We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Halls Gap Caravan Park(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gariwerd Motel(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halls Gap Valley Lodges(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$167
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grampians Pioneer Cottages(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$85
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kookaburra Motor Lodge(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$115
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grampians Eco YHA(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$58
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Tim's Place(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
523
282
86
20
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
282
86
20
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemon treeresident kangaroodeluxe roomonsite restaurantfamily roombeautiful locationspacious groundsfree wifiamazing viewsone night staybit datedviews of the mountainsfront lawnkangaroos grazinggreat place to stayroad tripwonderful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 940 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice location but room needs an overhaul. From broken door knob on the wardrobe, to wiring hanging loose above the door, to carpet in need of replacement, the room was a bit of a let down. Bathroom recently renovated and was good. Restaurant was closed and only a continental breakfast was available. It was much better when I stayed here last 3 years ago and appears to have let to run down somewhat.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TBownAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad Q, General Manager at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry about the problems you encountered, we are in the middle of doing repairs where needed. Staff are meant to notify us of some of your concerns to be fixed forthwith. We are updating as needed but at least we don’t downsize on the size of our rooms compared to newer ones today. We have the Restaurant opened for breakfast and dinner most days. But we have been also revamping somethings in the kitchen. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is tired, it is still in the 60s or 70s when it was built, needs upgrading, we had a deluxe spa room, the bed needs replacing, the base was broken, bathroom old, light fittings broken, old bedside clock radio broken but not removed, air conditioner noisy, curtains torn. The upside the grounds were nice and plenty of Wild life around. Don’t know how it ever got a 4.5 rating

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad Q, General Manager at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Elaine for taking the time on your first trip advisor post. I am unsure where the 4.5 rating came from. We are 3 to 3.5 rating. I have made enquiries about your bed with the staff but it would appear nothing was reported so I will follow up for it to be repaired or replaced along with your other concerns. We have upgraded since the 60s and 70s and continue to do so. Anyway thanks again but it is hard to go past our price and quality Restaurant with dinner and fantastic breakfast available or our licence bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very clean with a great view. The electric blankets were a bonus for the very cold overnight stay. The dinners were cooked to perfection and the breakfasts were a lovely filling to start the day. Brad and the staff made us feel very welcome during our stay and was enjoyable to see the kangaroos, emus and other wildlife on the surrounds of the grounds. We'll be looking forward to our next stay the next time at Halls Gap. Keep up the great work. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulandTara3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad Q, General Manager at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you it is so pleasing to see happy and satisfied guests. We appreciate all comments and WE don’t canvas the filling in of guests posts at our Motel, thank you again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

This was an extremely disappointing experience. The motel was shabby and in bad need of an update. The first room allocated air conditioning not working, remote control of tv kept falling apart and felt and looked very grotty. I went to complain and was allocated another room which was marginally better, the air conditioner was efficient but the electric blanket was not working, no toiletries in the bathroom and again the room was in bad need of some freshening up.
Staff were helpful but there was only so much they could do. How they claim 4 1/2 stars is beyond me, it barely warrants 1 star.
We decided to leave a day early, thus far we have not received a refund, we left at 10.30, 30 minutes later than the cut off time to receive a refund.
Would NOT recommend this motel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad Q, General Manager at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thank you Mr. S. for you review. I would like to correct some of your statements. Firstly we are 3 Star not 4.5 you claim. As you state in your t/a bio you are a luxury traveler then we are surprised you stayed at our establishment. We did get your complaint about half of the electric blanket not working at approx. 6.0 p.m. and our staff member offered to change it then but you said tomorrow would do and it was changed first thing the next morning. I am unsure why you thought there was no toiletries but there definitely was.
Our notes clearly showing you leaving at approx 1.00 pm and the reason was given as raining so we might as well go but certainly not 10.30 am
I believe you did comment that our meal was great, it would be good to have seen that acknowledgment though. What about our 12 acres of wildlife, great bar etc. We do take your comments on board that you believe the room was not up to your standard. I can possibly see why you thought that as we are a 3 Star not 4.5 Star you believed. We are also not a luxury Motel and you being a luxury traveller we can understand some of your opinions but I would have thought our more than reasonable prices perhaps may have alerted you to your oversight! Anyway Mr S. enjoy your travels and we hope you check your facts before adding comments to others trying to do there best to satisfy. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Motel is located well away from Halls Gap halfway to Lake Bellfield so no noise from rowdy campers or sauced-up backpackers. Deluxe Room was very spacious. Beds very comfy. Aircon kept the temperature comfy. Bathroom spacious.

Place was reasonably clean but the curtain showed signs of many many hands, so these are in need of a good wash. Carpets same - clean but could do with a steam-clean.

Kettle, bar fridge and microwave oven for tea/coffee making very adequate. We would have liked to have a bit more equipment to make sandwiches and some taller glasses for enjoying a sundowner beer.

TV signal was too weak to be any good.

There is wifi but seems not to be connected to the nbn yet so connection speed is low and in the evenings it is totally congested in peak season. Unfortunately phone reception is marginal too so very limited internet access. Halls Gap's reception is strong but the motel is on the fringe (Telstra).

Restaurant: We had fillet steak and apple pork belly, I thought the pork belly was better. Nice and crisp on the outside and succulent inside. Skin wasn't bubbled crackling but smooth and crispy crackling, first time I saw it done like that and it was very nice. We cleaned our plates, not a scrap left over. Dessert was apple crumble; my wife makes a top crumble so it is unfair to compare against that but it was nice nevertheless. Breakfast we had egg benedict; as good as it gets.

Just outside the dining room there lives a big male grey kangaroo who eagerly awaits to be treated with bread.

I thought the room rate and restaurant price was about average.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad Q, General Manager at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for comments. We are organising carpets etc to be steam cleaned now that we are not full every night now. We have had problems with cockatoos chewing our cables and we will shortly be putting cocky proof conduit up. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews