We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Holiday enjoyed by all!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Longknowe

The house under the hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house under the hills
From the Hill above Longknowe main bedroom queen sized bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The house under the hills
From the Hill above Longknowe
main bedroom queen sized bed
farmhouse kitchen
second double bedroom
view from second bedroom
top sitting room
second sitting room
renovated tiled bathroom and power shower
Front of house -  High Summer
twin beds great views!
looking out from the front door
Shepherd's Wagon, sleeps two can be rented in summer
Inside Shepherd's Wagon
The lane into the hills towards Longknowe - a public byway
Bunk room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kilham, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FarAway73...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday enjoyed by all!”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Superb location. Lovely scenery. A real get away from it all Cottage (just what was needed by the workers in the family!). The children enjoyed playing with all the toys and the dolls house was a particular hit! The Kitchen was well stocked with the necessary equipment. (The only thing missing was a pair of kitchen scissors.) It was the first time we'd used an AGA cooker, but soon got to grips with it. The shops in Wooler stocked all the necessary food items. The nearest beach is Bamburgh about 30 mins ish. Jo Andrews (Owner) was very helpful. We all really enjoyed ourselves from the oldest aged 64, down to the youngest, aged 1 year!
Hope to visit again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
87Piscean...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

As the title a really hidden gem of a cottage, in the most idyllic setting. From every window in the cottage you can see the rolling hills, fields and sheep. The cottage is a real home from home with all the comforts you could hope for. So many places to visit and the walking is something else. The views from the top of the hill are just stunning in every direction. We walked from the cottage to Scotland across these rolling hills, challenging but very rewarding especially with the prospect of a wee dram in the middle of the walk. All the locals are very friendly and welcoming and we really hope for a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you Tim, glad you enjoyed The Longknowe it will be a pleasure to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxLove2Tr...
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - warm and homely, stunning location”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was ou first stay at Longknowe for 1 week in mid-September. It is a gorgeous property finished to a very high standard with all the creature comforts you could wish for together with rural charm and character. It is beautifully furnished and immediately felt like home from the moment we walked in the door. There are fantastic rural views in all directions and not another house in sight, it is wonderfully remote with only the local wildlife for company and just perfect for a peaceful retreat. Our favourite moments were lighting the open fire each evening, learning to cook on the Aga (if you are worried about this then don't be - it is very easy to use and cooks everything so well, now I want one at home!), watching the stars on a clear night (there is so little light pollution here that you can see the Milky Way) and enjoying the local wildlife. It only takes half an hour or so to reach the coast and there are endless places to visit, a week wasn't nearly enough. There are also local walks starting from the house, we spent a full day taking a scenic walk to the nearest pub in Kirk Yetholm which is actually across the border in Scotland. There are lots of maps of the local area at the house as well as books, games and CD's, you can even play table tennis on the huge kitchen table. Jo was very helpful and provided all of the information that we needed, and was always contactable during our stay had there been any problems. There's nothing negative to say - if you like remote and beautiful countryside and want to get away from it all then don't hesitate, just book it. We will certainly be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combination of peaceful and remote yet very comfortable and cosy
Liked least: Having to leave and come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Dear Love2Travel, we enjoyed having you, and I'm glad you enjoyed the remote countryside. Thank you for taking the time to write the review it means a lot to us when guests take the time to tell us about their stay. Please do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RML157
Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in July 2015

The Longknowe is a beautiful property nestled amongst the hills.

As a group of 8 we particularly loved the large kitchen, where many a night was spent having dinner then playing monopoly. I cannot fault the property in any way. We did have some trouble with hot water, which Jo addressed promptly, but this did not in any way affect our stay.

We did a lot of driving to visit various places (Lindisfarne, Seahouses, Bamburgh Castle, Berwick etc) but you can easily spend quality time in the area just enjoying the scenery and walking (one thing I did wish was that we took some long walks from the Longknowe, we only made it as far as Elsdonburn Shank). It might be worth taking an OS map with you if you did want to do some walks (I can't for the life of me remember if there were any at the house so correct me if I'm wrong!) although there is a large map on the wall.

I thoroughly recommend staying here. Jo was very easy to deal with and was prompt in all communication.

Thanks Jo!

ps Sorry for the late review!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Dear Rosie, thanks for the review, I appreciate it greatly! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We do aim to please if we can! There is a shelf full of local maps and walking maps in the sitting room. And do come back - returning guests get a 15% discount, best wishes, Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic M
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third year as a group visiting Longknowe and it did not disappoint.

On Friday we stopped off at Alnmouth on the way and found a gem, the village was lovely and the beach beautiful, we were lucky with the weather and the sun got out for us.

We arrived at Longknowe on the Friday afternoon and found it spotless and ready for our stay.

The accommodation is first class and one of the bathrooms had been modernised, what a lovely job.

Our group love the remote location and the peace and quiet adds to the great experience.

We will be booking again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location, the peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing to report.....
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Thank you Dominic, delighted to have you at the house, I'm glad you enjoyed it and that the new bathrooms was ready for you. Look forward to having you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing