We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a budget family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Our climbing wall is available for hire from July 2016. Pre booking preferable. Competative pricing.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our climbing wall is available for hire from July 2016. Pre booking preferable. Competative pricing.
Upper and Lower Deck apartments, as seen from the woodland area Side of Upper and Lower Deck. front of Nelson (sheltered porch) and Drake (red door).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Our climbing wall is available for hire from July 2016. Pre booking preferable. Competative pricing.
Upper and Lower Deck apartments, as seen from the woodland area
Side of Upper and Lower Deck. front of Nelson (sheltered porch) and Drake (red door).
One of our bunk rooms, identical in Upper and Lower Deck apartments. Sleeps 2 people.
One of the paths through our 8 acre woodland leading to waterside
Stone circle. Sheltered and calm space for relaxing or socialising.
Lawn in front of Upper and Lower Deck. Boatyard to the right of the picture.
Outside play area for 5 a side football, basketball and table tennis.
Kayaking on the estuary. This MAY be available as a guided kayak safari upriver. Please ask.
Awaiting re-registration of our watersports facility. Guests can, of course, bring their own kayaks
Use of our climbing wall is possible by prior arrangement at time of booking or whilst on holiday
Picnic in the stone circle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Pembroke, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen W
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a budget family holiday”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This property is accurately described and was perfect for our needs as a family of 7, yes it is basic but there was everything we needed. It is close to everything Pembrokeshire has to offer and we were lucky with the weather - a full week of glorious sunshine. At the moment there is no wifi in the property but it did us all good to unplug for a bit. We did use the WiFi in the area near the cafe. The children enjoyed the 5 aside pitch and played with some of the guests staying in a neighbouring property. We would love to come back in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to wire a review Helen. I'm sure it will help other potential guests, planning a holiday in Pembrokeshire, to decide whether our accommodation is right for them. let us know if you want to book again in the future.

Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Sandra stayed in Upper Deck which is one of four properties available for holiday lettings at Llanion Cove.

Thank you Sandra for your review. And your reference to the helpfulness of the Llanion Cove team. I'm sure it will help to inform people about the accommodation and give them confidence to consider it as a place to stay as well as 'value for money.' Let me know if you want to come and stay in the future when we will have our watersports centre fully functional as well as the climbing wall. Regards SUE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Let me try and start on a positive note. Sue, the owner did accommodate our sleeping arrangements. However, a week before we arrived she informed us that we were in a different cottage to the one we booked online. Also, she said it would be preferable if we arrived at 4pm not 2pm as stated on the website. Just not very professional.
On arrival, the first thing we noticed was the general dirtyness and poor condition of the cottage. Half a shower curtain, ripped and dirty sofa, no soap holders, nowhere to hang coats or towels, no washing line, no drink compartments in fridge, musty bedclothes and overflow pipes not connected from sinks.
Also, when we arrived the local teenagers were using the table tennis table and basketball court that was advertised on the site as belonging to the cottages. This carried on every day and night so our 5,6,8 and 14 years old children could not utilise this facility as the locals kicked the ball hard were swearing and drinking alcohol. The court was located directly behind the cottage so the noise from the teenagers kept our children up to 10pm. Additionally, the climbing frame included online was nonexistent.
Another thing misrepresented on the website was the availability of WiFi and Internet access. There was no WiFi in the property and Internet access was only present upstairs. When I asked Sue about it she said it was suppose to be ready.
There were major safety concernd with the cottage. It was advertised for children of all ages. However, there was a risk the younger children could lock themselves in the room as no key was left to access it from the outside. The heavy doors that slammed shut were also risky for little fingers and no doorstops were provided. There was also a risk with the downstairs shower being stuck on red hot although the other shower was too cold. Additionally after putting ice-cream in the freezer it came out melted.
When looking at the general comfort of the cottage. The heat in the upstairs bedrooms was unbearable with no fan in sight. The mattresses were also extremely uncomfortable. Although the kitchen was advertised as basic, the cooker was old, slow and totally unadequate for a large party not like the range cooker on the website photo. The fridge was far too small and there was no iron or washing machine which we could have done with to wash the greasy smelling teatowels provided.
At the end of the trip I provided feedback to Sue who became defensive and called me a liar about the actual number in the party. I had asked her about including an extra person weeks before and was quite willing to pay for them. The name calling was upsetting and I feel was a distraction from the numerous problems with the property. I feel the accommodation was not ready to let and Sue even asked us midweek to make a list of what we needed. We shouldn't have to do this on holiday. Although I enjoyed the area I can safely say I will not be returning to the cottage. Im sorry this review seems harsh and I have never written a bad review before as I am quite easy going but there were just too many problems with this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: the cottage
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
This review relates to a recent stay in Drake House, Llanion Cove. It is mistakenly published against another property on site known as Upper Deck. The business partners at Llanion Cove are very disappointed to receive this review and would urge prospective holiday makers to consider the other reviews on the website. We have attempted to address the concerns raised directly with this family both during and following their holiday. Following any negative review our policy is to undertake an investigation and take steps to rectify any identified issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place. We enjoyed it so much we didn't even switch on the TV. It has great views and there is so much to do and see in the area. In the 6 days we were there we didn't even get to do half of all the exciting attractions in and around Pembroke. We will definitely be back! Thanks Sue and Phil for the wonderful hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and tranquility
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
This is our first accommodation review. It is lovely to get a personal mention and certainly makes the whole teams efforts worthwhile. I'm so pleased to hear you had an AMAZING time! You were very appreciative guests and very good company. Would have like to get to know you all a bit better. Keep in touch. sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing