We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful first experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Meadow Family Campground
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just bought a 5th wheel and, as new RVers, wanted someplace close to home for our first trip. Big Meadows was recommended to us by people from whom we bought our camper and so we made a reservation there. It was a wonderful introduction to camping! Malcolm, Barbara and Greg were friendly and willing to advise, assist, and talk. The campground is a good size, a little less than 100 sites, and accommodates everything from pop-ups to coaches (and maybe even tents) on sites that are either gravel or concrete, back-in to pull-through. All have electric, water and sewer hook-ups, picnic tables, a small patch of lawn and trees for shade. The office has some RV supplies and souvenirs (and ice cream). There also is a laundry room and a bath house, both of which were clean and well kept. Free Wifi is offered and works best when there are not many campers in the campground (good for us, $bad for Malcom and Barbara!). When the campground starts to fill up, wifi access can be difficult. There is a very small fitness room with bikes, a treadmill and an elliptical, the type of equipment you might buy for your home, not necessarily professional grade. They all work, noisily, which lets the office staff know someone is back there! There is a Sunday morning Christian devotional service offered. There is a small water play area for kids but no pool (which was fine with us) but there is a river and river tubing right next to the campground, the entrance to the Smoky Mountains National Park is just down the road, and shopping and activities in Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and Sevierville as well as a Townsend, Maryville and Knoxville are within easy driving range. The other campers were quiet at night and friendly during the day. We were there during the Total Eclipse and Malcolm, Barbara and Greg organized a pot-luck lunch and provided glasses. They also provided recommendations on area restaurants and were helpful with recommendations and advice about future travels. They and their staff also were helpful in getting us into the campground initially, with setup and leaving questions and issues, and with minor repairs. Overall, this was a great introduction to RV camping and we will return. Thanks, Malcolm, Barbara and Greg (as well as Don, Dan and all other staff members)!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Travel_2gether_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Oh my goodness...what a beautiful review and welcome to the "Camping Family"! Our staff strives for excellence in everything and to hear that we provided that excellence service is heartwarming. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards,
Misty - Big Meadow Family Campground

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Stayed here for the 2017 Eclipse. Staff was very Friendly and accommodating . Close to Southern entrance to Smokey Mountains National Park. 18 miles from Pigeon Forge. Sites were level with cable included.Other she had concrete pads. We have a 20 ft travel trailer so gravels fine. Has a splash pad no pool. Only drawback was wi fi was spot. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

This was our first stay at Big Meadow and not our last for sure. The whole family was so nice to us and we really appreciated that so much. Bath houses very clean, playground was awesome and splash pad too. Our camp site was clean and level, very nicely landscaped.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 August 2017

Thank you for your comment. We love our park - but most of all we love our customers! Can't wait to have you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We are locals who camp often in the area. We value friendly staff, cleanliness of campground, sites, and bath house facilities. All of these rare excellent at Big Meadow. Some campgrounds call themselves "family" campgrounds. These folks set the standard. We have already booked to return again. This is the best overall campground in Townsend in my opinion.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Ellejoycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Great campground, people are always friendly and accommodating. We have camped with Big Meadow for over three years and leave our camper there for storage. The grounds are always clean and well kept. The bathrooms are spotless as well as the laundry facilities. I highly recommend camping at Big Meadow. I recommend the concrete sites for long term or in rainy weather.

Room Tip: quite recommend concrete sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.4 km away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
0.8 km away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
520 reviews
1.8 km away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
587 reviews
1.7 km away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
21.1 km away
Bear Cove Village
Bear Cove Village
#16 of 53 in Pigeon Forge
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Meadow Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Meadow Family Campground

Address: 8215 Cedar Creek Rd, Townsend, TN 37882-3345
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned campground located on the quiet side of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in Townsend, TN. Trout fishing, biking and waking trails are footsteps away! Golfing, horseback riding, and tubing are close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing