We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodges

The Blue Wren Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge The Kingfisher Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
251 reviews
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Local wildlife near The Lodges
The Pinnacle lookout
Halls Gap
Local wildlife in the gardens of The Lodges
Emu
McKenzies Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Halls Gap, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 251 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nixxypies
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Perfect little break”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at the Kingfisher lodge to get away from the hustle and bustle of Melbourne. We had recently visited New Zealand and missed the serenity of the country side - and this lodge helped us fall in love with Australia again. The owners were very welcoming, sending an email and calling to ensure we had the arrival instructions, which were easy to follow. We arrived to a beautiful lodge which was spotlessly clean. The kitchen was well stocked (better than our own kitchen!) and the king bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and again very clean. We loved the wildlife in the garden, lots of friendly kangaroos, kookaburras and parrots, and driving around on an evening there were huge deer and hundreds of kangaroos. It was amazing. Sadly we were there during a storm but it was a good excuse to spend the morning in bed listening to the rain against the cabin and watching the saddest kangaroo ever sitting in the field outside getting soaking wet and clearly feeling very sorry for himself! Despite this we still managed to get out and have a nice walk in the hills, coming home to a jacuzzi bath and wood burner was the perfect autumn evening. We ate at the Quarry restaurant the first night and the food was average, I feel they chose quantity over quality so we stayed in and cooked on the second night which was lovely. We loved our stay and would not hesitate to book again. It's a lovely break away from the city where you are very close to nature.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to do such an extensive review. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherilyn...
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So impressed - absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Blue Wren was our favourite accommodation on our Grampians-Great Ocean Road holiday - so glad we stayed two nights here rather than just one. From the moment we arrived, we were so impressed with everything. The villa has a great layout and was absolutely spotless. The attention to detail was just brilliant, from the little torch at the keypad, to the binoculars and umbrellas by the front door, the breakfast basket, information brochures, and of course the little wrens! The rooms are all very generously sized, especially the living areas and ensuite. Only suggestion would be to add a full door to the ensuite as the saloon doors let a lot of light in to the bedroom early in the morning (not a huge deal, just thought I'd give the feedback!).

It is a very pleasant 5 to 10 minute walk into town (depending on your pace) but we felt like we were in the bush somewhere, it was so quiet and peaceful. Even the other villa was barely noticeable - it feels very private. The screens and blinds on the huge picture windows in the living areas and bedroom were excellent. We had a mob of kangaroos visit in the evenings and mornings, and lots of birds too. One evening we even had a huge deer drop by!

Halls Gap is a lovely little town, and the perfect place from which to explore the wonders of the Grampians. The visitors centre is worth calling in to, as they have some great maps of the area. Some great places to eat close-by too (the pub is excellent).

Thank you Peter for a wonderful stay, we hope we can visit again. Oh and a extra thank you for including the voucher for a free loaf of bread from the local bakery in the brekky basket - it was delicious!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, tranquility, bush setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Thank you for such a comprehensive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Melanie”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our 2nd visit to this absolutely stunning property. Attention to detail & a fantastic vista make this one of the best places to stay in Halls Gap. Thank you Peter!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony N
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Pictures do not do this property justice. its so much better”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This property is one of the best if not the best we have stayed in over the years and we have travelled and rented cottages etc in Britain and Europe. The position in Halls Gap, the wildlife the views and the facilities inside the property were outstanding. Well done to the owners in making this 2 night stay for us so memorable. Wish we could have stayed longer and will certainly recommend to our friends and relatives as well as hopefully return ourselves one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything especially no smoking and no pets
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thanks for taking the time to do a review. We will have to get better pictures.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Had a lovely stay at this B&B. Just a few minutes walk to the main street of Halls Gap. B&B was surrounded in beautiful bushland with kangaroos everywhere. Spacious interior with great spa bathroom.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing