We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop - but need lessons from California Wine Country on tasting fees”

Barons Creek Vineyards
Ranked #36 of 106 things to do in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Barons Creek Vineyards is a beautiful Italian styled winery with carefully curated wines from all over the USA. Our tasting room offers private tasting experiences for 2 to 20 customers. We have overnight accommodations on the property that are well appointed and ready for any celebration. Our outdoor Pavilion is a great place to tie the knot... with wedding views around our large fountain and exquisite Italian villas. We have a third floor tower experience available by reservation with 360 views of the hill country...
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a cute "winery" in the midst of the growing wine/tourist industry around Fredericksburg. The tasting room is very clean and the people were friendly.
Being from Northern California we were not sure what to expect, but it was worth the stop. In comparison to most California wineries, the relatively steep $18 tasting fee was not waived upon purchasing a number of bottles .. a common practice in CA. LastIy I get they are starting up and need revenue, but the gentleman helping us initially, strongly insisted that our DD have a taste of one wine, and then they charged us $3 for it? It's a learning process here.

Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting room"
in 8 reviews
"le baron"
in 2 reviews
"were greeted warmly"
in 2 reviews
"souvenir glass"
in 2 reviews
"private room"
in 2 reviews
"wine tour"
in 7 reviews
"private tasting"
in 2 reviews
"main building"
in 2 reviews
"great wine"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"texas hill country"
in 2 reviews
"barbera"
in 3 reviews
"reds"
in 8 reviews
"bottle"
in 13 reviews
"grapes"
in 5 reviews
"winery"
in 22 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are wine touring be sure to make Baron’s a stop on your list. The wine is incredible and Victoria made our experience so great she was extremely friendly and answered any question we had, giving us great recommendations to try! Come to Baron’s and ask for her!

Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

The grounds, building and decorations were very well put together at this particular winery. You were greeted by a young woman who explained briefly how the wine tasting is done. I was a little flabbergasted when she quoted $18@person to sample 5 types of your choice of wines! Instead of being given wine in small glasses, she poured a small finger size amount horizontally in a glass! After sampling, she poured your next choice in the same glass! I just don't feel $18 was appropriate for the amount of wine you received. Also if you wanted one glass of wine you would pay between $12-$18. Their bottles of wine were $20-$40. There are more wineries in the area so I'll try a cheaper one next time!

Thank stoogeg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique4u, General Manager at Barons Creek Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

We appreciate your honest feedback and hope you will visit us again. We have $12, $15, $18, $21, & $25 Tastings depending on your group and Private Room setting. We always want the customer Happy and yes our standard is 5 Pours in same Glass with a rinsing between white to red. We always offer an extra 1-2 Pours if you Request at no charge should you desire. Our Glasses Of Wine run between $8-$15 depending on the Wine.

We pride ourselves on high quality wines and yes there are cheaper Winery’s but always want Customer satisfied...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The building is like new (as of our visit in 2017), the staff is both helpful and knowledgeable about their wines, and the wines themselves are pretty good. I hesitate to say that Texas Hill Country rivals California's more mature wine scene, but places like Barons Creek are doing a lot to help progress that image. If you're doing the Hill Country wineries, you need to check out Barons Creek. They offer a good flight deal with a nice souvenir glass. They also seem to have rental properties or rooms on site as well, but I do not have any experience with those.

Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique4u, Owner at Barons Creek Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience! We look forward to serving you at your next visit to Barons Creek Vineyards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

I truly enjoyed the wine and atmosphere here. I am definitely considering becoming a wine club member. Only negative was it was crowded and the server made me feel rushed.

Thank jwtxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique4u, Owner at Barons Creek Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thanks for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience. We hope that it will be less crowded at your next visit and we will be sure to talk to our servers to make sure they are not making the customer feel rushed even if it is a busy day. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barons Creek Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Barons Creek Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing