We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely position and very comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear view
Living area Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Rear view
Living area
Living area
Living area
Bedroom 1 - en-suite
En-suite to bedroom 1
En-suite shower
Bedroom 2 with adjacent shower room.
Shower room 2 adjacent bedroom 2
Upper bedroom 3
Upper bedroom 3 with balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tywyn, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Celia N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely position and very comfortable”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit to Hafodwen was as good as the first. The cottage is very well appointed and comfortable for an extended family group. Jim and Sandra are very kind and helpful and always there when you need them. The views from the cottage are beautiful and there is a lot to do and explore very close by. We are already looking forward to our next stay!
Thank you again for a lovely stay (and also for that wonderful welcome cake!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having two bathrooms with toilets for a group of six.
Liked least: The beds could do with being a bit softer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Hafodwen, thank you once again.
Sandra & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedGirl81
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a quiet getaway with stunning scenery”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Have just returned home from this lovely cottage after a weeks stay. The cottage is very well appointed with everything you could need and more for self catering. There is a lovely sunny garden with amazing views of the local scenery including Bird Rock. Right from the start the owners Jim and Sandra were extremely welcoming, we arrived to homemade cake and flowers, and have fantastic local knowledge. The cottage is perfectly located to explore the local areas of Barmouth, Fairbourne, Aberdovey, Dolgellau and Tywyn. We visited Castell Y Bere, Dolgoch Falls, the hidden blue lake above Fairbourne, Yarn bombing at Llwyngwril, Barmouth via the ferry from Fairbourne as well as much more. We had a great meal out in Tywyn at the Proper Ganda and had the Salt marsh cafe highly recommended too. There is a largish Co-op in Tywyn and a market each Monday. The cottage is the perfect place to switch off and relax. Cannot recommend it enough. Would be ideal for families or couples wanting a real getaway with plenty to do for all ages within half an hours drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: No phone reception, not a problem for us as a short walk to bottom of the drive solved this but may be for some visitors.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Sandra & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin J
1 review
“A truly wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I lived and grew up in this lovely quiet village, and was married in the nearby church. I hadn't visited the area for 20 years so booked this holiday so that I could share my memories and the spectacular scenery with my family. Jim and Sandra were really friendly hosts, always helpful, and there was a lovely cake waiting for us when we arrived. The cottage was just what we needed, spacious and clean, with all that you could need for a perfect holiday, a lovely home from home with amazing views up the valley towards the mountains.
As we were meeting up with other members of the family, they had booked the adjacent cottage, and lots of fun was had in the large safe gardens with the grandchildren.
We had a mixed bag of weather but managed to make the most of the lovely area, the grandchildren loved the beaches and really enjoyed their ride on the Talyllyn railway.
A lovely holiday in an amazing setting that evoked many memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large safe garden.
Liked least: a few wet days.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Sandra & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a lovely stay. The cottage was clean, comfortable and warm with lovely views.”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely stay. The cottage was clean, comfortable and warm and we were made to feel very welcome with the best cake I have ever tasted and flowers! The property is very safe with an enclosed garden for any children to play in and the layout of the property has been made to be accessible for those who find stairs difficult. With two bathrooms between a possible six people it makes for a very civilised stay. We had a lovely time with beautiful views of the Dysynni Valley and the surrounding hills. The owners, Jim and Sandra, are very kind and helpful and we are already looking forward to our next stay in August.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean everything was and having two bathrooms.
Liked least: Not having internet access.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
We are so pleased that Ceila found the cottage to her satisfaction, and enjoyed her stay at Hafodwen, Thank you Sandra & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing