We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
interesting place to visit

we really enjoyed our day in this little city and especially in this interesting cathedral . highly... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Just me A
,
United Kingdom
Amazing Architecture

What a magnificent building, amazing architecture. So much fascinating history round every turn... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
richardaggett
,
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Read all 2 146 reviews
  
Reviews (2 146)
Filter reviews
2 146 results
Traveller rating
1 517
536
72
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 517
536
72
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well worth a visit wooden ceiling beautiful building bishop's palace take photos no charge davids cathedral st david awe inspiring lovely setting small city patron saint gift shop next door car park donation refectory
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 2 146 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The cathedral is in a lovely setting and the abbey ruins can be viewed from the grounds. Most areas are fully accessible with a stairlift accessing the lower level of the restaurant,. There is an upper level, accessed by spiral staircase, with views of the gardens - but the description oversold the reality.

Still, definitely worth a visit

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank viv e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Its a very stunning cathedral, fullm of history and a pleasue to visit..
Be aware that its has a steep climb to and from..

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ShiftZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

A jewel of a cathedral nestled away in a shallow valley for historical safety. A stunning building with excellent facilities for visitors, good toilets and a lovely café and art outlet. There is a further gift shop outside. The cathedral contains a huge organ with some interesting wooden pipes but the masonry and stained glass were my favourites. The ceilings are also beautiful, a mixture of painted and natural timber.
The nearby Bishops Palace (ruins of) is also fascinating to visit but there is an entrance fee. We parked in one of the designated car parks very close to the cathedral and walked 2 minutes maximum. The short walk up into the city affords the most spectacular panoramic views of the cathedral and palace. The “city” itself is also very close and worth a look but it is very, very small. However, there are lots of places to eat and drink and book sea trips for wildlife spotting including whales, dolphins and Skomer Island.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank drm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

W've paid a 'quick' visit to St.Davids on our way to Skomer. WOW, what a surprise. To be honest, it wasn't on our list as many places we have visit without any research in advance. Cathedral is one of the biggest surprises we met on our way, I didn't even know about it existence until the day.
Cathedral is real gem!! So beautiful and so distinct. I love it.
Could not recommend it enough.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank majla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Visited St Davids from a day trip from Saundersfoot. What a Gem!
Amazing cathedral inside & outside. Considering St Davids is the smallest city in the UK, it was surprising there was such a beautiful building.
Definitely worth visiting.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews