We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find!”

Carriage House Cafe
Ranked #970 of 9 037 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: American
Neighbourhood: Greater Heights
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Greater Heights
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Family took me here for Father's Day Lunch. Never been here and never heard of it before. Sad that I didn't know about this place sooner. Neat concept of placing you in a carriage house in 1846 Texas. Carriages were built and repaired on property during that era. Old barn look and feel. Lots of history on display. The food ranges from BBQ to steaks to burgers (fresh ground) to chicken fried steaks. Chicken fried steaks was very good. Small salad bar. Order placed at the counter and seat yourself downstairs or upstairs. Will come back again and try more menu items.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shel7518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We came here for dinner, and everything was perfect ! Good and large steaks, good fries and everything. I really appreciated this place which I recommend !

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Benkookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Authentic 19th century carriage house, several carriages on display, the entire place is worth exploring the antiques and tack & saddle, photos, furniture units and more
The food is very good, includes CFS, CFC, BBQ, burgers, oversized stuffed bakers & more. We think the Chicken Fried Chicken is about the freshest most tender to be found. The full-size CFS will fall over the edge of the plate and take an enormous appetite to finish. There’s a small salad bar, if interested. Various bottled beers & help yourself tea & soda available. You may have to get back in line to get another beer, as the service staff basically is delivering & clearing the food plates. But, if you ask, they sometimes can bring extra beers to you.
We like to go the second & fourth Friday for the free Cowboy music groups. Playing from 6:30/9:30pm. Great old time country music.
Staff is always helpful & friendly. You order at the counter & the food is delivered to your table.
The place is hard to see from the road. No real good signage & not real well lit up at night. The parking is not paved & rainy times can be a bit of an adventure hopping around the puddles to get in/out.
Overall a real great Texas experience & one we bring friends & come back to visit often.
Enjoy!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank TXhome1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

I really liked this place . It was really neat
The chicken fried steak was amazing!!! The mashed potatoes were too

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank LzbthH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Service depends on who's minding the till. The smarter the better. Order and pay as you walk in. Service speed is about right for food that isn't precooked. The salad bar and condiments take a little hunting to find. The atmosphere is awesome if you like antiques, carriages, and horse equipment or just want to experience a little history. Price is reasonable.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thomas77379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carriage House Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Carriage House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing