We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
other travellers have booked this property
Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin
Cabin Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Cabin
Cabin
Hot tub
Deck
Deck
Grill
View
Living Area
Living Area
Living Area
Living Area
Living Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Game Area.
Game area
Game Room
Dining Area
Kitchen
Washer/Dryer
Resort Sign
Resort
Resort
Resort
Resort
Resort
Resort
Resort
Amazing Animals
Hatfield & McCoy Dinner Show
Mad Dog’s Creamery
Five Oaks Riding Stables
Darren Romeo: Magic Beyond Belief
Comedy Barn Theater
Mama's Farmhouse
Xplorie Movie Night
Ripley’s Aquarium of the Smokies
Ripley's Old MacDonald's Farm Mini-Golf
Smoky Mountain Opry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Sevierville, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bubbles20...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We unfortunately had an extremely unpleasant experience during our 3 night cabin stay at Appalachian Lookout. One of the highlights we always enjoy is the hot tub. When we got there the hot tub was 75 degrees and by 10:00pm it had only heated up to 83, so we couldn't use it the first night, the next day it rained and the hot tub sits out in the open(which of course we didn't notice from the pictures or we prob wouldn't have even chosen that cabin), so once again we could not use the hot tub, our last day the power was out all day so we were never able to enjoy the hot tub. Going back to the power being out, we had snow the 2nd night of our stay. The following morning the power began to flicker and so we rushed through making our breakfast and around 11:30 the power went out. At 11:50 we called the eden crest office to inquire about the power outage, they assured us the electric company was already working on it. Now you may be thinking, it's a cabin, surely you have a fire place, at least some warmth, well, we did, an electric one, so a lot of good that did us. We opened several of the blinds to let light in, but of course this let the cold air in too. Now by 3:00 we still hadn't heard anything, still no power, so we call the office again to get an update and find out what was going to happen, as it was getting quite cold in the cabin, we had no hot water, unable to use the fireplace or hot tub, unable to watch tv, no internet basically unable to enjoy any of the amenities for which we paid top $$ for. Their response was they have been in contact with the electric company and they are hoping it will be a couple more hours. We explain it is getting cold and ask if they will provide something for warmth, and some type of lights as we only had 1 flashlight we brought from home. (The cabin had a flashlight but of course it didn't work) they assured us they will take care of us if they have to go out and purchase some heaters for us. Now about 3:30, two maintenance guys show up and they say they will need to get petty cash or a credit card from the office to buy us some heaters and candles or flashlights, and to give them about an hour to return. About an hour or so later, no maintenance guys, but 2 cleaning people stop by and ask if they could get anything for us, they kindly went to an unoccupied cabin and got us a flashlight, some extra blankets and an extra propane tank for the grill. Thank goodness for them! So far the office had promised a lot but done nothing. Now it is approaching dinner time and thankfully we have the grill, of course we couldn't cook what we originally planned, so we had to round up what we could to cook on the grill. Now it is 6:00 and still no maintenance men, no call back from the office. So we call for the third time to find out what's going on. Again they assure us they are doing everything they can to get heat out to everyone. Now it is dark and it is really starting to get cold(it got down to 58 degrees in the cabin) even under the blankets we are freezing. Finally at 7:30pm we get a call that the power WILL NOT BE COMING BACK ON!! AND IT IS AGAINST THEIR POLICY TO PROVIDE HEATERS as they are a fire hazzard. Oh, But they will be happy to move us to another cabin, well actually not even a cabin but a CONDO! so they are telling us they want all of us using 2 flashlights in the pitch black 2 level cabin to gather all of our belongings at 7:30 at night, drive on snow, probably icy roads by now in the dark in an area we aren't familiar with!?(there was a freeze warning and black ice warning in effect that evening) Or we can go buy heaters ourselves, the manager tells us! So it's against their policy to buy heaters, but not for us to go out and buy them? How ludicrous! The manager was extremely condescending and unapologetic. At the mention of some sort of compensation for our discomfort and being lead along all day that it would be fixed, "we don't reimburse for acts of god" well, how about the fact that 2 people from the office and the 2 maintenance people PROMISED to provide us with heat and lights then not until 7:30, EIGHT HOURS AFTER WE LOST POWER. you tell us that's against your policy? According to the contract while they do not "guarantee that utilities will not fail, WE DO GUARANTEE THAT REPAIRS WILL BE MADE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. IN THE EVENT REPAIRS CANNOT BE MADE IN A TIMELY MANNER" then they reserve the right to move you to another cabin. I'm sorry but in whose right mind is EIGHT HOURS a timely manner!!!?? Because of what we were told by your office staff, we chose to wait it out at the cabin and because of that our vacation was ruined- we had no heat, no light, we couldn't enjoy ANY of the amenities we PAID for. How about switching us to another unit at 3:00 in the afternoon so we could have still enjoyed some of our last day in the mountains!? All of these points were brought up to the manager but he kept talking over me to the point I had to say 'excuse me, im talking' and he had the nerve to say that We would rather stay in a cold cabin and freeze than switch cabins! How insulting! We would have been happy to switch cabins 6 hours earlier when it was daylight and warmer and we could see what we were doing and where we would be driving. On top of that, we were checking out the next day, so we would have packed up all our stuff just to go sleep and then leave, what a waste! Don't get me wrong I understand they can't control the weather, but don't make promises you can't keep, and get better communication with your staff since ALL of them are unaware of your "no heaters" policy(which by the way I could not find any such policy in the contract we signed) You would think that since this is the MOUNTAINS, they would be more prepared for the prospect of snow and how to handle these types of situations, but hey what do I know? PLEASE PLEASE take my advice and NEVER rent from this company. They would rather you freeze to death so they can keep your money!! If I was an owner of such a cabin I would feel ashamed of my guests being treated in such a way. I asked for the manager to give the owner my contact information, but so far I have heard nothing back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
We have apologized several times for the disappointment you experienced while staying with us. None of us can predict when weather may cause a power outage, sadly they happen to us all. Unfortunately it is not something we can prevent or predict but we will always take every step we can to help expedite the resolution by communicating the outage to the electric company. We record our phones calls and have reviewed them. Our staff was very professionally and apologetic when informing you that the power outage was due to the storm and that it was beyond our control. We offered to move you several times but you insisted that you did not want to leave the cabin. We delivered flashlights and blankets to you. While we appreciate that a heater would have been nice to have with the electricity out we were not able to safely provide a kerosene heater. We were limited to moving you or providing additional blankets. We did what you requested within the limitations of what we could provide.

We agree that having multiple hours without power is not enjoyable. We are all very fortunate that it was only a few hours and did not turn into days like many natural disasters or storms can cause. We are very sorry that storm hit and caused you so much distress but the best we could do is to offer you a location that was not affected. We are sorry that you had put so much hope on the idea of a kerosene heater being approved and purchased for your use. We wish that you would reconsider accepting our apology since the storm was beyond our control. We would gladly offer you a $75 gift certification for a future stay that could be used at any time over the next two years. We would love for you to give us the opportunity to once again provide you with a superior vacation experience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabot ar
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing