We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 730)
Filter reviews
2 730 results
Traveller rating
1 140
818
407
212
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 140
818
407
212
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library bar bertie's restaurant medieval banquet prince of wales suite peacocks wandering cream tea moat spa grounds are beautiful steeped in history roll top bath spa facilities birthday treat public rooms cooked breakfast relaxation room deluxe room evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 2 730 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We arrived an hour early.
Upon exploring the hotel, we met a chambermaid who told us our room was ready, and led us there. Very polite and friendly girl.
We'd barely sat down, before there was a tremendous banging on the door.
Opened it to find a very angry woman, telling us how wrong we were to be in our room early, and how we must never do this again. She stormed off before we could recover.
We went out to apologise to the chambermaid for the aggressive woman, but she said the woman was her mother!
We were shocked at the bullying tactics of this woman. So rude. So insensitive.
The encounter left us shaking and ruined our peace for the entire stay.
We told several people about her, but nobody would divulge her name or support us.
We won't be going back.
.
Oh, and the spa? Was like going down into a damp, dark dungeon. Cold floors, undecorated walls, rotting wood. Felt like cleaning ourselves after being in it.
.
However, the restaurant Berties? Was EXCELLENT. The staff were first rate. The food was delicious.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank SergeSergiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear SergeSergiou

Thank you for your recent review.

Following investigation, it's unfortunate that you chose to tell only part of what happened on that afternoon.
Upon arrival, as is standard, the receptionist advised you that the rooms weren't ready until 3pm. He allowed you to leave your bags, checked you in to the system and gave you a reservation card for your room which detailed your room number. You were advised to return to reception after 3pm to collect your room key.

It was a very busy Sunday afternoon and we had a Wedding Showcase taking place, your room was located on the ground floor, some distance from reception and would not just be stumbled upon, the junior member of staff let you in to the room on the understanding that you were attending the Wedding Showcase and you wanted to see an example of a room. She allowed you entry & the door then closed behind you. The staff member panicked as she knew something wasn't right, she called the Manager on duty and her supervisor for advice. The first person to arrive was the Manager who advised you that the room should not have been accessed until 3pm, hence the reason you did not have a key to the room. The room was incomplete and hadn't been inspected by the Housekeeping Manager. These final inspections are for the benefit of you, our guest. It is also paramount for health and safety reasons that we are aware what rooms are occupied at all times. The room key was still at reception and as far as the team were aware, the room was not occupied.

Following the brief conversation with the Manager, you then approached the junior member of the team with quite rude and derogatory comments about the Manager which were quite hurtful and deeply upsetting, resulting in the individual not being able to continue with her shift that afternoon.

We are delighted that you were able to enjoy your stay after the initial confusion over access to your room. Your kind comments about the staff and food will be shared with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Nice little night away with the hubby. Room was lovely and the staff extremely polite and helpful. The grounds had bags of character along with the castle itself. Beautiful town within easy walking distance

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Penny P

Thank you for your kind feedback, we hope to welcome you back to the Castle in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Amazing weekend at a family wedding. Location stunning, Ruthin town lovely with lots of eateries and individual shops. Local people very friendly.
Staff in Ruthin castle very professional and friendly ambiance inside the castle lovely.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Sue W

Thank you for your feedback after attending a recent family wedding at the Castle. We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel itself has loads of history and well maintained grounds that were great for a walk in. Peacocks free roaming everywhere. The interior of the castle was great and a pleasant place to be. Rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. Our room however had a ceiling that's was covered in damp and was peeling and generally could of done with some maintenance. Evening meal was very nice but couldn't say much about breakfast (poor quality cooked badly). Bar was very nice but drinks very expensive. Overall I would stay again but miss the breakfast out.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank Barrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Barrie J

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following a recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies in relation to the unfortunate maintenance issues that you experienced. At breakfast, there are alternative options including Kippers, French toast, pancakes etc if the cooked breakfast was not to your liking. We hope to see you again, we would be delighted to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The leisure facilities were closed - no compensation offered.

Most of the public areas are ok but the rooms etc are in need of refurbishment..

In view of a disappointing stay in February I cancelled a birthday treat I had booked for myself in April. It turns out that even though the website states "you may cancel your non promotional reservation up until 48 hours prior to 3pm on the day of arrival without incurring a cancellation charge" the hotel kept my deposit of £50. I made the booking over the phone and was not informed the deposit would be kept if I cancelled. When I challenged this the hotel kindly pointed out that the receipt states the deposit was non-returnable. Fat lot of good that is when the contract has been made and the deposit paid.

Room tip: Book a suite they are an acceptable standard.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank c2017416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear c2017416

Welcome to Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing Ruthin Castle to post your first review. It's unfortunate that you felt the need to cancel your future reservation. Similar to many other establishments, all booking deposits are non-refundable and non-transferable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews