We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bit average unfortunately”
Review of Cwtch*

Cwtch*
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in St Davids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$39
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: St Davids' award-winning restaurant, our food is described as British classics with a contemporary twist focusing on quality sustainable locally sourced seasonal produce. Served in a relaxed, informal setting with an emphasis on warm friendly service. Big flavours cleanly presented.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We were looking forward to a rare early evening meal out with our two year old daughter. Arrived at 6.15 and nothing to complain about in terms of being catered for with table position and provision of high chair. Service was fine. Main thing is the food. Starters of chicken caesar and cured salmon were ok, but chicken itself was a little dry. The real disappointment was the main - lamb two ways. We both ordered it, one was over cooked, but both plates lacked flavour. There really wasn't any proper seasoning going on at all. The little lamb 'pie' in a copper pot had some totally unseasoned, un-buttered mash and the lamb element of the pie had no sauce or seasoning again. The leeks accompanying were undercooked, again without seasoning or even butter. Just all rather bland. We wish the place well as there aren't too many restaurants in the area offering really decent quality food, but it really does need to up its game (as it once did?) based on this experience.

Thank AJCK1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for you taking the time to review us and extremely disappointed to read your comments. We check our tables and I recall your visit and absolutely nothing was mentioned from you to us at the time. It is so important to tell us when you are here and that gives us the opportunity to correct anything there and then, walking away having not brought this to our attention is such a shame for all concerned. As you will see, we have countless compliments on the lamb dish so very surprised by your comments. Apologies for your experience but hopefully from reading our response, it will give you some confidence to tell us at the time as we really do want to know. Best regards from all at cwtch*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

So Good we went 2 nights in a row. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Food was just delicious on both nights. Favourites.....Starters were Chicken Caesar and Salmon mousse. We had the duck (my absolute favourite) and the Lamb. Full flavoured dishes, both. The flavours of the lamb and duck were not compromised by over seasoning or overthinking. The accompanying vegetables and sauces were just right to enhance the experience of the food.

Truly catered perfectly to my tastes in food. Portions were perfect for us! Thanks for a great experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Milton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review (and thank you for the note you left) so delighted reading that you had such delicious meals with us on both your visits (and I did enjoy our chat!!!). The lamb certainly gets lots of super feedback and the duck, with the confit leg, slowly cooked is very yummy and tender and is a gorgeous addition to the pan fried duck breast. We cure our own salmon and smoke our own chicken which means we can play with the flavours and try lots of different versions. We do try to balance our portions to ensure our guests leave with happy, full tummies! Thank you once again and hope to see you when you next visit the UK. Best regards from all at cwtch*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We camped on the outskirts of st David’s and walked into town and had prebooked. We sat upstairs which was potentially less atmospheric than downstairs and very purple. The starters were our favourites and would recommend the salmon or haddock. The mains were quite meat heavy but very tasty and a good portion, I couldn’t manage pudding. Would recommend.

Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us and so delighted to read you thought the food was beautiful. We have three different areas to the restaurant and these offer different experiences so does depend on preference. We have a small menu, and our mains normally has 3 meats and steak, two fish options and a vegetarian option. We aim to get a nice balance with portion sizes, we definitely don’t want our guests leaving hungry! Thank you for your recommendation, it is much appreciated. Best regards from all at cwtch*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Great food. Well presented and served. Plenty of choice and a god selection of wines and cocktail. A great evening.

Thank Allendale1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and delighted to read how great your meals and evening were. We have a small cocktail list that we change throughout the year and is such a lovely start to an evening. Best regards from all at cwtch*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We booked ahead for dinner at 6.00 twice during our stay in the cottage at Abereiddy. We had a range of starters over the two occasions. All lovely. Then I had the lamb duo and my wife the gressingham duck. The meats were cooked to perfection and the jus added really great and intense flavour. It seemed a bit unadventurous to have the same dish twice but they were so good and presented slightly differently each time. All served with a bit of style. A Thursday night the first time and a Tuesday the second and both evenings the restaurant was heaving. Good to see.

Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us and delighted knowing how much you enjoyed your two evenings with us. The lamb is always a firm favourite on our menu and gets such lovely feedback – as does the duck. Booking ahead is definitely a good idea any day of the week now as we are into our busy season, it is so disappointing to have to turn away guests when there aren’t tables available. Thank you once again. Best regards from all at cwtch*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cwtch* also viewed

St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St Davids, St Davids Peninsula
Solva, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Cwtch*? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing