We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”
Review of Beechworth Bakery

Beechworth Bakery
Ranked #4 of 7 Quick Bites in Beechworth
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: It's here, in Beechworth, that our bakery and our traditions began. Steeped in history as this town - and this region - is, it's a great place to live, work and visit. Making the most of two historic buildings sitting side by side right in the centre of town, the original Beechworth Bakery was established in 1984. Since then the bakery has carried on the original vision and passion for customer service and quality product, which runs through the foundation of all our bakeries. We hope you enjoy your visit to Beechworth, and warmly invite you to our bakery - your home away from home.
Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

No smiles or greetings. Despite eating in, coffee served in takeaway although ceramic mugs evident. Breakfast served in paper bags. Food underwhelming. Told the rest of our party to go elsewhere. Sad since this place had a reputation that we heard about in Cairns North Qld

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank MaryAnn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechworthBaker, General Manager at Beechworth Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

We are so sorry to have disappointed you during your visit, MaryAnn! No smiles or greetings is well below the high standards that we set for ourselves, and we sincerely apologise.
We are operating with disposable packaging as we are still building up to business as usual again. For now, this is the most COVID safe option for our business model. We are continually reviewing our operations and how we can be doing better. We hope we get the chance to see you again. Kindest regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1 322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1 322 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2021 via mobile

Unfortunately, I cannot report on our experience, due to the disorganised method of entry into the shop!
The bakery’s response to covid-19 regulations stipulates there are 40 ppl allowed in the bakery. Yet, there was a queue to the cash register of about 12 ppl reaching out to the footpath. When I asked one of the shop assistants why we couldn’t go in and look around (as 40 ppl were allowed in the bakery and only 12 at the most were there already) she said we could do that when we were in the queue! But, I suggested, we would lose our place in the queue if we did that, wouldn’t we?! She shrugged her shoulders and smiled sweetly.
Then a woman and her child joined the queue - in front of me! No apology, just a feigned shock reaction! With that, I collected my husband (!) and decided to go elsewhere. In fact, we took a further detour to the Milawa bakery about 10kms away and found delicious ham/salad wraps to take on our trip back to Melbourne. Lovely little town: do visit. Especially if you like cheese & wine! We ended up spending over $100 during our visit!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank 587SallyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechworthBaker, General Manager at Beechworth Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2021

We are so sorry to hear of your experience with our queuing system, 587SallyD! This must have been very frustrating. Our current queuing system was made in accordance with COVID19 requirements, having one flow of traffic in and out, whilst also enabling social distancing in store. We do appreciate any feedback around this, and yours has been passed straight on to Beechworth management to review. We are very sorry to have disappointed you and do hope that you decide to try us again in the future. If you would be willing to give us a go, please reach out to us at welcome@beechworthbakery.com.au, with your postal address. Kind regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2021 via mobile

Extremely rude staff and boring bland food. I was reminded to put a mask indoors when people were walking through without a mask no issues. Please have a consistent approach to this please so it does not seem as if you are picking on certain people. Food was terrible, boring bland and took a lifetime to be served. Cannot see the hype at all I was appalled by the rudeness of the staff and their inept serving skills, a smile and hello would not go astray. I do not see how the exorbitant prices are justified, my local bakery is way better value. Stay away!

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank danielagZ3183DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechworthBaker, General Manager at Beechworth Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2021

We are so sorry and disappointed to hear about your experience with us. This does not at all sound like the high standards that we set for ourselves, and we sincerely apologise for falling short on your visit.
If you would be willing to share more with us, like what day you visited and the product you purchased, it would help us to address these issues appropriately in store. You can reach us at welcome@beechworthbakery.com.au if you would like to provide further details. We would also like the opportunity to provide your next visit on us, if you might consider giving us another go. Please include your postal address if you decide to do so. Kind regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2021 via mobile

It’s been quite some time since I experienced such slow service and woefully insipid burnt coffee. I can’t bring myself to come back here ever again.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank AquaticNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechworthBaker, General Manager at Beechworth Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2021

We are so sorry to hear about your very disappointing experience, AquaticNomad! This does not sound up to our high standards at all and we sincerely apologise. I will pass this feedback straight on to our Beechworth Management team. If you would be willing to give us another go, please reach out to us at welcome@beechworthbakery.com.au with your postal address. We would love the opportunity to provide your next visit on us, and give you the experience you had every right to expect in the first place. Kind regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

We had several stops at the bakery, their croissants and beestings are delicious. A must go in Beechworth!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Babeth1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechworthBaker, General Manager at Beechworth Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Thank you so much for the review, Babeth1969! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beechworth Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Beechworth Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.