We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you are looking for a noisy place to stay this...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Welshpool, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colin G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“If you are looking for a noisy place to stay this is the wrong holiday for you!”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We enjoyed a 2-night break in the Shepherd's Hut to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had a really lovely stay. The accommodation, though relatively small by the very nature of it, was spacious enough for the two of us. Set in the beautiful hills of Powys and with views to simply die for, this is an experience to be repeated, without a doubt.
we ate in local pub/restaurants for our evening meal, and the food was delicious. I can recommend both the Dolphin at Llanymynach and the Horseshoe Inn at Arddleen, both of which are only a short distance from the site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts and great location.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarylP
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful country getaway”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I booked to stay in the hut for two nights to get away from city life and it was just what the doctor ordered! A stunning location with breathtaking views of the Welsh countryside, including a lovely and lively pond just outside the front door! The hut itself is fantastic; compact and cosy but with everything you could need to make your stay comfortable including a powerful shower and very comfy bed plus little details like a hairdryer and games to play on a rainy day. A lot of thought has gone into everything and it really shows.
Charlotte and Martin made us feel extremely welcome and were great at answering any questions we had about anything!

We hope to be back soon for another getaway! Thank you both x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
It was a pleasure to have you stay, and look forward to you visiting again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diverjohn...
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Briliant!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Last minute booking, very very nice people, great shepherd's hut the design and quality of hut was A1, you're really made to feel welcome, very good breakfast, plentiful too.
We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the people there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belinda74...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful weekend escape”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Shepherds Hut for 2 nights in February 2016. We wanted a quick break to get away from city life. Charlotte made the booking process very easy and sent detailed instructions on how to find the farm.

We arrived around 6pm on the Friday evening and Charlotte quickly showed us the workings of the hut. The weekend was a surprise for my partner who is not really a keen Glamper but he was very impressed with the hut. The hut is beautifully made by Charlotte's husband and the attention to detail and workmanship is second to none, it as a wonderful compact on suite bathroom and comfortable double bed. There is everything you need from toiletries in the bathroom, bottled water & tea and coffee. Charlotte changed the towels and replenished the fire wood each day and made sure we had everything we needed. The wood burning fire was fantastic, it was quite cold outside but we were super warm. The cooked breakfast in the main B&B was also top notch; we had lunch out on the Saturday at a local pub and decided despite the weather to have a BBQ on the fire pit on Saturday night which was a great success! There are restaurants in Welshpool and some of the local villages if you want to eat out.
The setting of the hut is wonderful with a lovely wildlife pond and views of the Welsh Hills. We also booked to do the Clay Pigeon Shooting on Saturday morning with Martin Charlotte’s husband. It was lots of fun and Martin is a natural teacher with lots of patience and encouragement.

We would definitely return most likely in the summer months when we can take advantage of the outdoors more. Wonderful Glamping experience suitable for any season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hut and hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, looking forward to seeing you again in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmer7
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy, quiet and hassle free weekend away.”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2015

We had an lovely weekend in the Lake Farm Shepherds Hut. The hut is very well appointed and finished to a very high standard. Charlotte was a great host and the continental breakfast provided is excellent. If you just want to escape from it all and have a quiet, hassle free break I would seriously recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our hut. Glad you had a nice time, and hope you come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing