We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
What a find.

We recently traveled through Nhill on a Friday. I disappeared to the craft shop while my husband... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2019
Bosnix42
,
Wagga Wagga, Australia
via mobile
What a surprise

What an amazing achievement by local people- this shop has apparently been going for 40 years... read more

Reviewed 27 November 2018
Kartigi
,
Mansfield, Victoria, Australia
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
10
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2019 via mobile

We recently traveled through Nhill on a Friday. I disappeared to the craft shop while my husband bought the paper. I was in awe of the items so lovingly made by hand and happily spent my money. What really blew me away was the cooking. Every Friday they have cakes, slices, sausage rolls etc and sponge cakes to die for. We are still enjoying the raspberry jam. Wished I’d bought more. I had to drag my husband in for a look. Thank you to the lovely volunteers manning the shop.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Bosnix42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2019

Don’t miss the opportunity to pick up some great tasting homemade treats such as sausage rolls and pasties(unfortunately cold only), great cakes and slices at this community run shop. Some good craft if that’s your thing. Home grown vegetables too.
Volunteer staff are friendly and prices very reasonable.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank part0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2018

What an amazing achievement by local people- this shop has apparently been going for 40 years. Tables were full of freshly baked yummy biscuits, slices, and cakes. There were also preserves. And the craft items! Many soft toys that would delight youngsters, baby wear, quilts and more. Prices most reasonable. Well done!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Kartigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Too many tasty sweet slices, biscuits and cakes to mention. You will find delicious home made sweets and a small selection of savoury items, like sausage rolls, toasties, pasties and other. My favourite are the yoyo's and ginger sponge roll. Visit and I'm sure you'll add your own favourite. Stop whilst travelling through to Adelaide for a quick take away sweet snack to go with the thermos you packed in the picnic basket, and before you head to the local park on Adelaide side of town, or the local Nhill Lake, have a gander at the huge selection of home-made craft items. Many hand knitted articles and a quaint tea cosy collection. Had one made for a friend and collected on next trip.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 967traceyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Lowana is an institution in Nhill, and rightly so as it beautifully displays local craft work of amazing variety along with plants, cakes etc to die for. Competitively priced knitted dolls and football mascots are a highlight. A must see when coming to or driving through Nhill - never disappointing.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank pamela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews