We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Well Equipped Cottage In Good Location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Friars Cottage

Spacious comfortable lounge with gallery and vaulted ceiling.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious comfortable lounge with gallery and vaulted ceiling.
Another view of the lounge People are always surprised when they go through the little front door!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Spacious comfortable lounge with gallery and vaulted ceiling.
Another view of the lounge
People are always surprised when they go through the little front door!
Open view of Snowdonia from front garden.
Front of Friars with off road location- Friars is much bigger than it looks!
Floor Plan-all rooms on one floor
Spacious well equipped kitchen with vaulted ceiling and breafast bar
Dining area-seats 6 people
Terrace Room with king bed overlooking garden.
Garden room-recently refurbished double room with it's own bathroom and overlooking garden
Snowdonia View twin room-just refurbished, with open views of Snowdonia.
Shower room for the Garden Room
Shower Room with vaulted  ceiling , for Snowdonia View and Terrace rooms
Walled rear garden with ornamental grasses
Relax on the decking .  Maybe have a BBQ!
Local Cymran Beach with coastal path to Rhosneigr
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Valley, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
r0ni61
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Well Equipped Cottage In Good Location.”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Home from home. We travelled with friends found lovely walks, beautiful beach close by. Would recommend the hotel for food just few 100 yards away. We found Friars very warm especially with the open fire. Friars Cottage was very well equipped in every aspect, the welcome pack, especially the wine, was very much appreciated (Thank You Brian). We will most certainly be returning to Friars

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind feedback. I look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhayl3y
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a great stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would highly recommend this cottage. The beds are so comfortable, the living room has big cream leather furniture. The kitchen has everything you could ever need. 2 bathrooms both with shower. A lovely real fire. Brian the owner also left a lovely bottle of wine for us and a selection of soft drinks for our 2 young boys. I found the cottage clean and very comfortable. Easy to get to. Very close to the RAF Base. Would definately recommend The white Eagle bar/restaurant which is approx 2 miles from the cottage. Also The oyster catcher which is owned by the same people (white eagle). Highly recommend Friars cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and look forward to you coming back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troublesp...
warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, beautiful area, fab weather . . .”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have had a lovely few days in this well - equipped, cosy cottage. Brian made us feel very welcome. We are already thinking about our next visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Glad you enjoyed Friars and look forward to meeting and greeting you in 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A not to be missed experience”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was my first visit to both Friars Cottage and Anglesey but definitely won't be my last. The cottage was really easy to find with clear instructions sent by Brian re keys etc. On opening the front door it far exceeded my expectations. The cottage was beautifully clean and extremely well stocked with both equipment and food. The dining table was set and wine awaiting, which was a lovely gesture. Everything has been well thought through in the cottage and there wasn't anything during our stay that we couldn't find.
I will definitely be a regular visitor at Friars Cottage and highly recommend a visit to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Thank you for review, you are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaCaaaaak...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best value for money cottage anywhere”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, 2 sons (14 and 11) and myself were greeted my the owner, Brian, on our arrival. He gave us a tour of the cottage and its facilities, giving us the opportunity to ask any questions. We were given an amazing welcome pack with tea, fresh coffee, soft drinks (our choice), Irish barm brack, fresh bread and a all the items for a full cooked breakfast. We also had the use of all Brian's condiments. How could you ask for more.

We found all the beds very comfortable and having 32" TVs in each bedroom was a big bonus. The TV in the lounge had Sky Sports so we were able to watch our team get beat. The 2 showers were both fantastic and we even got a set of towels each and a towelling dressing gown (Wow!). The kitchen was well equipped, a decent cooker, toaster, kettle, washing machine, pull out ironing board and even a dish washer. The dining table was set for us (very professionally) and the 3 piece suite in the lounge was very comfortable (my wife kept falling asleep).

Outside there is a fantastic garden with a barbecue and seating area and an abundance of butterflies. The view from the front was fantastic too, especially when the fighter jets were coming in to land at RAF Valley.

Locally there is a fantastic beach about 15 minutes walk away and just over the other side of the bridge from Valley is the gorgeous Penrhos country park with free parking, cafe, burger van and ice cream van. There are lots of picnic benches and lovely walks through the woods and a well hidden but amazing sandy beach with crystal clear water. There never seems to be more than a half a dozen families there and the odd dog walker. Well worth a visit.

Brian really has made his cottage a true home from home for his visitors and you couldn't be made more welcome or more comfortable.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed Friars and the local area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing