We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look”

Centre for Alternative Technology
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Machynlleth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Centre for Alternative Technology (CAT) has been inspiring visitors about sustainable practice for over 40 years. With seven acres of hands-on displays, examples of environmentally responsible building, renewable energy, organic gardens and kids’ holiday activities, there is something for everyone at CAT. Follow CAT’s interactive Zero Carbon Britain Trail to discover how to live enjoyably in a world with reduced emissions. Or, winding up through managed oak woodland, the Quarry Trail opens up never-before-seen areas of CAT and breathtaking views of the Snowdonia National Park. On special evenings, the Quarry After Dark programme allows guests to experience CAT after the visitor centre has closed. This diverse programme of events boasts live music, talks, late night tours, film screenings and exhibitions. Nestled in a historic slate quarry CAT site is a little uneven in places and a lot of the displays are outdoors so please wear sensible footwear and waterproof clothing. During the winter months we close the Cliff Railway and some of the outdoor trails due to the unpredictable weather, please keep an eye on our website for updated information.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

We attended a couple of courses over a weekend which were very interesting and informative. The place itself is very interesting too with lots of info about alternative energy and technology. It's looking a little tatty in places so not sure if it is a fully functional site anymore.
The cafe only serves vegetarian food which is really good and very tasty.
It is well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAT-VC-Team, Public Relations Manager at Centre for Alternative Technology, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thanks for the review Richard - great to hear you enjoyed your courses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mole"
in 22 reviews
"the cliff"
in 13 reviews
"sustainable living"
in 12 reviews
"vegetarian restaurant"
in 7 reviews
"interesting place"
in 13 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 5 reviews
"carbon footprint"
in 8 reviews
"renewable energy"
in 7 reviews
"slate quarry"
in 7 reviews
"environmental issues"
in 6 reviews
"rainy day"
in 10 reviews
"gift aid"
in 5 reviews
"fantastic place"
in 6 reviews
"return visit"
in 5 reviews
"play area"
in 6 reviews
"cakes"
in 6 reviews
"cat"
in 122 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

I first visited CAT in the mid-1970s with my parents and 2 younger brothers when I was about 10 years old. We all recall a place which was welcoming, exciting and ahead of its time. We also still talk about the fantastic meal we had in the vegetarian whole food restaurant. My husband and I were in Wales last week revisiting all the places I’d been to as a child in the Machynlleth area and CAT was a must-visit. It is still doing great environmental work and is as fascinating as ever. My husband loved it, especially the sustainable home. We both enjoyed the water-powered funicular railway and, of course, we had a lovely meal in the restaurant (cheese pasty was so good!). We thoroughly recommend CAT for an inspiring and educational visit and a great lunch!

Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAT-VC-Team, Public Relations Manager at Centre for Alternative Technology, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Great to hear from you Jo - glad you enjoyed your visit :)

Many thanks,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We were looking forward to visiting the CAT centre on our recent visit to Wales. We couldn't have been more disappointed! The highlight was the ride up the water driven funicular. On reaching the top area via the funicular, we were upon the visitor centre/shop, which we likened to a dated and dusty 1970's style shack with old fashioned and dated books, and some eco friendly products. There was no direction given to to tour the buildings, most of which seemed to be lived in - we likened it to a commune with students wandering around, none of whom seemed able to help with directions as to how to enjoy the facility. We bought a guide, which we didn't need as we just wandered around the dated and badly maintained displays and buildings. The eco gardens, which we were excited to see were horrible! A clustering of weed filled beds of dead flowers, herbs and vegetables and faded signage - it was horrendous and a total waste of time and money. There was only one tour a day and that was at 12 noon so we missed it. Everything was dirty and scruffy and badly maintained. There is no sense, rhyme nor reason to the keeping open of this place. It either needs modernising or knocking down and bringing from the 1970's to the modern day. Information seemed dated and the equipment you could try and use to understand eco technology was broken! Altogether a total waste of time. The man who sold tickets at the entrance was still finding enthusiasm for the cause which was admirable.

2  Thank poshnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAT-VC-Team, Public Relations Manager at Centre for Alternative Technology, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi Posh,

I'm sorry to hear you didn't find architecture of the CAT shop to your liking. The building that the shop is housed within is a state-of-the-art rammed-earth building which uses low-enery materials and passive solar design principles. There is loads of information on these structures on the Buildings Trail and the guide book also gives some good background.

With regards to the shop content, we do have a second hand book section which perhaps you found yourself in! In addition, we sell a large number of current publications on alternative technology, organic gardening and vegetarian/vegan cookery along with academic texts used by our post graduate students.

What a shame you didn't enjoy the gardens - they have had excellent reviews all summer! At this time of year, the garden team purposefully leave areas to die back naturally which provides an important habitat for our thriving biodiversity. I agree that it can look messy though... especially after a downpour!

Perhaps come back and visit us again, taking use of some of the bits on offer such as the guide book and our excellent guided tours.

Kind regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We visited in two couples, and took a tour to the quarry. The quarry was the best part of the visit. The grounds of the place are shabby and run down. Everything needs more upkeep and a good clean. Lots of work to be done. There’s people working on extra buildings but seems to be just student based. Wouldn’t recommend for 9.50 each.

1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAT-VC-Team, Public Relations Manager at Centre for Alternative Technology, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Hi Emily,

Thanks for swinging by to leave a review - what a shame that you didn't take much from your visit!

Your photo's show an experiment by some of the CAT students looking into different green roof materials - though i agree they arent very pretty!

It is our current ethos that wood on the Visitor Centre is not treated or painted. This means that we can compost/recycle the timber once it's had it's life. This does however mean that a number of buildings have discoloured over time.

Our gardens team also leave all of that summer growth to die back naturally at this time of year due to how important this is for our thriving biodiversity.

Great to hear you enjoyed the tour of the quarry trail - I head up there on a lunch break when ever i get the chance!

I hope you come back again and have a more enjoyable time.

Cheers,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018

This was a return visit for us after three years. There is simply so much information on offer here that we could probably go every three months and learn something new each time. After three years there were several new features to see, including the quarry trail up to the lake water/hydro-power source.

As commented on previously, taking a tour with one of the Engineers is THE way to open up this site. That one hour could be the best green investment of time you make this year. (The tours are included/free)

Already we are using our new knowledge to make simple changes the way we live, eat, power, and grow. Several other 'projects' to research further for coming months.

Again we stayed at Borth YHA and had a most wonderful time at both locations.

Thank you CAT - please don't ever stop the vital work you are doing.

Thank M2UNGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centre for Alternative Technology also viewed

 

Been to Centre for Alternative Technology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing