We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very well equipped and cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 5 The Terrace

Cosy Traditional Lounge with sofa & sofa bed, log burner and dining table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy Traditional Lounge with sofa & sofa bed, log burner and dining table
Cottage name plate Log Burner, Stone Fire surround, cosy Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Cosy Traditional Lounge with sofa & sofa bed, log burner and dining table
Cottage name plate
Log Burner, Stone Fire surround, cosy Lounge
cosy high cieling bedroom with  exposed stone walls and beams and decorative log burner and quality
Cosy lounge and dining table and 4 chairs (folded) view from the kitchen to front door and stairs
modern beech kitchen with modern appliances fitted and stable back door to sun terrace
modern shower room with double sized shower cubicle, fitted basin and W.C.
exterior of cottage with name plate
middle level of terraced garden to lawn looking at the rear of the cottage
terraced garden seconf view
Front View of cottage
top terrace and BBQ level with garden and beech hedge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David W
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very well equipped and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Even better than the photographs. Very comfortable bed, lovely and warm and did not notice the road at the front. Easy drive to Machynlleth, good support from caretaker who lives locally, fantastic value.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martindod...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very cosy, homely cottage”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just back home from a few days away in Wales. What a beautiful little cottage. Lovely traditional features blended with modern design very tastefully. Not sure where the previous reviewer was staying, as it did not describe the cottage we stayed at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs-efar
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, quaint and idyllic”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed for 3 nights last week, Really easy to find (although I do know the area well as was born locally) but Commins coach is so tiny, I'd be worried if you couldn't find it :-/

Mr & Mrs Shepherd (the key holders) were wonderfully friendly and helpful, the cottage was warm, cosy, and inviting.

The kitchen although small, had everything needed for a short stay, even tea towels and washing up liquid were provided.
The bathroom was modern and clean, the shower was piping hot, and huge. Towels unusually, were provided and were clean, big and fluffy.
The bedroom was big enough for us to have our 5 yr old sons ready bed on the floor and still have room to move. The bed linen/pillows could do with updating as the pillows were a little flat and the bedding although undoubtedly very clean had been well used. (you could always take your own)
The wood burner was brilliant, never needed the central heating. The first nights wood was provided, would be worth picking up some on your way down if planning to have more than one night of wood burner use as the local co-op (6 miles away in Machynlleth) was really expensive for wood, kindling and fire lighters.
The only negatives were that the throws/ cushions on the sofas could do with a wash as they smelt a bit musty and the trains pass very close at the back of the garden, The trains do finish at 11pm but still a little unnerving at how close a speeding train passes when not expecting it.
Very little road noise despite it being on a main road link from Newtown to Machynlleth.

Public transport links
Buses stop outside the terrace and run hourly from 7am into Machynlleth and Newtown, and the last bus from Mach is at 5pm, which can be caught right outside the train station and the main supermarket in Mach and again, drops right at the terrace.

It took less than an hour by car to get to Snowdon for a days walking, Beddgelert in 45 mins and to reach the cottage from Gloucestershire it took us just 2 hours. A fabulous little getaway, easily reached and a bargain price for the facilities.
Far more positives than negatives and the few negatives that are there would not put me off renting again in future, in fact we are already planning our next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Character of the cottage
Liked least: The trains at the back of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlp02
Stoke on Trent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

On booking postcode on website was incorrect had to clarify with owner who gave a curt response , had no idea of how to check in after attempts by phone, email and text until another curt response late the night prior to our stay didn't let this spoil the experience. However on arrival greeted by the neighbours we were shown the property very briefly only to be told there was only 2 plates and we were a party of 3 and one of those was split and chipped, when asked where was the bed linen for the sofa bed told it would be in the bedroom somewhere not to be found only the quilt itself had to borrow the throw off my daughters bed upstairs. By the side of the cooker top full of detritus, door handle on one cupboard loose, bread bin handle also broken, threadbare towels, various areas of mould in the bathroom, rug in living room filthy dirty as was the normal sofa, dirty utensils in kitchen our little dog got bitten to death taking to the vets to get checked over to see what's bitten her covered in bites, 13 year old daughter woke up crying after 2 nights begging to come home. All in all wasn't a cheap break but standards were we have photos to back this review up. A very disappointing holiday so much so we paid for daily passes into Plas Talgarth to make things bearable just returning to sleep never used the kitchen during our stay . I would point out that this is the first negative review i have ever had to make

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at the cottage over Valentines weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We received a warm welcome on our arrival and the cottage was absolutely fantastic, fully equipped with all you would want and more and just had a wonderful feel. Lovely tiered back garden that I can only imagine will be perfect for enjoying a sunny day. The surrounding countryside can only be described as stunning. Got a taxi into Machynlleth and enjoyed a lovely Saturday evening in this pretty town. All in all a fantastic weekend. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing