We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
42
26
14
15
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
26
14
15
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great times community feel job centre different countries the location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Made long term friends and felt really at home. Cleaners constantly working to try and keep the place clean. Great location just 2 minutes from the beach great bars cheap places to eat every night. 20 minute fast ferry into the city lots of places to shop and a supermarket just minutes away

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank HannahAnnette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardrider B, Owner at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your time here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

I mean, its not the cleanest place have ever been to but this hostel grew on me more than anywhere I have ever stayed before. At first I was skeptical, but after a few days here I grew to love the place. There really is such a sense of community here and you become friends with everyone else staying here, long and short term. The cleaners are always out and about working, and there are always people upstairs on the balcony hanging out. I met some great friends and really loved being directly in the center of Manly - the location is seriously perfect.

Room Tip: It will be loud as it is a backpackers right on Manly's main road. But get out there and make friends!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardrider B, Owner at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that, overall, you enjoyed your time here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

I stayed here over the New Year holiday and absolutely fell in love with Manly and Boardriders hostel. Board riders is right next to the beach, not like a block away, like right in front of : ) The location couldn't be more ideal. The rooms are spacious, some offering a balcony overlooking the Corso. There are plenty of places to wine and dine around, some more casual spots with live music. My favorite bar though is the Boardrider roof top BYOB bar. It's fun, great music and cost efficient for someone on a backpackers budget. I also met some amazing people on that roof top from all over the world.

If you're looking for a quiet night in, I would recommend asking to be roomed on the 1st floor. The first time I stayed there I was on the first floor and it was quiet as can be.

All in all I had a beautiful and great experience at the Boardrider's!

Room Tip: For a quiet night ask to be put on the 1st floor. If you love yoga head to Power Living right down the street!
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardrider B, Owner at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thanks for the review, Jenny. You're always welcome here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Really fun and social hostel with weekly entertainment. Every day there's people around to surf with, play volleyball, snorkel, or hike. And most nights there's something going on, whether it's comedy night, rooftop concert, BBQs, night out at bars, and there's even a BYO bar on the roof to help you save money. It's also the perfect location, as it's just a minute from the beach as well as all the shops and restaurants on the Corso. If you want to be around lots of fun people and a great social atmosphere in a central location, this is the place.

Room Tip: If you're a girl, ask for a female room (they're nicer) :)
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

HI Christina,

Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

The guests of this hostel are from all over the world but mainly English and Canadian. Most of them seem to be long term residents. First impressions i was not happy. The residents are Very messy and dirty. Rooms and kitchen are a disgrace. The young people are friendly enough just seem to be only concerned with drinking and sex to be concerned with the mess they live in. So coming into this was not very nice. I survived 3 nights tho. The bathrooms are ok and  the staff. 
I suggest the hostel invests in decent room storage for the guests if there's room or ask the long term residents to have a clean up once a week.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank Stuart I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardrider B, Owner at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Thank you feedback and your suggestion regarding storage: good idea. People do want to stay here for long periods of time, and so we have our fair share of long-termers. As this is a backpacker, individuals share the responsibility of keeping things tidy; however we do Spring clean from time to time to try to alleviate the clutter. Sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews