We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A welcome return to an 'old friend'.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodges

The Blue Wren Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge The Kingfisher Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
244 reviews
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Local wildlife near The Lodges
The Pinnacle lookout
Halls Gap
Local wildlife in the gardens of The Lodges
Emu
McKenzies Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Halls Gap, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 244 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leerich20...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A welcome return to an 'old friend'.”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a return visit. The Lodge is of a very high standard, and immaculate. Great care and attention has been paced to ensure you have a wonderful stay. In addition to the cosy lodge is the abundance of wildlife in your back yard. Lee

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyJ201...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have visited the lodges on several occassions it seems to be our annual trip, it is so relaxing and such a beautiful place to stay.
We had several visits from the kangaroos and cockatoos which was lovely.
We look forward to returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The open fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissylo...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Exceptional hospitality with no detail overlooked”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Blue Wren which is a one bedoom cottage. The communication with Peter prior to arrival was thorough and prompt and the cottage exceeded our expectations in terms of every detail being covered. You can clearly see that the owners really care about thier guests experience as they made sure that everyting was in place for a no fuss stay, including a selection of board games and books. The breakfast hamper inclued a great bottle of red wine from a local winery and a voucher to take to the local bakery for a fresh loaf of bread. The kitchen is well equipped and even had a tea pot! We particularly loved that a local mob of kangaroos seem to have chosen a patch of grass in the yard as the spot to sun themselves each morning. We woke to around 10 roos just lounging about and they were accustomed enough to people to allow us to hand feed them which was a real treat. We would definately bring international visitors back here to get a taste of Australian nature. Loved this place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rand38474...
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay, definitely recommended”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Kingfisher, and it was a great place to stay. We stayed for a week, and upon arrival there was a basket of food and drinks, which makes it much easier to not have to do too much shopping on the first day. Immediately surprised at how close all the wildlife was; deer, kangaroos (and joeys), and beautiful birds. Really struggled to come up with anything they could have done better; the owners have really put a lot of thought into the two places. Definitely will come back again, thanks to the owners!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Only Place to Stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a private weekend away as a couple. When we arrived at the Lodges (we stayed in the Kingfisher) we were greeted with a basket of goodies (Tim Tams, Cereals, Wine, Bread Voucher etc). The quality and cleanliness of the Kingfisher was second to none. Spacious for two, a fireplace downstairs, comfy lounges and a weel decked out kitchen with all you need. Reverse cycle Heater / Aircon both upstairs and downstairs for immediate heat. We were greeted by the kangaroos, cockatoos and "Big Boy"- the grandmaster of Kangaroos standing taller on his back legs than the host. Peter was fantastic and made sure all was good. Upstairs had one of the best spa and bathrooms- again spotless. The telescope upstairs was also great for looking up to the mountains. We can not get back to visit soon enough and are already planning our next dates in the calender.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going Home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;