We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Inn going 'full rustic' quickly”
Review of Richmont Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richmont Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2017

The design of this inn is based on the local cantilever barns. The breakfast area is all glass and provides a spectacular view of the valley and mountains beyond. This place has location and ambiance. What it lacks right now is TLC both inside and out. Just a lot of minor annoyances that really detract from that totally carefree feeling, in this case sticking doors and faulty toilet hardware. One major note would be the path to the cottage. It needs work as it could be a major problem to navigate especially after dark. But the fondue dinner in the cottage was really quite nice. Breakfasts and desserts were good. The staff was nice and responsive to some of our concerns. But in the end, a lot of things were beyond management's control. Owners need to bring this property back to it's former glory. Still, the location makes this experience nice.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cincy_BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmontInn, Owner at Richmont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

I would like to thank you for your comments and also to mention that we are working to improve the many "minor annoyances" that you encountered during your stay at the Inn. Thank you for mentioning the sticking doors and the faulty toilet hardware, as these are fairly easy repairs which needed to be addressed. We do have the path lights down to the cafe on a timer and we have double-checked the lighting to assure that those path lights are coming on at the appropriate time. We hope that you will have an opportunity to return and give us another chance to serve you in the future in hopes that we can put our best foot forward. Again, thank you for taking the time to mention these issues and allowing us to make corrections. Personal regards, Susan Hind, Proprietor, Richmont Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017

The owner recently passed away making this particularly difficult to write, and I offer my condolences. Advertised as a luxury Inn, $210 per night. Our first night away from home after my wife's cancer surgery. I wish I had a good review, but our refrigerator and hair dryer were broken and they were not replaced. Bathroom door could not be opened from outside once closed. Balcony appears to be missing a chair. No electricity entire 2nd night, no working generator, no A/C during extremely humid night, no emergency stairwell lighting, pitch black. Some flashlights were broken. One customer was planning to sleep on the couch in the lobby and leave the front door open for circulation. I sent a very nice, sympathetic email only asking for a future 2 for 1 night rate after the problems are resolved instead of money back so it wouldn’t impact them during this difficult time. Long story short, it’s now been 12 days. I called yet again, they said “It was mother nature, nothing we can do” and refused a reduced future rate or a partial refund.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russfuquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmontInn, Owner at Richmont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Mr. Fuquay,
I want to wish your wife a speedy recovery following her surgery and I am sorry that you felt your stay deserved a bad review. Our German made refrigerators, ("Dometic") are free from any noise and also defrost automatically for one hour on a 24 hour cycle. Due to their cutting off to defrost, sometimes guests have reported them as not working properly, however, you never mentioned that yours was not working while you were staying with us, therefore we did not have an opportunity to check it for you. You also made no mention of the hairdryer not working and after you checked out we discovered that the ground fault had caused it to turn off. This may have occurred when the power went out. As for the emergency hall lights on the third floor, we are checking to see if a battery needs to be replaced, however, I might point out that we have requested a "service call" to check our generator and have a better understanding of why it did not automatically start-up when the power went out for approximately two hours. I did confirm that the emergency lighting in the halls on the second floor did work during the outage. Again, had you have called me (my cell number is posted on the front door during the night) I would have suggested that you open the window and the balcony door in the room in which you were staying or moved you to another guest room. Also, we have emergency flashlights in each guest room as a back-up in the event that the power is out and our generator does not automatically work. Unfortunately, as owner of the Richmont Inn, I have no control over power outages that occur and while I understand you felt your stay was interrupted by some of these things you now mention after being denied a complimentary stay for the future, I do wish to thank you for your condolences. I hope in the future should you decide to return to the Richmont Inn, we will do a better job of meeting your expectations and again, I am sorry you felt that we were responsible for your experience. Kind regards, Susan Hind, Proprietor, Richmont Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

The Inn is a beautiful location with well-appointed rooms. We were in the Stickley Room which had a stunning view of the mountains. The room was comfortable though not as clean as we would expect. The seating, bed and bathroom were all very comfortable. The main room of the Chalet was very comfortable also, though it could be cleaner also. The breakfast area was also very stunning with large glass windows that left you felling as if you were in a treehouse. Some of the food service could have been better, but over all above average. The chief negative to the property was the lack of maintenance: dormant water features, broken lights, rotting rails, accumulated leaves and debris on steps and walkways, etc. It becomes obvious that the owners are not putting much into properly maintaining the property. Still, the overall stay was in a comfortable and peaceful environment.

Room Tip: Stickley Room has an unobstructed view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank fmccamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmontInn, Owner at Richmont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

I apologize for your disappointment in our Inn. Unfortunately, my husband who managed the maintenance of our property became very ill and passed away during the middle of May. There is no excuse for our poor maintenance issues, however, we are now working to repair many of the things you mentioned in your review and I hope that you will return to our Inn in the future so that we may have another opportunity to serve your needs.
Kind personal regards,
Susan Hind
Richmont Inn, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Tucked away on the quiet side of the Smokies is a delightful bed and breakfast made in the shape of an Appalachian Cantlever barn. Each of the rooms honors someone who was influential in Appalachian culture. Our room was very comfortable and interestingly decorated, and the breakfasts and evening desserts were delicious.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ma45Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmontInn, Owner at Richmont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate your nice comments and hope you will return another time in the near future. May you have a blessed day. Kindest personal regards, Susan Hind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

This is a nice isolated Inn located high in the woods, I have a problem with the term luxury being used in some descriptions. I will spell out below.

First the pros. I will review the main building and grounds. All rooms are well decorated and roomy, only The Lucy Morgan room has an unobstructed view of the mountains. All other rooms have a forest view. WIFI is strong in all areas.
The bed was comfortable with high end linens. The dining area has a fantastic view of the mountains and golf course below. The inn is warmly decorated with art and has nice reading nooks. Hot breakfast is served at 8 or 9 am with desert and coffee in the evening, all included. The Chalet building we did not enter was more modern and all rooms had fantastic views. Breakfast was good but scrabbled eggs are not gourmet.

Not so luxury:
The grounds around the main building are showing lack of maintenance and care. There is a caving in slate patio roped off with orange tape. The gardens are overgrown and several cascading water features were bone dry and haven't been used in a long time. Leaves and debris have collected over the trails making them treacherous. An observation deck at the top of the main building has a nice view but was scary, shaky and also in need of maintenance.

Though the staff was pleasant and accommodating we did not see the inn owners once during our stay. Attention to detail marks luxury. If there are 2 of three light bulbs out in the bathroom and you didn't notice, if there's a broken blinking clock in the room that can't be reset, if there are rodent droppings on the room deck, if you are served cheese cake with chocolate drizzled over it one night and not the next night, if you are given tea in a coffee cup and coffee in a tea cup, and if you are wearing sweatpants while serving breakfast.... you are not luxury.

The staff did attempt repairs on the light bulbs and clock but they did not notice that the golf course located 1/4 mile away had been closed for almost 2 years. We booked Richmont with intentions of playing that golf course. While the closure of the Laurel Valley golf course is not Richmonts fault, it and the inn are located in the gated community of Laurel Valley. Though the staff might not have known it was closed the Inn keeper should, but we never met them.

Still this is a nice Inn at a good price.

Room Tip: Morgan Lucy is the only room in the main building with a Mt view. The Chalet has amazing Mt views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
6.7 km away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
529 reviews
5.1 km away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
4.6 km away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 km away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2 511 reviews
24.4 km away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
2.2 km away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmont Inn

Address: 220 Winterberry Ln, Townsend, TN 37882-3623
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Townsend
Price Range: R2 285 - R3 928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 room luxury inn minutes from the heart of Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the Knoxville McGhee-Tyson Airport (TYS). Spacious rooms and suites feature spa tubs, wood-burning and gas fireplaces, full breakfast and evening candlelight dessert included with all stays, private balconies with stunning mountain views, and acres of wooded grounds to explore. A Select Registry Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richmont Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing