We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a lovely stay and everything we needed at...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodges

The Blue Wren Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge The Kingfisher Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
244 reviews
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Local wildlife near The Lodges
The Pinnacle lookout
Halls Gap
Local wildlife in the gardens of The Lodges
Emu
McKenzies Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Halls Gap, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 244 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jessica S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a lovely stay and everything we needed at The Blue Wren Lodge.”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a lovely stay at The Blue Wren Lodge and will definitely be back! We were welcomed with a basket full of goodies - wine, chocolate, bread and more. The place was very clean and had a few nice luxuries including a spa, fireplace, our own little BBQ area where the wildlife literally came up to our doorstep in the evenings. Great amenities (iron, hair dryer, bath robes). It's also located on the main street, a couple of minutes from the bakery, local store, ice cream parlor, all the wonderful walking tracks and just a short drive to the beautiful Mackenzie Falls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and it was a great size for two people.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Thanks Jessica for your lovely review on The Blue Wren Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“True luxury”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

In somewhat inclement weather the quality of the accommodation at the Blue Wren made it an enjoyable stay nonetheless. Very well appointed & very comfortable. The Kangaroos & cockatoos at the back door was an added bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Hi Julie, thanks for taking the time to do a review on The Blue Wren Lodge, it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
confused9...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation marred by log fire”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have visited the Lodges. Last time it was to the Blue Wren lodge in better weather. This time it was to Kingfisher Lodge, but the weather was cold and very wet. We therefore tried to use the "log fire". It proved both difficult to light, to keep alight and to give off any effective heat. An electric fire would have been far more effective and appreciated. Aĺl the other previously mentioned benefits eg location, wildlife, spa and comfortable bed was there in abundance. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had trouble with the wood fire, once lit we have never had trouble with it giving out heat or to keep it going. The flu was only recently cleaned out so that would not have been an issue. The wood fire should have been okay but both levels of The Kingfisher does have split system heating as well. We will monitor the fire with future guests to see if they have issues with it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy!”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the Blue Wren house - great open fire place and tall ceilings and tin roof - was really cosy while it was raining outside.

Kangaroos and birds come right up to the door and eat from your hands!

House had everything we needed for a relaxing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Hi Peter, thanks for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Blue Wren Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran C
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home without the maintenance”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at The Kingfisher 4 times and each stay was equally enjoyable. It is very clean, comfortable with many extras provided, such as a welcome basket with breakfast items and other goodies.
There are DVD's and novels to relax with, as well as brochures on the Grampians. The fire keeps you warm in the cooler months.
The kangaroos and birds will often come and 'visit' and like to have their photo taken.
It is located within easy walk of restaurants and the local shops.

We would recommend this property to any couple coming to Halls Gap.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
We certainly appreciate our return bookers and are glad you enjoy your time at The Kingfisher Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;