We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Big and beautiful home with all the amenities!!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Big Thunder Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandy W
2 reviews
“Big and beautiful home with all the amenities!!”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

First off, let me tell you that the pictures don't lie! Everything was just as big and beautiful as promised. It is truly luxurious and comfortable. We were a group of 11 and had plenty of room to get together or escape when needed over the 6 days we stayed. The lodge is easy to get to and in close proximity to everything (relatively speaking, with all the winding roads and elevations) that you will want to do.
After a day of hiking, shopping or river rafting (Shout out to Big Bear Rafting!!), it was nice to come back to the hot tub, looking out over the breathtaking mountain views! That was a definite plus, as was the pool table and arcade game downstairs.
For early June, we were pleased that days and nights were comfortable on the deck. The perfect place for coffee in the mornings and rowdy games of trivia at night! Just a note on this-you are in the mountains, surrounded by wildlife. We had a raccoon that came onto the deck nightly and although we never fed it or left food out, he came back every night to see if we had changed our mind! He/she was not afraid of us at all and would saunter into the middle of us like a house cat. We would all scream and stomp our feet and it would run off to bother more accommodating homes/guests.
The only reason I'm not giving this lodge 5 stars is the beds and a few maintenance issues. Some of us found the beds to be too firm and noisy with the mattresses grunting with every move. A few of the door handles were loose, the coffee pot upstairs quit working on day 3 (we brought up the one from downstairs), the smoke alarms went off on night 4 (battery?) and the main TV downstairs never worked (I called maintenance but they never came).
Again, just minor annoyances erased by going out on the deck, taking a deep breath of fresh mountain air and looking out on the beautiful Smokies!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Dear Sandy W,

What a pleasure it was having you stay with us in Big Thunder Lodge! Thank you so much for the terrific review. We try our best to insure our cabins are very comfortable and afford everything you need for a memorable getaway. We will be checking on the condition of the door handles, coffee pots, TV and mattresses so that we can see if these need to be addressed by the owner for replacement. Thank you for choosing Wyndham Vacation Rentals and we look forward to welcoming you back again, soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise Po...
Monrovia, Indiana
1 review
“Big thunder cabin”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Overall our stay was great. The cabin was big enough for the whole family. The views and the wildlife were great. I had read in previous reviews about the beds and leaks and thought that all that would have been taken care of. The beds are still squeaking loud, both showers up and down still leak, the hot tub leaks to the bottom deck which is now moldy from leaking for so long. The kitchen cabinets could use a good cleaning along with the windows. I don't understand to have such a beautiful place that you would let it go and not do the upkeep to keep it looking as beautiful as it should.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Dear Denise Powell P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Big Thunder Lodge. We regret that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance departmens are taking your feedback seriously. We are grateful that you chose to spend your vacation with us. We hope to welcome you and your family back to provide you with an exceptional level of service on your next trip to the Smoky Mountains.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronsmusta...
Lombard, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, needs updating!”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The view at Big thunder is awesome! Plenty of room for our family of 11 adults and 3 kids. However Big Thunder needs updating badly. The decks need updating as the kids were constantly getting splinters from the wood and catching their toes in cracked boards. The beds are terrible. By far the worst I've ever slept on in my life. They have no support and are noisy. Please replace them! We had an issuee with one of the bathroom tubs as well. . They leaked into the ceiling of the bedroom below. We called maintenance and they promptly fixed it. The hot tub outside needs to be replaced. The side of it has fallen apart and looks terrible.Also upon arrival we found it to be dirty and had a sand like substance on the bottom of it. We called maintenance on it and they promptly drained and filled it. A few days later the tub water became cloudy and had a foul odor. We called about it and they said it was a 50$ charge to clean it. That was very disappointing considering we only used it 3 times in a 6 night trip. Overall Big thunder offers great views and it in a great location but there needs to be some updating done to it before I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Dear Ronsmustang54,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We regret that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance department is taking your feedback seriously. . We will be checking on the condition of the decks, hot tub and furniture so that we can see if these need to be addressed by the owner for replacement or repair. We are grateful that you chose to spend your vacation with us. We hope to welcome you and your family back to provide you with an exceptional level of service on your next trip to the Smoky Mountains.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
806suzann...
1 review
“Big Thunder Lodge - Pigeon Forge Tenn”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The unit itself is very spacious. Great for a group of non-related people or many mixed ages. But it is overall in need of updating (decorating and furnishings) as well as some basic maintenance and upkeep. The hot tub is falling apart, the decks and deck furniture need to be cleaned and stained. The shower pan was cracked and leaking into the lower level bedroom. When we called the 800 number they said not to worry about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Dear 806suzannev,

We appreciate you sharing your feedback on your stay with us from your stay at Big Thunder Lodge. Please accept our apologies that the shower had a leak during your stay. We will follow up with maintenance and make sure the shower is repaired and operating correctly. . We will be checking on the condition of the decks and furniture so that we can see if these need to be addressed by the owner for repair. We always want to exceed your expectations and make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible and I am so very sorry that we fell short. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies so that you will see that your visit with us just now is not the norm for our guests.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location.
Liked least: Large cabins that hold 30-50 people being built right next to it. Garbage not cleaned up at the cabin next door.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Dear 919happy123,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback from your stay. I am disappointed that you experienced issues during your visit and apologize that it impacted your stay. It is important for us to ensure that the properties on our program are in their best possible condition for our guests and I apologize that we fell short on not having some of these issues identified and fixed prior to your stay. We will be checking on the condition of the mattresses, stove and couch so that we can see if these need to be addressed by the owner for replacement. We hope that you will return in the near future so Wyndham Vacation Rentals can again be a part of you and your family having a great time in the area.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing