We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Querky Cottage full of Character"”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear view of Laurel Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear view of Laurel Cottage
The Front Bedroom Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Rear view of Laurel Cottage
The Front Bedroom
Sitting Room
Rear Bedroom
Knighton, The Narrows
Offa's Dyke Visitor Centre, knighton
View from Offa's Dyke
St Edwards Church and Kinsley Wood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Knighton, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jill S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent centre for walking in the Welsh borders.”
Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Compact accommodation in interesting listed building, suitable for agile occupants as they negotiate the various levels and ladder type stairs!
Owners friendly, helpful and unobtrusive.
Piping hot water in bathroom and kitchen at all times.
Kitchen in need of a complete refurbishment, including appliances. (All usable but 'tired', dated and in less than pristine condition.)
Sheets and towels clean and fresh, but would prefer to have only duvet covers, to be certain those are fresh for each each new occupant too!
Being in Knighton itself means that the cottage is within easy walking distance of several good eating places - a definite plus after a day of walking.
Despite some reservations, it was good value for money, and we had a good holiday in Laurel Cottage. Therefore, I would be sure to outline my 'concerns' when recommending to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coralm201...
Hayes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Querky Cottage full of Character"”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Laurel Cottage was perfect for our 4 days stay. The kitchen was adequate for cooking it had everything we needed. The cottage was cosy and comfortable, the log burner was an added bonus. Jo and Michael were very hospitable but not intrusive.

The cottage is in a great location for local shops, pubs and eating places. We had a takeaway from the Chinese 5mins walk away. Great views and plenty of walks for our dogs Teddy and Queenie who loved the cottage and surrounding area.

Knighton is such a lovely friendly town, we loved our stay there and in the cottage, we have booked again for next year.

The garden is lovely but would have been better fenced off from the owners garden. Teddy & Queenie were taken out separately in the morning but even so kept wondering on to their garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simba2109
north west england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Laurel cottage is lovely. The kitchen though small, was more than adequate to produce breakfast and would if needed, have been ok to produce an evening meal. We eat out in Knighton which has some great pubs serving very good food.
The bedroom with the four poster bed was very comfortable, do need to take care going up and down the steps from the bedroom to the landing. Shower room was fine, lots of hot water. Mum said the second bedroom with three single beds was fine and warned up very quickly when she put on the heaters.
Downstairs the cosy lounge was lovely and warm with the stove on and also very comfortable. Overall a great place to stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming well situated cottage - owners very helpful and friendly”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed in this cottage for a few days while doing Offas Dyke path, and absolutely loved it! It is a fascinating building, and cosy and comfortable, especially with the woodburner going during the autumn evenings. The owners - Michael and Jo - live next door and were very friendly and helpful indeed, without being intrusive. We would definitely stay again! The stairs are quite steep which was fine for us but might be a problem for someone with mobility issues

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy Quirky home from home”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Loved Laurel Cottage, had everything we needed to cater for ourselves as well as good local places to eat. Fab walks from the door and warm welcoming owners next door who made us and Sandy Dog feel right at home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing