We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation Station”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eagles Nest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zoo42
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation Station”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This lovely log home is clean, homey, relaxing, and well appointed. The beds are soft and comfortable, the view is amazing, exactly as the pictures show. The hot tub is wonderful on the upper deck. I love, love, love that they clean it between guests. The game room is a lot of fun, too! The extra fridge down there would help with a large group. Very Minor issues- difficult to find in the dark as written directions don't work if the small street signs are barely visible in the headlights or behind the branches of trees. No actual address was given...didn't try it in GPS when we finally found it. Washing machine works well, but not at all on cold water setting. The Kroger at the bottom of the mountain is a zoo of tourists but also has a Redbox. The cabin has basic cable but would be nice to have a list of what that is in this area. Slightly annoying to check all the channels and realize your favorites don't come in. It includes the disney channel, history channel, and animal planet but not HGTV. Bring all the groceries you need the first time then just kick back and enjoy the nature around you. Wi Fi was interesting. The rental company didn't have a wifi password on record for this unit. It had fast internet access but no Wi Fi. We had to go to Walmart and pick up an adaptor and 14 foot cable to plug into our laptop. Thankfully, my honey is great with computers to help us with this. Our family would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and cleanliness
Liked least: difficult to find in the dark
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2015
Dear Zoo42,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Eagles Nest. Your review is helpful for future guests coming to stay with us at Wyndham Vacation Rentals. I am truly sorry that you had problems with the internet and since your review we have checked into a password for the internet from the owner and hope others will not have any problem signing in.

We look forward to you coming back in the near future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Sherri T
Assistant General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane W
Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
“Location was great, but the furniture, cable and internet needs to be updated”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The location was very nice with great scenery. The furniture is dated and uncomfortable. The cable needs more options and we could not get the internet connections to work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Scenery
Liked least: furniture and cable options
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Great View!!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is the 3rd time we have visited the Eagle's Nest. It became our favorite cabin in the Smokies due to the fantastic views which are awesome. It is somewhat scary getting to the cabin, as it is on top of a mountain and the rode to get there is pretty narrow with no side rails and a steep drop off. Don't recommend traveling there at night.

However, each time we visit, the cabin shows more wear and tear. The cabin desperately needs some TLC. The wood on the outside of the cabin needs to be resealed and varnished (looks like they used green wood when it was built) as most of the paint is faded and peeling. The first time we visited (7 years ago) there was a rain storm and water poured thru the windows and in between the logs that made up the walls. The carpet was drenched and it looks like it has never been replaced. The TV situation was pretty bad with only basic cable and very few channels (not that we wanted to watch much TV, but it should have been better, for the cost we paid) The couch in the living room needs to be replaced. It is so soft, it seems like you sink a foot when you sit down. The kitchen was a dirty, greasy, sticky yuck. Don't think the floor has every been mopped, even the knobs on the cabinets were greasy.

The owner of this cabin really should to take note and get this cabin back to snuff as the Eagle's Nest has one if the best views of any cabin in the Smoky Mountains.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The unclean kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathans...
Stockbridge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful views but needs TLC”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

THE GOOD: It was clean. The design of this cabin is great. It has an upstairs master with large on suite master bath with jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. There is a beautiful deck to walk out on from the master suite with beautiful views. The whole room is full of windows and at night when the moon is shining in, you feel like you are in a tree house. You could not ask for better. On the main floor, there is a smaller bedroom with an attached bathroom with tub/shower with a door that can be accessed from the living room. The kitchen was clean and well stocked with working microwave and refrigerator. The bottom floor was great with a working air hockey table, pool table and foos ball. It had its own small Flat screen tv on a stand that had an electric fireplace. Very nice touch. Seating was adequate in both the living room and the downstairs and was in good shape. There were ceiling fans on every floor.

THE BAD: I gave this property 2 stars for several reasons. First and foremost, the area is not well maintained and feels overgrown. A portion of the driveway has begun to wash away and a portion of it is sinking. When you walk in the front steps, the steps are loose, faded and very worn as is the porch that greets you. The paint/stain is peeling off all the decks and looks like it has been for some time. The furniture on the decks is old, worn and fading to the point of some of it being very rough to sit on. The whole cabin just needs some TLC. For instance, little things like the light in the refrigerator doesn't work, the Tv's are from the 90's, the coffee pot is not automatic and has to be switched off (probably cost about $19.99 when it was purchased). While I didn't come to watch TV, weather was bad part of the week and it would have been nice to have a big screen HDTV for the price we were paying. The cost of flat screens is so little and HDTV being so prevalent, it would have been nice to have a big screen tv in the liiving room. Instead there were ancient tube televisions in the living room and master that you would not be able to give away in a garage sale. Also, the unit only offers basic cable with about 14 channels. Husbands if you plan on watching ESPN or any baseball or football while you are here, you better hope it is on one of the big 3 networks or you won't be watching it. Very disappointing. There is one TV in the game room that is flat screen (with no HDTV hooked into it) that we were able to hook up a chromecast and watch netflix so it wasn't a total loss. I didn't notice it from the pictures but once you get here, the first thing you notice is the commercial grade ugly brown carpet throughout the cabin. I have stayed in a lot of cabins in Pigeon Forge and this took the cake. It is unattractive, has wrinkles and burns in it and for the price, one would expect hardwood floors or at least some attractive carpeting. The cabin is so beautifully designed, it is beyond belief that this kind of commercial industrial grade carpet would be put in it. Plumbing was also an issue. In order to get the toilets to flush, you have to hold the handle down until the flush is complete and even then it doesn't always work. There is a full bath in the game room and the toilet gurgles and has air bubbles coming up through it. Don't know what that is about. It rained pretty hard a couple of days and there were leaks from the third floor, master that ran down into the main floor. I notice it was probably coming from the door that leads to the deck in the master. I notified the management about the toilets and the water leaks but never heard from them. Finally, this unit is equipped with wifi in spite of what the amenities states in the description. I don't know why they didn't want to say it had wifi but it does and I was able to connect to it via the WPS button on the router in spite of them arguing with me that it wasn't equipped with wifi. I have to work some while I am here and WIFI was extremely important to me. It is my fault for not reading the description better but suffice it to say it worked out.

CONCLUSION: We had a good stay but for the money and in comparison to others I have stayed in, I expect a lot better and i will not stay here again. Everything I mentioned could be remedied within a couple of days and not a whole lot of capital outlay. For this price, you should get more TV channels (not expecting or wanting showtime, hbo but at espn etc) and I was very disappointed that I missed a lot of football. The carpet issue is more aesthetic than anything else but it is ugly and I would have looked elsewhere if I had noticed the flooring in such a beautifully designed cabin. This place has beautiful views and deserves some TLC. Hopefully, whoever owns or manages it will make the corrections because it could easily be a 5 star property

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Beautiful views from the decks
Liked least: Old TV in the living room, Minimalist cable channel offering, Ugly carpeting, toilet problems, leaks
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
from
US$129
/ Night
Book Now
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing