We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Cwtch”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pencoed, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caralley9...
1 review
“The Cwtch”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Cwtch for a weekend at the start of October. The place was very modern and a perfect size for a couple located in the lovely grounds of the old rectory. The property was exceptionally clean and to a high standard. We received a five star treatment during our stay with a meat/cheese board, bottle of wine and many other treats on arrival. The gorgeous Cwtch enabled us to have the relaxing and cosy weekend that we needed. During our stay, we took a trip down to the Gower Peninsula and went to the 'Three Cliffs Bay' then on to Rhossilli, this was the show stopper. The views were incredible and only about an hour drive from the property.

We would definitely recommend taking a trip here and no doubt we will be back again ourselves one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Sue and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us recently and that you enjoyed our welcome pack, which we believe is the best way of welcoming our guests, many who have travelled some way to South Wales and “the Cwtch”. We are glad that the weather was kind to you as well and you were able to enjoy the delights of the Gower (which is such an easy journey from our location and close proximity to the M4) and there are so many other exciting places to visit, when you come next time.

Many thanks
Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The extras you don't normally get. The thick bath sheets and hotel quality bed linen. The bathroom products and the thick floor rugs. The welcome pack.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Sue and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us at The Cwtch, it was a shame that the weather was not better and you could not have stayed longer.
Our welcome pack is an important part of our cottage letting experience and we are glad that you enjoyed everything that we provided.
There is so much to see in this part of south wales and so near the capital with all that Cardiff has to offer, but we were pleased that you had the opportunity to explore our gardens, and the historic church, site of the roman camp and castle mound behind the cottage.
We hope that you have a safe trip home and so pleased that we were able to have been included as one of the highlights of your UK tour.

Many thanks
Steve and Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
973daisy
basingstoke
2 reviews
“All you expected and more!”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderful place to stay, 10 minutes from motorway but feel as if you are in middle of nowhere, Very well equipped and comfortable, Hosts Steve and Sue very helpful. Ideal base for sightseeing and shopping. Welcome hamper very much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you both for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the benefit of being close to the M4, which was great for your sightseeing trips around this stunning part of South Wales.
We look forward to welcoming you back at any time
Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali B
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The most amazing place”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at the Cwtch for three days over August bank holiday weekend. From start to finish we could not have asked for anything more. The cottage is totally beautiful and the attention to detail is outstanding. Everything is of the best quality and the little touches, like the welcome pack and the kindness of the owners, make it even better.
The house is in a small hamlet and offers total peace but is just half an hour away from the centre of Cardiff so you really get the best of both worlds.
We will be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Sue and I are so glad that you enjoyed the food hamper and your stay with us and also for your very kind comments. We are glad that you were able to do so much and found our location perfect for travelling to Cardiff and the stunning beaches of the Gower
It would be a delight to welcome you back at any time and look forward to seeing you soon.
Many thanks Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCarroll1...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Brilliant - Steve and Sue - 11 out of 10 on form and function”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Steve and Sue have covered everything here. The presentation is stunning - something out of a great design magazine. It is well equipped, roomy enough, has creature comforts, quality in everything, a lovely setting. This is an absolute "stand out" property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful and comfortable - delightful in fact.
Liked least: no EE signal, wifi was a bit iffy, nearest preferred town Cowbridge but Pencoed had most required.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Many thanks to you both for you very kind comments and we are so glad that you found everything that you needed for your stay in the South Wales leg of your three month uk tour. It makes all the hard work worth while when guests enjoy their stay with us and give us an outstanding review as you have and we would love to see you again if you visit South Wales in the future.
Enjoy the final few weeks of you trip in the uk and have a safe journey home.
Best wishes
Steve and sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing