We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, well presented, spacious and clean; a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful accommodation with a hot tub, woodburner and amazing views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful accommodation with a hot tub, woodburner and amazing views
Hot tub with a view - the perfect setting for a relaxing holiday Panoramic views that extends naturally from the bottom of your garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Beautiful accommodation with a hot tub, woodburner and amazing views
Hot tub with a view - the perfect setting for a relaxing holiday
Panoramic views that extends naturally from the bottom of your garden
Beautiful lounge to relax in front of a welcoming fire
Plenty of seating for all guests, including two inviting leather sofas
Cosy woodburner and a large 50 inch TV with freeview and DVD player.
Enjoy beautiful estuary views from the scenic bay window
Dining room with a large oak dining table in front of a lovely bay window
The perfect setting to sample some of the fine local ingredients
The dining room bay window also offers seating to enjoy the calming views
The spacious family kitchen includes a built in dishwasher & fridge freezer
Easy access from kitchen to decking, outside seating and hot tub
5 star, hot tub in the garden, great views and much more
Bedroom 1 - large, light and airy ensuite bedroom with king size bed
En suite shower room with bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 - ensuite bedroom with king size bed & estuary views
En suite shower room with bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 - beautiful double bedroom also with estuary views
Family bathroom with modern Spa bath to relax and unwind
Bedroom 4 - one of two attic rooms, both laid out as twin bedrooms
Bedroom 5 - the second attic room, also laid out as a twin bedroom
Please note that bedroom 4 & 5 can also be arranged with king beds on request.
Beautiful accommodation surrounded by its own grounds and with hot tub facilities
Decking area with garden furniture for up to 10 guests
Plas Rhiwlas - situated in the picturesque surroundings of the Dyfi estuary
Beautiful accommodation with hot tub, woodburner and amazing views
Expansive front garden, beautifully tiered to blend in with the view beyond.
Lovely village pub / restaurant within a short walking distance
Just 1.5 miles from the vibrant and historic market town of Machynlleth
The Dyfi estuary also has an UNESCO Biosphere status, known as Biosffer Dyfi Biosphere
Numerous cycling opportunities, including a cycle route from Plas Rhiwlas to Machynlleth
Centre for Alternative Technology, 5 miles from Plas Rhiwlas
Excellent walks nearby, including Glyndwr's Way National Trail
Dyfi Valley Way - you can follow the route of the river Dyfi all the way to sea
...until you arrive at the stunning beach of Aberdyfi, just 12 miles away
There is also an 18 hole golf course at Aberdyfi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lee_lara7...
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well presented, spacious and clean; a week wasn't long enough!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just spent a week staying in Plas Rhiwlas and I wish it was longer! Having spent my childhood summers in nearby Corris, I had been looking for somewhere to stay with my 3 kids and this was perfect.
John and Annie were warm and welcoming and the house was spotless with comfortable beds and plenty of room. Dishwasher, range cooker and washing machine with decent pots and pans and cooking equipment meant that we didn't eat out at all. Instead we enjoyed cooking and eating in the beautiful dining room whilst enjoying fabulous views from the bay window.
The kids loved it too and made great use of the hot tub which had been emptied and cleaned out after the previous people.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend this holiday house - we will be going back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for booking with Best of Wales and lovely to hear you returned to the area with your family. The house is special and lovely to just enjoy and share family meals. The hot tub is a great extra and we take great care with cleaning and also good to hear that John and Annie made you feel so welcome.
Be great to welcome you back again soon
Suzanne - Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimbjm
blaenau gwent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Myself and 9 of my friends stayed here. We were a young group of women and had a great time.facilities were really good, house was beautiful and the lady that owned it supplied us with everything needed, The hot tub was lovelyour also. We had cake, butter and wine on arrival and a few things wrecked already there such as tea, coffee, fresh milk etc.. which was also supplied by the owner. The surroundings were beautiful. We would like to thank the owners for letting us stay, had a great weekend! Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking your time to provide a lovely review on your stay at Plas Rhiwlas. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your time at this cottage and that the owner was able to provide you with everything that you needed for a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon or if you require a different cottage next time please don't hesitate in contacting us.
Best regards,
Ffion Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rgja
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great property but a few irritating problems”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful house, great layout with communal areas on the ground floor, double bedrooms on first floor and twin rooms on top floor which worked well for us with kids having the top floor to themselves. Lovely big dining room and well equipped kitchen. Great garden to play in although tiered so young children need to be careful of the drop between levels. Driving distance to 3 lovely beaches.

Downsides for us were the windows opened like doors sometimes at floor level which was not ideal especially with children. They did lock but it meant the top of the house got very hot for the children. You can't drink the tap water but bottled water is provided and topped up when asked. The problem we had was we kept running out of water and often had to do a late night drive to the shops or a morning shop if we couldn't get hold of the owners. It would have been better if there was a bulk supply we could have gone to when required rather than having to always ask for more or buy our own when we ran out late at night. Finally the crockery is quite delicate yet the dishwasher is quite flimsy and the combination caused a couple of breakages for us which we were charged quite heavily for.

If the issues we had are addressed I would recommend this to others as it is a lovely property in a lovely location.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Response from the owners...

Having started a holiday let business at this location earlier this year, we are grateful of any comments, favourable or unfavourable, so that any issues can be rectified to make for a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable holiday for all our guests.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the layout met your requirements. In reply to the specific comments made, the garden is two tiered (there are photos and a description of this on the website) and should not cause any danger to children ? especially when they are properly supervised as we always advise.

The windows are all double glazed, lockable and open as normal. The only window that's left locked is the one at floor level on the top floor of the house, and a key is available if required. The top of the house also has 5 velux windows with blinds and can be opened when required to allow cold air to circulate.

The water is supplied from a private spring, so has to be compulsory tested, the results of which showed that the water was of good quality but not completely suitable for drinking without installing a filter. Supplying bottled water was therefore a temporary measure and we are glad to say that work has now been carried out to rectify this matter for all future guests.

The kitchen units were supplied by 'Howdens' along with a dishwasher and washing machine which are both made by a reputable company. The crockery and other utensils are of a high standard, which by hindsight are probably too delicate for the needs of some guests, but appreciated by others.

Finally, in conclusion, our aim is to please all our guests - which explains why there is also an exclusive hot tub available for Plas Rhiwlas guests now. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing