult situations like this and I am beyond grateful for all the staff here!!!❤️

Also, although the situation has created a limited menu, the food has been great.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank GFTP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley Fajardo, Marketing at JW Marriott Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2021

Thank you for staying at the JW Marriott Houston Downtown and for your review! Our team are working incredibly hard during these extreme circumstances to take great care of our guests. Your feedback is truly appreciated. Stephen is fantastic and we will make sure that we send your note along to him. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Jelle Vandenbroucke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2021

I stay here every time I travel to Houston which is at least three or four times a year. Cecilia has worked in the lounge since the beginning of when I started coming and she is the best lady ever I just love seeing her behind the bar whenever I come in for a business trip she makes my day! She believes in real customer service and I certainly appreciate her!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DMacik-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley Fajardo, Marketing at JW Marriott Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Thank you for staying at the JW Marriott Houston Downtown and for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jelle Vandenbroucke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021

Stayed here during transit on a work trip during COVID and Houston was a ghost town. Check in and the lobby atmosphere was fine but unremarkable. Most of the amenities were closed because of the pandemic. Gym was open and it was very nice. I had a standard room which was very luxurious. The décor was beautiful and the design was very modern. Bathroom had a separate area for shower, tub, and toilet and was very spacious. The tub was pretty much a part of the bedroom was it was very large and nice. The bed was also very comfortable. I was overall quite pleased with this stay because of how nice the room was. Did not use any amenities other than the gym or visit any restaurants so I cannot comment on these. Would stay here again while in Houston.

Date of stay: August 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank michaelc0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley Fajardo, Marketing at JW Marriott Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Thank you for staying at the JW Marriott Houston Downtown and for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jelle Vandenbroucke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel in downtown Houston! It exceeded all expectations.
From the arrival to departure our stay was amazing! This is a very clean spotless hotel. The Staff was kind, polite.
Thank you Tiffany G. for your assistance when we arrived. Thank you Melina P. For making the best capuchinos at the 806 restaurant, We appreciate Steven for making all our requests happen. Jesus, Angel and the manager Tim Puig who was cordial and helpful. We appreciate you all for a fantastic stay at JW Marriot downtown Houston! The room, food, service even valet staff were amazing!

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank juliapK4241RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley Fajardo, Marketing at JW Marriott Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

JuliapK4241RU,

Thank you for the amazing review above and for mentioning our associates by name so we can appropriately celebrate their efforts. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We have shared your review internally so everyone is able to see how their efforts directly impact our guests experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Be Well,

Jelle Vandenbroucke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

We were fortunate to visit the JW Marriott Houston Downtown during our new year's celebration. Upon arriving, everyone was really friendly and went above and beyond to make sure that we were well treated. Even though we had a wait a few hours to get our room ready, the front desk staff provided information through the Marriott Bonvoy application once it was ready.

The one-bedroom suite was quite spacious and comfortable, around 500 sq. ft. The bathroom was worth it, where a bathtub enhanced our experience. The concierge lounge is only open for water and soft drinks at this time due to COVID-19. There are a few amenities available, such as the JW Spa with appointment only and the Main Street Restaurant on the first floor for breakfast and dinner/cocktails. If you book a concierge level room or have platinum and above elite status, you can get breakfast vouchers in your stay. On the other hand, even though there were some issues with hot water availability, the hotel's staff was quick to provide service recovery and made sure that our needs were met.

One important aspect to highlight about this hotel is the excellent customer service provided by each staff member. We noticed how each one of them were working back to back during new year's eve and the new year, and still provided excellent customer service. Jamille at the Main Restaurant / Oscar, Eoin, and Aleina at the Front Desk / Darlene, Pamela at the JW Spa were great during our entire stay. Special recognition to Steven, Gregory, and Jesus in the Main Restaurant & Bar for going above and beyond every single time we met them, and especially during our New Year's Eve celebration.

These individuals and everyone else that is a part of the JW Marriott Houston Downtown certainly make this hotel within the Marriott brand stand out and makes it one of our favorites. We definitely look forward to returning back to this location in the near future and will highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Downtown Houston area.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank besca001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley Fajardo, Marketing at JW Marriott Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

besca001,

Thank you for being our guest and for the amazing review above. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your communication with us while onsite regarding opportunities, so our staff were able to remedy these for you. The team work hard everyday to deliver an exceptional experience and we appreciate you taking the time to highlight their efforts-and by name! We have shared your review internally so everyone is able to see how their efforts directly impact our guests experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Be Well,

Jelle Vandenbroucke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews