We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Patio Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Private Patio
Kitchen
Lounge area
Lounge area / kitchen
Care bed
Wetroom
Upstairs bathroom
Downstairs twin room
Upstairs bathroom
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
The mill and stable (left) - the cow barn (right)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura P
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. It is very comfortable and spacious. I was with 5 adults, only 2 of which shared a room, so the 4 bedrooms were perfect. And with each of the upstairs bedrooms having toilets this was an added bonus.
Everything was clean and tidy on arrival and cleaning products and basic bathroom items were provided, which is something I have never had before. All the linen and towels were provided too.
All the furniture and beds are very comfortable and although we weren't in need of the care bed, it was slept in because it was extremely comfortable.
The kitchen is modern and all the electrical items are excellent and up to date.
The courtyard area out the back is private and not too overlooked and is a lovely sun trap on sunny days. And a great place to dry your washing!!
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already booked a stay again for next year.
We would definitely recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the space
Liked least: The squeaky floorboards in the upstairs bedroom.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thanks for your kind review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return after rebooking

Take care

Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the barns, the location and the disabled facilities!
Liked least: Can't really think of anything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We pride ourselves on our disabled facilities and will do whatever it takes to ensure a great holiday is had by whoever stays with us at Laugharne barns. It's reviews like this which make all the hard work worth it. Thank you again and look forward to seeing you in the future

Regards

Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen H
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Property - a real home from home.”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic stay in The Mill and Stable which was the perfect location for our holiday.

The barn is beautiful and fully met the needs of the 9 of us staying which included my disabled father, 2 children and a toddler - a real home from home experience.

The children loved having their own room and bathroom. Ray provided everything the youngest required high chair, stair gates and even a bed close to the ground so she didn't hurt herself if she fell out - the Welsh air knocked her out though which meant she slept soundly for the whole week which is most unheard of!

The equipment provided for disabled guests was excellent and made our first holiday away with my Dad in a wheelchair much easier than we had thought. All the equipment we needed was there and there was plenty of room for the wheelchair too.

As for the location - wow! Stunning views from the upstairs bedrooms and its rural location allowed for us to be blown away by the stars at night. Make sure you stand in the courtyard one night and take in the thousands of stars - amazing. We were able to drive easily to many of the local beaches but our favourites were Pendine and Amroth. The children enjoyed body boarding and rock pooling on both beaches. We had a lovely meal at The Carpenters Arms and highly recommend the fish and chip shop in Laugharne.

The weather wasn't great when we stayed here but the barn was warm and cosy so ideal for settling down with a DVD in the evening. The wifi was well worth the extra fee as we were able to stream some movies as we forgot to bring anything other than night at the museum!

All in all a fantastic place to stay and a wonderful host. Thank you Ray and we hope to see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your review and stay with us and glad you enjoyed your time in Laugharne. Will look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Take care Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SianW1980
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Won't be staying again as better disabled access accommodation available-it needs some TLC!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the website the barn looks great but we found it lacking on a few fronts.
It was difficult with my disabled father-in-law as there were no grab rails in the wet room and the floor was quite slippery when wet.
In the other bathrooms the toilet seats were loose and quite dangerous if you were unaware, as my sister found out when she hurt herself. The towel rail came off the wall and almost landed on my bare feet and when I informed the owner of this he was aware of these problems but just hadn't got around to fixing any of these things-not a great response.
We had arranged a family birthday bbq for my dads 70th and i had informed the owner that this was the reason for the visit to the barn, however on arrival we discovered that the BBQ was absolutely filthy and had to spend an hour scrubbing it before we could even attempt to cook on it! (the owner had told us he would ensure bbq was ready to go and even said he would place the better bbq at the property we were staying at, but this did not happen).
My disabled father-in law was looking forward to having a view from the barn as he loves the sea but unfortunately as the view is only available from some of the upstairs windows this was not possible for him :(
The barn is all wood and looks lovely but be warned if you have children/babies that are likely to go to bed before you, it is nearly impossible to walk around and carry on talking and watching television etc.. without waking them up as its so loud/echoey and the floors are all wood with no carpets.
Another baby-related problem is that the cot is only really available downstairs in the bedrooms so if you do still want to stay here, ensure that it is taken into consideration with the layout and the number of people you have.
There is no phone signal in the barn itself and when some of your party are out and about and trying to arrange to meet up with the people left in the barn it was quite challenging! If you want Wifi you have to pay for it which i thought was over priced and from what the guests in the other barn said it didn't work very well either!
One last point is that we were disappointed in that there wasn't much to walk to in the area immediately surrounding the barn and care is needed as the road can be quite busy with large lorries passing through. We ended up using the car to go everywhere because of this.

Unfortunately despite it looking great on the website, we were disappointed and will not be visiting again or recommending it to our friends/family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hospital bed for my father in law
Liked least: See above list!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review

Im really sorry you arent satisfied with your stay with us and can only apologise for the problems you had. We are always looking for feedback and improvements to our accomodation to make it one of the best in west wales for our disabled customers. 99% of feedback we have had on trip advisor has been positive so once again I can only apologise. We have had trouble with our BT internet due to the laying of fibre optic in the area which as affected not just our accomodation but our main residence on site so this is out of our hands.

We value all feedback good or bad as we want people to enjoy their time with us

Sorry again and hope to welcome you back

Regards

Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything required for a fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ideally situated home from home facilities children friendly accommodation perfect along with the host Ray many thanks from all the family look forward to coming again next year

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you soon. Regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing