We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful, tranquil, fantastic place.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tan y Coed

Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Winter view from the covered deck
Morso Log Burning Stove, all wood provided
Large Comfy L-Shape Sofa
Sheepies
Dining Area with Additional Stools
Bedroom 1 with Kingsize Bed
Bedroom 2 with Full Size Single Beds
Bathroom with WC, Electric Shower and Sink
The Lodge from the Field Below prior to Glass Balustrade
Summer view from the covered deck, 2
Decked Area off the Lounge
View from the Hill at the side of the Lodge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Plentiful Supply of Logs on Deck
Cabin Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thethreeF...
1 review
“A beautiful, tranquil, fantastic place.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We needed somewhere to stay for a wedding and really needed a home from home so our 16 month old would be happy (and us) and we could not have wished for a better place.
It was clean, tidy, with beautiful furniture and the little touches and view was incredible.
The kitchen was full of useful appliances and the hot water was super hot (which was much appreciated).
We felt so relaxed when we sat watching the grazing sheep of an evening. Our little boy took great pleasure and excitement in talking to the sheep as much as he could.
We just wish it was cold so we could have had the chance to use the fire.
My wife actually slept which is unheard of in a bed that isn't her own.
We can't think of any way that it could have been better.
We even got a lovely 'hope you have a nice holiday' text from the owner.
We can't wait to go back and won't hesitate to recommend to everyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue T
Tiverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Secluded, peaceful and cosy this cabin under the trees was perfect for a long weekend in Wales. It had all mod cons, was comfortable and warm. But the over riding delight was its indoor-outdoor room; a partially glass fronted porch overlooking the valley with glorious views of the hills and the mesmeric grazing of the sheep.
Highly recommended for small families, couples and anyone seeking some peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
animalmo
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cabin in beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the cabin from 12-21 May 2014 as I needed to be in the area for work and the owner was very accommodating in extending my stay at short notice. Much better value than a hotel or B&B and a beautiful and peaceful setting to return to in the evenings. I now have it on my list to return to on holiday as it is absolutely stunning and there is a lot to see and do in the area. The cabin is very well equipped and comfortable with high quality furnishings and a good attention to detail. The balcony with views into the valley is stunning and I'm looking forward to booking an autumn or winter break to make the most of the log burner. Very cosy and comfortable. Triple A star and absolutely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and amazing views
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas L
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic location, beautifully presented and great value.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

All four of us fell in love with Tan y Coed from the moment we arrived. It is cosy but has plenty of space for four adults, was clean and well-equipped. The quality of the furnishings was a real pleasure to see, with comfy beds, a big comfy sofa and a lovely log burner we couldn't resist relaxing in front of a wonderful view of the valley.

Very highly recommended, We shall return :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kass A
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location & spotless accommodation”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for two nights in April this year with our two children 5&7. Our main reason for selecting this property was its location, close to the mach loop which was our main reason for going and its proximity to barmouth. The lodge is extremely well furnished and very comfortable. The view from the balcony is breathtaking , peaceful surroundings this place has everything and we plan on going back for longer later in the year. If you are looking at staying in this area you really shouldn't look any further. Perfect for a quiet getaway & also for families. Our two children loved it and there was plenty to keep them entertained in the lodge even on a rainy day.dvd player, little games scattered about. Even a night light in their room . The owner has thought ifw everything. Will be recommending to my friends

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing