We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cae Madog Barn

The heated swimming pool is free over Easter and from May to the end of August.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The heated swimming pool is free over Easter and from May to the end of August.
Cae Madog Barn nestles into the hillside. Soak in the bubbling spa, open the cabin doors and soak up the view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The heated swimming pool is free over Easter and from May to the end of August.
Cae Madog Barn nestles into the hillside.
Soak in the bubbling spa, open the cabin doors and soak up the view!
The vaulted lounge has plenty of seating for all
The second sitting room is great for kids, with a t.v. and x box
The second sitting room means you won't argue about the soaps!
The large lounge has a airy feel and opens onto the patio
The fabulous inglenook with a cosy woodburner - logs are included
Plenty of room for a family feast with high chairs if required
Country kitchen with a roomy range cooker - perfect for the family roast!
The king size master bedroom leads into its own en suite
The fabulous vaulted ceiling gives this double room the wow factor
Cute and comfortable double room with a shared shower room just next door
This double room is just a few steps up from the main living area - ideal for the less mobile
Twin bedroom with feature beams
More beams in the second twin bedroom
Full size pool table in the detached games room
The spacious children's room has plenty of room for 4 little darlings!
Beautifully finished en suite bathroom with underfloor heating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Llanbrynmair, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
honorajo
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

had a lovely week here, there were 5 couples and children. plenty room for us all to have our own space. lovely interior and furnishings, very well equipped kitchen. the weather wasn't the best so we couldn't make full use of the pool, but the children had a few days of dipping in. helpful owners on site too. The only thing I would suggest is that there is a more level outside play area for the children as the ground is quite bumpy and with quite a few steps would be nice to have an area the smaller children could play on. thanks for having us

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thanks for your lovely comments! Out plan for the autumn includes putting a further large decked area at the back of the barn which will be great for kids to play - and for adults to lounge around and admire the fabulous views!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent week”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a fantastic week at Cae Madog Barn with large family group of 15 ranging from under 10 to nearly 70.

House was very roomy and had enough space for everyone not to get under each others feet.

The pool, although on the slightly small size, was enjoyed daily as was the hot tub with wonderful views across the valley.

The house is in a VERY remote location but this is not an issue if you expect/plan for it.

The only other downside was lack of outside space for playing ball games etc, but this is beyond the owners control due to the landscape and wasn't really an issue for us.

Would definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
You're right about the garden but, as I have mentioned in another review comment, we are prioritising putting in a large additional decked area so, although we can't change the geography of the Cambrian Mountains, we can provide a good-sized outside space that makes the space more child-friendly. Thanks for your kind comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely rural cottage with all facilities including heated pool, hot tub, poolroom, x-box and lots of space”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in rural situation with great views - luxuriously equipped and well maintained. We were 8 adults and 7 children and fitted in comfortably with plenty of space. Lots to do on site with heated pool, hot tub, pool room, tv, dvd's, x-box and huge selection of holiday reading although garden limited for toddlers. Attractive peaceful situation but at least 30mins to most tourist attractions. We had a super week at Cae Madog!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Liked least: Garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thanks for your comments. I agree that, being on the side of a valley, the garden is quite sloping. It is our plan to put extra decking in as soon as we have a few weeks available, so our hope is that this will provide a large toddler-friendly play area. Watch this space!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon P
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family get together”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Hi,

Myself and my wife rented Cae Madog for three nights for our families so we could have a mini xmas break it the start of December. We live in Dubai so the contact through Trip Advisor is a good idea, plus this aids communication.
The owner was fair with his contact and did help us while we were there, the barn is huge with lots of split levels, staircases and areas for people to escape or group into and even two living rooms (the kids had one and the adults the other) . The open fire was great in the cold night and the hot tub was used by everyone as its in a wooden hut. This however would not be good for the elderly or unsure footed as to access this is down a little steep stairway in the garden and at night you can not see the steps.
The cottage was cosy and more than adiquate with an abundance of character. We even arranged for a large Tesco's delivery to be there as we arrived.
All in all great for family or large group escapes , all our group enjoyed the stay and all the facilities from the pool to the games room got used throughout.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thanks for your comments. I must agree that the current access to the hot tub cabin is not ideal for those with restricted mobility. We had hoped to put in the new decking and steps before the summer, but we haven't had a chance as we have had so many guests. It is definitely on the cards for the autumn though!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ardogeena
Co. Cork
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a truly magical place!”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We chose Cae Madog Barn as the venue to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. And, without exception, we were so pleased we did!
We were a party of 14, with an age range of 6 - 70. We chose to pay extra to have the pool heated and it was worth every penny! The children loved it, and used it non-stop.
The barn itself was great. Lots of lovely seating, a wood burning stove for when it got chilly in the evenings and lovely comfortable beds ensuring a good nights sleep.
Cae Madog really is the ideal venue for a large gathering. We would love to return!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We always strive to make guests feel at home when they stay with us and it is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing