We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
334
73
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
334
73
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach east beach hot tub bath condo three bedroom beach towels full kitchen picnic tables thought of everything pool deck nice condo boogie boards direct beach access great pool area fire pit bit dated long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent an extended weekend at the Galvestonian expecting to enjoy the beach, our accommodations and the surrounding Galveston area. We were not disappointed. We stayed in a room with two bedrooms. Each had its own bath and privacy. It was quiet and comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked for preparing our own meals and we were close to great places to eat out as well. Great beach access. There were chairs and shade for a fee but we chose to walk along the beach and enjoy the breeze and surf. Staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank jp3469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio O, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear jp3469

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your nice comments. Indeed, our location directly on the beach makes it a unique resort in Galveston. Our team works hard at ensuring every guests has a memorable and pleasant, effortless experience. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us.

Hope to see you back again soon,

Kind regards
Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

I mean it when I say, our trip to Galveston would not have been the same if we stayed anywhere else. The Galvestonian provided endless towels (and when you're traveling with lots of kids, endless towels at the beach is a must!), clean and beautiful premises, and extremely friendly staff. I could try to list every amenity here but the list goes on and on. We took 10 kids and 5 adults and we had a blast! From the beach to the pool to the great rooms, we loved it all!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an ocean view so you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank stephanielfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio O, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Dear stephanielfelix,

Thank you so much for your recent review of The Galvestonian beach resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed and appreciated all the little comforts we provide to enhance your experience and to relax with us. Our secluded and quiet location directly on the beach, which is groomed daily, is a perfect backdrop for our team to continually find ways to be more helpful and ensure that you let go and relax with us. I agree that our staff takes a lot of pride in maintaining an impeccable clean and pleasant facility.

Again, thank you for your comments. I have shared them with the team. It is good to know that our efforts creating an extraordinary experience for each visitor are appreciated. We love our Galvestonian and our guests!

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Overall, it was a quaint place, but for the nightly rate, we expected more. The people at the front desk seemed young and uniformed. When asked about places to eat around town, they didn't know much about the city. In fact, I asked about eating on the pier, and they didn't know if Galveston had a pier. In the room, the front bedroom was plenty cool, but the back bedroom was very warm. Mosquitoes were everywhere, but that's not the fault of the resort. The handles on the faucets in the kitchen were very loose. We had to leave a day early, and at $540 per night, the policy is not to refund any monies. So, we just left anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drtaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio O, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Drtaxman

Thank you for you comments and taking the time to write a review. We are also disappointed and disheartened that we did not deliver our usual high quality of service that we are known for. We are training some new staff who are showing great service potential but obviously not quite as well-trained yet as the rest of the team. I am sorry your experience was not satisfactory.

As for mosquitoes, it can be a common issue on Galveston island and many islands for that matter, We do contract with the top pest control company in Texas for treat for bugs and mosquitoes; they are effective but mosquitoes can breed very quickly after a storm.

It wasn't clear from your comments if you discussed these issues with our staff as we would have certainly made every effort to satisfy your concerns or resolve them in a way that was satisfactory to you.

Again, thank you for your comments; we hope you do give us another opportunity to regain your trust and confidence.

Kind regards,
Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Our most favorite place to spend a week on Galveston Island. Great beach for sunset and sunrise walks. Condos are clean, well appointed and come in a variety of motifs. Great WEB page for viewing availability, decor, and booking. However, off-season specials are generally available only by calling the property directly.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben_Nacogdoches_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio O, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Ben,

Thank you so much for your nice review. I agree that since we are directly on the beach with no big buildings on either side, we have an unobstructed and stunning views of both sunrises and sunsets! We keep the beach in pristine condition and groom it daily so it is nice for walking at any time.

We do promote some specials on our web site and in TripAdvisor from time to time but calling us is another option.

Again, thank you for the review

Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

I have been to several Galveston area hotels over the years. This is my favorite. Right on the beach!! Enjoy sitting on the balcony listening to the roar of the ocean. Also a very nice pool. Have tried various units at different times and was never disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank cat4hou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio O, General Manager at The Galvestonian, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear cat4hou

Thank you for your nice review. Indeed we believe this is the best resort hotel in Galveston, not only because it is beautiful and it is one of the few hotels with a beach (and on the beach) which is cleaned daily, but also because the ambiance is so relaxed and the units are so well-maintained by the condo owners.

We are glad you enjoyed the calming sounds of the surf and the pristine swimming pool. It is a a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews